服装

寻找下一位鞋类设计巨星

2018年鞋类设计PENSOLE大师班的现场内幕

上个月,由New Balance、Modo和联想一同启动了PENSOLE鞋类设计大师班课程。

二十四位崭露头角的鞋类设计师将通过为期三周,以鞋类重点实践、色彩和材料设计的全面课程,掌握更高层次的鞋类设计艺术。

此项目有着不小的风险,不过顶尖的学生被将被聘为New Balance设计部门的一年期带薪学徒。 New Balance设计高级总监Jared Goldman说到:“这对年轻设计师来说,也是个了解鞋类行业发展的好方法。

“我们New Balance始终在寻找下一位伟大的设计明星。Pensole计划,让我们能更好的去审视一组学生。”

最终的24名学生,来自于不同的学业背景,并且都是从全球各地富有志向的设计师中挑选出来的,其中 - 鞋类15人,颜色和材料设计(CMD)5人,以及5名3D设计师。

我们采访了参加课程计划的学生,并借此了解他们希望从中获得什么。

“当报名参加时,我希望能开始学习Modo - 而这正是课程能提供给我的。”课程参加者FlávioMarkiewicz对此说到。

“我之前对软件几乎一无所知。因此,这将是一个很好的入门课程,虽然有点鸭梨山大,但最终将会学到大量的知识。”

设计机构中的相遇

入门并掌握3D

参加课程的部分学生有3D设计背景,但大多数学生并不具备。这意味着大多数人必须快速掌握陌生的3D工作流程才能取得进展。

Flávio解释到:“因为所有的模型都是从虚拟的鞋子或从实际鞋子的3D扫描开始进行的,所以能在一定程度上减轻了压力。他们可以从预先配置好的基础模型开始,这样很直接。我觉得,如果需要在没有3D参考的情况下就从头开始制作鞋子,而且若只是依靠2D平面,那么将会很难得到看起来真实的比例。”

得益于Modo广泛的文件格式支持,设计人员有机会导入、修复、合并来自不同CAD、3D应用程序的数据。之后再运用Modo的建模和雕刻工具,将其设计为自己的作品。设计人员可以通过快速迭代,去探索不同的创意途径,不断提升最终设计的潜力。 更多细节稍后讲述。 

Modo 笔记本
计算机前的设计师

探索想法

从设计过程开始就探索不同的想法,也是鞋类设计中的关键之一。鞋类设计师首先需要能够准确地与团队成员沟通和分享创意,才能最终实现创造性的视觉主张。

对Flávio来说,这个旅程阶段是最令人愉快的:“我最喜欢的课程部分是:在鞋类设计师尚未确定最终设计前,尝试各种早期设计概念。”他说。

“我们有机会去更自由地探索软件,并试用工具和建模流程。与此同时,依然能利用参考和目标对象。”

“另外,我觉得Modo在设计过程中真是个非常强大的构思工具,能很好的向团队成员展示我们对概念的看法,并让他们在更早阶段就认识到设计的优缺点。

作为课程导师,Ellery Connell解释说,学习一套能快速传达自己想法的工具,将进一步促进他们在未来的职业生涯中成为更出色的产品设计师:“往设计师的工具箱中添加3D可视化,将使设计师们能够更好地完善和传达自己的愿景。相信随着3D设计添加到工作流程中的好处日益显现,这很快就会成为众多行业的标准了。”

“我们非常类似于90年代刚采用数字设计时的阶段,技术过渡缓慢,且在一段时间内都不会完成。但等5到10年后,这将会成为必备品了。就如同Adobe 的2D技能,如今已成为了曾经被传统、模拟设计主宰的领域中的必需品一样。

为3D未来做好准备

正如我们之前所写的,Ellery谈到了3D工具正在逐渐被广泛采用。Ellery说:“我认为到2020年,所有的大型设计公司都会设立专门的3D团队或采取将3D深入整合的设计流程。”

“我相信我们正处于软硬件融合的开端,硬件足够强大,而软件也足够成熟。现在的3D,已经像20年前的数字化2D一样能轻松使用了。”

“随着AR和VR开始脱颖而出,移动计算力的也加速成熟。对内容的需求只会增加而不会减少。由此,设计师和公司更需要为此做好准备,否则很快就会落后了。”

Jared指出,New Balance是具有前瞻思维的公司之一:“我们将3D设计视为设计师进入鞋业的必备技能。[Modo]如Photoshop、Illustrator一样,是每名设计师都需要掌握的工具。”

“在我们的大师班中加入Modo课程,也是一个很好的补充。我们试图重现鞋类设计师、色彩和材料设计师以及3D艺术家一同组成真实生产团队的合作方式。”

“Modo和产品可视化的能力,让我们能在产品创建过程的更早阶段展现出设计。这样的可视化展现,能让整个团队从一开始就在设计方向上保持高度一致。因此,这对所有设计人员来说,都是必备的工具了。”

学习正确的工具

对于New Balance等潜在雇主来说,他们显然是希望投资给掌握了3D技术的人才。因此,选择学习哪些工具,就成为了新生设计师一个非常重要的决定。Flávio说道:“在与Pensole和New Balance的老师交谈时(以及在课程的后半段时间里,与Ellery、Will Vaughan的对话中),我注意到了Modo的潜力,以及它在多个领域和行业中的传播速度。”

“特别是在谈到鞋业时,Modo已经被公认为是最强大的工具和资源之一了。”

“所以我觉得掌握Modo,将在通过面试流程获得行业内职位等方面,具有显著的竞争优势。此外,还将会带来专业性的全面提升。”

Close

Close

Apparel

The search for the next footwear design superstar

The lowdown on the PENSOLE Master Class in Footwear Design 2018

Last month saw the launch of the PENSOLE Master Class in Footwear Design, sponsored by New Balance, Modo and Lenovo.

Twenty four budding footwear designers embarked on a hands-on, three-week, intensive footwear, color and materials design immersion program, introducing them to the art of footwear design.

There was much at stake, with the top students set to be considered for a one-year paid apprenticeship in design with New Balance. "It’s a great way for young designers to learn about a career in the footwear industry" says Jared Goldman, Senior Director of Design at New Balance.

"At New Balance, we’re always looking for that next great design star and the Pensole program gives us a glimpse into a great group of students."

Coming from a range of backgrounds, the final 24  students were chosen from a pool of aspiring designers from around the globe, across  three categories - 15 in footwear, five in color and material design (CMD), and five 3D designers.

We caught up with those involved about how the course went, and what they were hoping to get out of it.

"When I signed up, I hoped to kickstart my learning in Modo - and that was exactly what the course provided me" Flávio Markiewicz, course attendee, says.

"I knew almost nothing about the software, so it was a great introduction. It felt a bit overwhelming sometimes, but I got a great amount of knowledge as a final result."

Meeting in design agency

Getting to grips with 3D

A portion of the students on the course were from a 3D design background, but the majority were not. That meant most had to get  to grips with unfamiliar 3D workflows quickly in order to progress.

That pressure was lessened to some degree because they were able to start off with a pre-configured base model, as Flávio explains: "Since all of our models started from a virtual shoe, or from a 3D scan from an actual shoe, it was very straightforward. I feel that if we needed to start the shoe from scratch without having a 3D reference, but only 2D, it would be way harder to get proportions that would look real."

This was possible because Modo supports an extensive range of file formats: the designers had the opportunity to import, fix and combine data from different CAD and 3D applications.

Then, using the toolset’s modeling and sculpting tools, they were able to  make the design their own; iterating quickly to explore different creative avenues and refine their design to its ultimate potential. More on that next.  
 

Modo notebook
Designer at computer

Exploring ideas

Exploring different ideas at the beginning of the process is one of the most critical stages of footwear design. Footwear designers need to be able to accurately communicate and share their ideas with team members if they are to do their creative vision justice.

For Flávio, this stage of the journey was the most enjoyable: "My favorite part of the course was when we were able to experiment with the early design concepts from our footwear designer teammates, while they still hadn’t decided to continue with a final design" he says.

"We had the opportunity to explore the software more freely, and experiment with the tools and modeling processes, while still keeping some kind of reference and goal."

"Also, it felt like Modo was a very powerful ideation tool at that point of the design process, were we could show OUR view of the concept to our teammates, and make them realize pros and cons of their designs at a much earlier stage."

As the course tutor, Ellery Connell, explains, learning tools that enable them to communicate their ideas quickly will serve the class well in their future careers as product designers: “Adding 3D visualization to a designer’s toolkit gives them a much better way to refine and communicate their visions. Because of the benefits of adding 3D design to a workflow, it’s fast becoming a standard in many industries.”

"We’re very much at a point similar to the adoption of digital design in the 90s, where the transition is slow and will not be complete for some time, but in 5-10 years it will be a necessity - just as Adobe 2D skills became a necessity in fields that were once dominated by traditional, analog design skills."

Preparing for a 3D future

The sea change towards a widespread adoption of 3D tools that Ellery talks about is already well underway, as we’ve written about previously.  For designers, the repercussions of this are difficult to overstate: "I don’t think there will be any major company in a design field without either a dedicated 3D team or a fully integrated 3D component of designer pipelines by the mid 2020s", Ellery says.

"I believe we’re at the beginning of a convergence of hardware and software, where the hardware is powerful enough and the software is mature enough to make 3D as accessible now as digital 2D was 20 years ago."

“With AR and VR beginning to also come to the fore, and the power of mobile computing maturing at an accelerated rate, the need for content is only going to increase. Designers and companies need to prepare or they will be rapidly left behind.”

New Balance are one of the forward-thinking companies to have recognised this trend,  Jared points out: "We look at 3D design as a must-have for designers coming into the footwear industry.  [Modo] is another tool like Photoshop or Illustrator that every designer needs to know how to use."

"The added partnership of Modo to our master class was a great addition.  We’re trying to replicate how a real product team works between footwear designers, color and material designers, and now 3D artists."

"Modo and our ability to visualize product allows us to bring designs to reality much earlier in the product creation process.  This visualization allows us to get the entire team aligned on design direction from the start. It’s a must have tool for all designers."

Learning the right tools

With prospective employers like New Balance clearly looking to invest in talent with a mastery of 3D, choosing which tools to learn has become an all-important decision for budding designers: "While talking with people from Pensole and New Balance (and later during the course, with Ellery and Will Vaughan) I noticed the potential that Modo has, and how fast it is spreading through many fields and industries says" Flávio.

"Especially when talking about the footwear industry, Modo is already considered to be one of the most powerful tools and resources."

"So I feel that learning Modo will be one great competitive differential when going through interviews and selection processes to get a job in this industry, and primarily to keep improving myself as a professional overall."