设计

Modo让产品包装可视化更快速,也更实惠

图像由Tomasz Lechocinski提供

行业专家在此解释了Modo的虚拟工作室,如何击败了真实的工作室。

不久之前,对产品包装或广告概念进行可视化仍然是个昂贵的多步骤过程。通常还需要多方参与。首先需要将标签设计好,打印出来,粘贴到为其创建的物理模型上,之后由摄影师进行拍摄,发给修图师进行校正和修饰。如果在此之后,设计又进行了更改。那就意味着得不惜耗费时间和金钱,重新开始整个过程了。

但由于Modo®3D渲染强大功能的引入,这些步骤就并非必须了。业内熟练的专家们,正运用Modo来帮助客户快速查看到他们的产品包装或广告活动中的外观效果。借助Modo,设计师能更轻松地创建出令人信服的模型。而且无论是调整标签或对象设计、进行扩充以适应产品的增加、重新设计,或在数月或数年后对设计或广告进行重新审视,都能对整个过程中的变更做出快速反应。

正如领域内的顶尖专业人士所描述的那样,Modo让他们实现了在渲染包装或广告项目的同时,进行全面控制。最终更快速的为客户提供出可以轻松定制的结果。由此一来,每个人都从中受益了。

Modo是我工作项目的最好的软件:可以创建出高质量的产品和包装图像。

Gene Dupont

借助Modo实现又快又好

Gene Dupont 已经在计算机图形行业工作超过二十年了,在过去的14年中,他专门为包装设计公司创建3D渲染。自从2007年,他就开始使用了Modo,一直不曾改变。“从那时起,我几乎就只是专门用Modo来创建3D插图了”这位来自旧金山湾区的48岁设计师说到。 “虽然我也随时在了解其它3D软件的功能,但对我的工作:创建高品质产品包装图像而言,Modo始终是最好的软件。”

凭借着在印刷生产方面的背景,Dupont能毫不费力地处理由客户的设计师或生产艺术家提供给他的Adobe Illustrator文件。并且他也能轻松处理好各类准备工作,以便让文件运用到Modo之中。他所建立的工作流程 ,旨在减少创建最终图像所需的步骤数量,这非常有助于实现大部分流程的自动化。Dupont工作中的很多时间都是在Modo和Adobe Photoshop中不断细化出专业级的作品。

Dupont 曾与雀巢、普瑞纳(Purina)和蓝钻石种植者( Blue Diamond Growers )等知名客户合作开发过产品的包装渲染,如冰淇淋盒、风味奶瓶、坚果或宠物的食品罐等。那为什么一直依靠Modo来完成这些工作呢? “主要是速度,”他解释说。“几乎在任何情况下,Modo的速度都会更快,对于尚未印刷的未来包装设计领域而言优势更加明显。”

“在Modo中建立起一个完美设置的虚拟摄影工作室后,就可以使用相比传统方式而言的很少时间,来完成很多的更新和调整。”他补充道。“Modo中可以实现很多种(风格)的渲染,而且比传统的摄影还更加精确。此外,还可以建立起一条制作流水线,来创作出具有一致结果的多幅图像。例如,若客户想要更改图像中的标签,我也能很轻松的重复做出以前的图像效果,Modo允许我操纵透视图,压缩或扩展UV贴图和几何体,以获得艺术指导或客户想要的效果。”

借助Modo实现快速逼真的视觉设计和渲染

对Tomasz Lechociński来说,自2009年首次开始使用以来,Modo就为他的自由职业包装设计工作开辟了新途径。“Modo让我实现了很多以前传统2D程序无法做到的事情。”这位39岁的波兰艺术家说到,“它为我打开了一个全新的世界,得益于Modo出色而有用的界面,我的工作现在变得很有趣了。” Tomasz Lechociński 的工作是运用Modo来展现零售包装和营销类项目,例如产品展台、货架上的跳跳卡和广告条等,一直以来,他与3M和雀巢等客户都有合作。

“创建产品3D模型的主要原因在于,首先可以随时从不同的摄像机角度渲染产品,而且还能应用不同的材质和图形设计。这给我带来了很大的自由度,因为我的创作不再被限定到由摄影师拍摄的一张照片之内了。” Tomasz Lechociński 说到,“很多时候,客户还想让已经上市很长时间(例如一年或两年)的产品有个新的外观。那我即使是过了一年以后,依然还可以回到场景里,从现有文件中创建出新渲染,以满足客户的修改需求了。”

Lechociński说,Modo使用起来非常舒适,他经常会跳过草图步骤,直接在3D空间中开始工作。而出色的建模工具和UV映射功能,让Modo在他的工作中变得越来越重要了。“Modo在创建包装方面,另一个最重要的部分是渲染预览窗口的强大功能”他指出。“能够实时反馈出材质或其中图案的变化真的非常棒。有了这项功能,在进行最终渲染设置之前,都不必做很多测试渲染了。因为在建模时,您就能看到模型的变化了。”

除了渲染预览之外,Lechociński还表示,Modo的绑定工具同样非常重要。绑定工具帮助他轻松实现了客户对可转换包装的需求。“我一般使用融形贴图来存储物体的不同状态。我还发现原来可以使用骨架工具和关节来驱动盒子的弯曲部分控制,由此创作折叠盒的最佳效果。Lechociński解释说。

Modo有着令人难以置信的快速渲染器,在预览渲染器中也同样具有如此强大的优势。

Tomasz Lechociński

拥有Modo,销售再无难事

尽管用途各不相同,但包装设计师所使用的流程与出于广告目的而创建3D渲染的流程之间依然存在着很多共同点。与包装渲染一样,利用Modo,在活动过去数月或数年后,重新打开特定场景的能力已经彻底改变了此前的过程。 “只要打开文件,就立即回到原来的现场,就像你从未离开一样。”来自伦敦精品印刷媒体公司Act Two-Um的26岁CGI艺术家和润色师Benjamin Parry这样评论到。

(Modo)在广告行业内的另一个优势在于能够为尚未最终确定和制造出的产品设计提前进行广告。与其像之前那样费时费力的制作出模型再进行拍摄,像Parry这样的艺术家早已能够在最终发布计划推出的同时,与客户一起设计广告活动了。“这可以确保在产品生产完成和广告活动发布之间消耗尽可能少的时间,”。

Act Two-Um与沃达丰、宝洁、DirecTV和雷诺在内的多家重要客户都合作过,其作品特色是细节精致的3D渲染。这其中有重新创建的国家橄榄球联盟的当红明星以及奢华跑车周围一系列精心构建的虚拟镜像等等。虽然Parry经常被委派了担任多面手的工作,但他表示他几乎都是在Modo内完成了所有工作,并且通常都是进行超高分辨率的渲染。

“我们必须让工作流程非常聪明,这样才能在高分辨率下实现高质量的图像,同时还得最大限度地缩短渲染时间,”他说,我注意到Modo创作出色作品的速度都非常快。“Modo在预览渲染器中同样拥有渲染器的快速和强大功能优势。当我们开发着色器和材质时,能获得近乎即时的反馈。加上Modo所附带的大量预设和我们自己创建的预设,在很短的时间内就可以完成着色过程,并看到第一稿渲染了。”

Tomasz Lechociński 使用Modo进行包装设计

和上面的行业同事一样,来自瑞典最大机构之一:Valentin&Byhr的艺术总监Peter Eriksson也对Modo社区深表赞赏,并认为这也是在运用软件时,附带的出色的资产之一。通常您都不需要提问,就能在官方论坛上找到所需的答案了。而对于Modo本身,他高度赞扬预览渲染器是个非常有用的工具,表示“若是没有HDR Light Studio插件,那就不开展工作了”。

在谈到Modo在广告行业中进行产品建模的优势时,Eriksson 说到:“这是3D所具有的速度和灵活性。” “尤其是当我们处于设计阶段,为了查看是使用蓝色盖子或银色盖子,哪个更加合适而建立起一个虚拟工作室进行重复比对时,这相对于在实际工作室中反复设定灯光(并拍摄)将会快速很多了。要是您还无法随时进行灯光和空间设定,那就更需要Modo了。”。而对于那些想要能直接触摸实体的客户们,Valentin&Byhr 还可以利用数字模型,通过3D打印,打印出一个实际物体。

毫无疑问,在包装设计和商业广告方面,3D具有令人难以置信的独特优势。此外,Modo还有助于消除常规摄影中存在的一些实际障碍,让设计人员提出具有创造性和视觉兴奋点的解决方案,最终创造出卓越且令人注目的作品。

“Modo非常快速、直观,而且十分有趣,”Eriksson 补充道。 “您想做或不做什么,完全无所限制,唯一的限制只是您的想象力而已。”

Peter Eriksson展示了如何使用Modo来迭代设计
Modo非常快速、直观,而且使用起来十分有趣。

Peter Eriksson

Home

Open

Close

Design

Modo makes product packaging visualization both faster and cheaper

Industry professionals explain how a Modo virtual studio beats the real thing.

Not that long ago, visualizing a product packaging or advertising concept was an expensive, multi-step process that often required multiple hands in the process. A label design would be printed out and affixed to a physical mock-up created for the occasion, which a photographer would then shoot and send out for color correction and retouching needs. And if the design changed thereafter, it meant starting the process all over again at the expense of both time and money. 

But that's not all necessary anymore thanks to the power of 3D rendering with Modo®, which skilled specialists are using to help clients quickly see how their product will look in packaging or in an advertising campaign. With Modo, designers can more easily create a convincing mock-up of an item and then react quickly to changes through the process—whether that means tweaking the label or object design, scaling it to accommodate complementary products, or revisiting a design or ad months or years down the line.

As top professionals in the fields describe, Modo allows them total control when it comes to rendering items for packaging renders or advertisements, and it provides their clients with faster and easily customizable results—so everybody benefits.

I keep up-to-date with what other 3D software is capable of, but Modo is the best software for what I do: creating high quality product and packaging images.

Gene Dupont

Better and faster with Modo 

Gene Dupont has been working in computer graphics for more than two decades, and for the last 14 years he's specialized in creating 3D renders for packaging design firms. He began using Modo in 2007 and hasn't looked back. "Since then, I’ve used Modo almost exclusively for creating 3D product illustrations," asserts the 48-year-old San Francisco Bay Area resident. "I keep up-to-date with what other 3D software is capable of, but Modo is the best software for what I do: creating high quality product and packaging images."

With a background in print production himself, Dupont has no trouble working with the Adobe Illustrator files usually provided to him by a designer or production artist from his client, and he's able to easily handle any prep work needed to make the file ready for use in Modo. His established workflow—which was concocted to focus on trimming down the number of steps needed to create a final image—helps automate much of the process, and he spends a lot of his time detailing out master files in both Modo and Adobe Photoshop for expert results.

Dupont has worked with notable clients like Nestlé, Purina, and Blue Diamond Growers to develop packaging renders of their products, such as boxes of ice cream treats, bottles of flavored milk, and cans of nuts or pet food. Why rely on Modo for such work? "Mainly speed," he explains. "In almost every instance, Modo will be faster. Particularly for prospective package designs that haven’t been printed yet."

"Having a virtual photo studio in Modo that is always set up perfectly allows me to make updates and tweaks in a fraction of the time it would take traditionally," he adds. "Modo allows for most of these types of renderings to be created faster and with more precision than traditional photography. It also allows for a production pipeline for creating a multitude of images with consistent results. If a client wants a label on an image altered, I can easily duplicate the previous image exactly. For illustrations, Modo allows me to manipulate perspective and squeeze or expand UV maps and geometry to get exactly what an art director or client wants." 

Fast realistic visual design and rendering with Modo

For Tomasz Lechociński, Modo has opened up new avenues for freelance packaging design work since he first started using it in 2009. "Modo let me do things that previously were not possible with traditional 2D programs," says the 39-year-old Polish artist. "It opened up a whole new world to me, and thanks to Modo's great and useful interface, my work became fun." He uses Modo to visualize retail packaging and marketing items, including product stands, wobblers, and shelf stoppers, and has worked with such clients as 3M and Nestlé.

"The main reason to create 3D models of products is that I can render a product from different camera angles at any time and have different materials and graphic designs applied. This gives me a lot of freedom because I'm not tied to one photo taken by a photographer," says Lechociński. "There are many times that a client wants to refresh the look of product that is on the market for a long time, like one or two years… I can get back to a certain scene at any time, even after a year, and I'm able to create a new render from an existing file to satisfy client amendments." 

Lechociński says that using Modo is so comfortable that he often skips drawing and simply starts working in 3D space, and that its modeling tools and UV mapping abilities make the software essential in his line of work. "The most important part of Modo in creating packaging is the power of the render preview window," he notes. "Immediate live changes that reflect material or artwork changes are just great. I don't have to make many test renders before the final tweaking of render settings. I can see what is going on with my model while modelling it." 

Beyond the render preview, he says that Modo's rigging tools are likewise crucial to help him nail the look his clients demand for convertible packaging. "I use morph maps to store different states of the object. I find that the best results in folding boxes can be achieved by using Skeleton Tool and using joints to drive the bending of parts of the boxes. This way, one can have a great deal of control over the final look of meshes," Lechociński explains.

We have to be smart with our workflow to enable high quality images at huge resolution while minimizing render times. Modo has an incredibly fast renderer and the advantage of that power in the preview renderer also.

Tomasz Lechociński

No hard sell with Modo

While the uses vary, there's a lot of commonality between the processes employed by packaging designers and those that create 3D renders for advertising purposes. As with packaging renders, the ability to revisit a particular scene months or years after the fact in Modo has revolutionized the process. "Just by opening the file, you are instantly back on set as if you never left," says Benjamin Parry, a 26-year-old CGI generalist and retoucher for London-based boutique print media firm, Act Two-Um.

Another advantage more specific to the advertising world is the ability to design ads for a product that hasn't yet been finalized and manufactured. Rather than concoct a mock-up and go through the costly and laborious process of photographing it, artists like Parry can work alongside the client to design the ad campaign as release plans are hashed out. "This ensures as little time [as possible] between finished production of the product and the release of the advertising campaign," he notes. 

Act Two-Um has worked with a wide array of major clients, including Vodafone, P&G, DirecTV, and Renault, and its work frequently features immensely detailed 3D renders—whether it's recreating popular National Football League stars or constructing an elaborate series of virtual mirrors around a glossy sports car. Parry is often tasked with a wide array of work as a generalist, but says he does nearly all of his work within Modo, often utilizing very high-resolution renders.

"We have to be smart with our workflow to enable high quality images at huge resolution while minimizing render times," he says, noting the great speed with which Modo allows him to generate stellar work. "Modo has an incredibly fast renderer and the advantage of that power in the preview renderer also. When we are developing our shaders and materials, we can get near-instant feedback. This, combined with the vast presets that are shipped with Modo and the ones we create in-house ourselves, means that you can go through the shading process to first-look renders in a very short time."

Tomasz Lechociński using Modo for package design

Like his industry colleagues above, Peter Eriksson—art director at Valentin&Byhr, one of Sweden's largest agencies—raves about the Modo community as one of the less obvious assets of using the software, as it's often possible to find the answer you're looking for on the official forum without even needing to ask. As for Modo itself, he likewise praises the preview renderer as a useful tool, and claims he "can't work without" the HDR Light Studio plug-in.

"It's the speed and flexibility to have it in 3D," says Eriksson of the benefits of modeling a product in Modo for advertising work. "Especially when we are in the design phase and want to see how it looks with a blue cap, or a cap in silver for example. And when you have built your '3D studio,' it's so quick to reuse it compared to doing a traditional light set up in a real studio—if you can't afford to have the lights and space available all the time, that is." And for those clients who do want the physical touch, Valentin&Byhr can 3D-print an object based on a model. 

No doubt, there are incredible practical advantages to rendering a product in 3D for both packaging design and commercial advertising purposes. However, Modo also helps remove some of the real-world barriers present in standard photography and allows designers to come up with creative and visually exciting solutions to deliver excellent, eye-catching work.

"It's fast and intuitive, and really fun to work with," adds Eriksson about Modo. "There are no limitations to what you can or can't do. It's just your imagination."

Peter Eriksson showing how to use Modo to iterate design
It's fast and intuitive, and really fun to work with. There are no limitations to what you can or can't do. It's just your imagination.

Peter Eriksson

Contact Us