电影与电视

在云端九:转换视觉特效的后期制作,一次一个工作室

云技术如何让小型后期公司真正参与竞争?

电影行业的后期制作可能是一项昂贵的且不可预测的运作。就像没有两部电影完全一样,后期制作所需的资源量每次也都是不尽相同。

当前预置型基础设施的静态性,让我们在尚不明朗的时候,就需要做出前瞻性的重要决策。而依据一贯以来“宁多勿少”的常识方法,工作室首先会估算需要多少计算力才能执行好每个项目。例如管理数据存储、购买必要的渲染工具到投资服务器的存储建筑等等,之后公司很快就会发现大量账单接踵而来。然而事后来看,这些工作本来是可以更具成本效益的。

潜在的开销浪费完全存在,并且还表现为一定的业务惯性。然而这样一来,我们实际上是在给创造力加了一个上限。因此,对于这样的高科技产业,后期制作流程的管理迫切需要升级。

转向云端

单部电影或商业广告所需的VFX数据量可能会非常巨大(因此,我们在这里讨论的是1 PB),那么为什么后期制作公司要受限于有限容量的束缚?云技术正在打开一扇大门。想象一下,只需打开一个零配置的Web浏览器,即可无限制地访问创意工具、渲染程序,另外还有动态的基础架构和无限的存储空间……。现在是时候跟随其它行业的领先者,将后期制作流程转移到云端了。

这方面的潜在好处是巨大的,这将使人们能够以革命性的,充满活力的新方式工作。这一点正是我们目前所没有注意到的。

用于VFX后期制作的电脑银行

完整的操作灵活性

云计算可以提供一个能从世界各地随时访问的弹出式工作室:如果您没有在星期五完成作品,那么您也不必在周末前往工作室,您可以在自己的卧室进行渲染。如果你在加勒比度假期间,作品要调整,你也可以躺在海滩上,手握着朗姆酒轻松搞定。

如果你经常发现自己以这种方式工作,那您甚至可能想要考虑出来单干了。当然,只有云使,才能实现这个诱人的可能。

动态扩展的能力

在云端工作将改变人们访问和使用后期制作资源的方式。基础设施和VFX工具在虽然在使用需求方面将会有高峰和低谷,但即使处于暂停状态,它们的使用成本也保持不变。

特别是对于小型公司来说,使用云服务将消除许多棘手的问题,例如为了完成项目,选择通购买来提升制作能力。然而购买来的使用周期通常比您所需要的时间更长。项目数量会有减少,但传统的制作能力 :授权及硬件,则不会改变。

如同其它工具一样,随着云技术的运用, 计算力和存储能力的商品化及其折旧等因素将成为外包的部分,由此(解放了您),而成为了别人关注的方面了

这种透明度使公司能够积极灵活地向上或向下扩展,以适应当时的业务需求。

女孩坐带着笔记本坐在湖边

成为一个合作型的全球实体

借助所有人都可以使用的按需服务,云技术不仅让所有人都能访问专业级VFX应用程序,同时也为新兴人才提供了与全球后期制作公司相互竞争的强大工具。

在更加人性化的层面上(尽管对业务有相同的影响),云技术使得处于不同地理位置的人才能积极合作。而且,可以在云端同时处理多个后期制作流程,连接世界各地的创意,并使其能够以更协调,更全面的方式进行工作。

一旦批量转向云计算,这对VFX行业的影响将不容置疑。随着创造性的无限解放,人们将能够更加专注于艺术表达,而不是努力成为管理数据中心的专家。当然,现在仍然存在着减慢我们发展的障碍。为此,态度的改变迫在眉睫了。

在第二部分中,我们将来讨论云技术的悖论: 虽然迁移到云端对工作室而言非常有利,但要让工作室自己创建DIY云制作管道,那就不符合他们的兴趣了。

Home

Open
Close

Film and TV

On cloud nine: transforming VFX post-production, one studio at a time

How the cloud will enable smaller post-houses to truly compete

Post-production in the film industry can be an expensive, unpredictable operation. Just as no two films are exactly the same, the amount of resource required for post is different every time.

The static nature of current on-prem infrastructure has us making critical commitments upfront based on murky insights. Taking the ‘better to have too much than not enough’ common sense approach, studios are effectively guessing how much compute will be needed to execute each project. From managing data storage and buying the necessary rendering tools, to investing in physical space for servers; companies can find themselves lumbered with a heavy bill for a job that, in hindsight, could have been more cost-effective.

The potential for wasted overhead is all too feasible and it has manifested in a certain business inertia - we are literally placing a cap on creativity. For such a hi-tech industry, our management of the post-production process is in dire need of an upgrade.

Get your head in the clouds

The amount of data required to add VFX to a single movie or commercial can be enormous (we’re talking one petabyte here), so why should post houses be bound by the shackles of finite capacity? Cloud technology is opening doors. Imagine having unlimited, worldwide access to creative tools, rendering applications, dynamic infrastructure and infinite storage, simply by opening up a web-browser with zero configuration. It’s time to follow the lead of other industries and move the post-production pipeline to the cloud.

The potential benefits are vast. It will enable people to work in a revolutionary and dynamic new way – one that we’re not currently attuned to.

Computer bank for VFX post-production

Complete operational flexibility

The cloud can essentially offer a pop-up studio, accessible anytime, anyplace across the world: If you don’t finalise your work on a Friday, you won’t have to travel into the studio over the weekend – you can render from your own bedroom. Should there be pressing changes to be made while you are on holiday in the Caribbean, you could make them lying on a beach, rum in hand.

If you often find yourself over worked in this way, you might even want to consider quitting and starting up on your own. The cloud makes this tantalisingly possible.

The power to scale dynamically

Working in the cloud will change the way people approach and use post-production resources. Infrastructure and VFX tools go through peaks and troughs in terms of usage demand, but the cost of having them, even when dormant, remains constant.

For smaller companies in particular, using a cloud service will eradicate a host of tricky problems, such as having to commit to purchasing capacity to complete a project for a timespan that’s longer than you need it. Projects ebb and flow, but traditional capacity - licenses, hardware - do not.

With the cloud - just like other utilities - compute and storage are commoditised and depreciation is therefore outsourced - it (liberatingly) becomes someone else’s problem.

This transparency enables companies to scale aggressively and flexibly, both upwards or downwards, to suit the business needs at the time.

Girl sitting on lake with laptio

Becoming a collaborative, global entity

As an on-demand service that is available to all, the cloud is democratising access to professional grade VFX applications, giving emerging talent the tools to compete with global post houses.

On a more human level (though with equal implications for the business), cloud providers empower people to work actively with others who aren’t geographically co-located. Multiple post-production processes can be tackled simultaneously in the cloud, connecting creatives across the world and enabling them to work in a more collaborative, holistic way.

Once transitioning to the cloud is adopted wholesale, the progressive impact this will have on the VFX industry will be incontrovertible. With creativity boundless, people will be able to focus on artistic expression rather than becoming experts in managing data centres. However, there are barriers slowing us down and a shift in attitude is required.

In part two, we look at the cloud paradox - that while moving to the cloud will be highly beneficial for studios, it's not in their interest to create a DIY cloud pipeline themselves.

Contact Us