Modo为《无主之地2》中的景观带来了坚韧不拔的生命力

© Gearbox

来一起探寻Gearbox software 如何运用Modo 为特许授权的后末日主题射击游戏大作打造逼真环境。

风格酷炫的角色、有趣的故事、以及完善的游戏机制全都非常重要,不过就算是最具创新性的视频游戏,若游戏中没有一个令人赞叹的世界可以探索,也会导致玩家的摇摆。在Gearbox Software,环境艺术家Raul Aparicio就专门负责让这一切看上去非常犀利。这位狂热的Modo®用户发现,Modo 这个3D建模和动画应用程序非常适合制作大型的第一人称射击游戏《无主之地2》中的环境资产。

14年前,随着Valve Software的《半条命》系列中多个扩展版的发布,这家游戏界最热门的新公司就获得特许,并开始运作了。这家由行业中五员老将组成,总部位于德克萨斯州的Gearbox Software已经创作出了《托尼霍克专业滑板 3》(Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3)、《战火兄弟连》(Brothers in Arms)、《欢乐桑巴》(Samba de Amigo)等众多令人瞩目的游戏作品。当然,《无主之地》系列一直是该团队迄今为止最受欢迎的产品之一。

在加入Gearbox的两年之前,Aparicio在id Software 中参与了《狂怒》和《毁灭公爵 4》制作。除了在这些大项目中会运用Modo之外,他也会在家中利用业余时间创作艺术项目。现在他加入了《无主之地 2》的工作,并利用后续的可下载扩展,让团队在设计流程中也广泛使用了Modo。

《无主之地2》的实际游戏画面

“《无主之地》设定了非常强大的世界观,您几乎可以做任何事……只要它符合风格就可以了。”Aparicio说到。要为游戏的末日后的卡通风格宇宙创作杀手级资产实际上比看起来要更加困难。所有的纹理都需要手绘,并且有很多关于如何放在一起的规则,他补充到。从零开始构建漫反射贴图是他在设计游戏时最喜欢的部分。“这种风格,只要设定正确,看起来就会非常棒了,”他说,“这一切就是关于漫反射的老派风格!”

Modo 创作了中世纪

若是没有那么多超酷的碎片、破旧的建筑以及曾经正常运作的社会遗留下的各种残垣断壁,一起组成了的满目疮痍景观,那《无主之地2》怪诞和谋杀的世界可就是完全不同的地方了。 Aparicio专门使用Modo完成了整个环境中的模块化硬表面资产、地形块和纹理。此外,偶尔也用Modo制作了更大的独特地形,以充实地图中的游戏空间和背景元素。ughout the environments. It was also occasionally used to create larger pieces of unique terrain to flesh out gameplay spaces and background elements in maps. 

进行视频游戏的工作通常需要花费大量时间去调整UV。这可是一个单调乏味的过程,但是Aparicio非常赞赏Modo。他表示说Modo让工作变得轻而易举了。“Modo能根据您的需求进行定制,这一点更让它如虎添翼。”他补充道。 “而学习到的简单技术知识,例如制作宏命令等,也将会让您受益匪浅。Modo的烘焙工具也非常方便,在一个程序中,就可以快速烘焙出全部的纹理贴图了。

Modo能根据您的需求自定义,这一点更让它如虎添翼,而学习到的简单技术知识,例如制作宏命令等,也将会让您受益匪浅。

最近开始提供下载的《Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon》扩展包正是一个很好的例子,展现了Modo功能如何被派上了用场。在这个以中世纪幻想为主题的附加Mod中,玩家可以选择书呆子文化或角色扮演这两种游戏模式进行娱乐。Aparicio的任务是制作一套古代遗迹的置景素材。其中每个物体都需要两种独立的设计:一种看起来干净整洁,另一种则满是残缺和碎片。借助Modo的滑动UV以及UV编辑器,Aparicio很轻松的就完成了这些大量资产的处理。

“我还使用Modo创建了图案,以便在Photoshop内部组合纹理,”他说。“通过使用Modo的Recoil插件(目前已整合入Modo),我可以通过物理模拟完成碎片的初始摆放。等设置完成后,继续手动的调整一下碎片的摆放即可。而且还可以将它们烘焙为法线贴图,然后在Photoshop中进一步再加工了。”

紧张周期内带来了大力帮助

对《Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon》这样的顶级扩展模块而言,三个月的时间并不多。但这却是团队面临的工作。考虑到需要完成大量的工作,时间限制便成为了一个巨大的挑战,Aparicio说到。不过,这个障碍已经克服了。当然了,这得部分归功于Modo。

“Modo让我重新思考了制作东西的方式,”他说。“我花了几天的时间,创建了一套全新的按键和工具预设,用于处理优化,完成UV和纹理烘焙。”

了解《无主之地2》幕后软件的工作

项目的最后阶段,在创建完了全部“有趣的东西”之后,他花了大量时间来优化众多的资产。并通过创建宏,自动执行了大量的日常流程工作,让导入虚幻引擎中的对象、旋转,并更改名字等工作有了更快的速度。他甚至还建立了一个用于分配碰撞名称和制作碰撞外壳的快速脚本。

他说:“我坚信每个软件包都有它的优势。”创建宏、重拓扑以及UV方面的能力,正是(Modo的)最大的优点之一。

Modo、Mari与次世代

随着游戏行业进入了一个全新的游戏主机周期,人们的目光也转向了次世代的游戏体验,空气中充满了激动人心的情绪。尽管很多将要到来的内容尚不明朗,但Gearbox已经尝试运用新创意和未来计划不断提升了。“我们始终在努力超越自我,” Aparicio说到,“是的,我们还有一些非常可爱的项目,我们的粉丝应该多多留意了。”

他补充说,团队正在将Modo融入这些秘密项目的设计流程中。设计师以后在制作游戏空间时,将会拥有更多的自由。而且Gearbox也开始引入了Mari®。目前,该工作室的一些角色艺术家已经在使用Mari®了。

“我喜欢Foundry正在构建的软件库,”Aparicio说道,也很乐于将道具交给Modo和Mari一同完成。 “[Modo和Mari]既强大又易于使用,让[您]能够真正像艺术家一样工作,而不是做个按钮操作员。”

Home

Open
Close

Gaming

Modo brings the landscapes of Borderlands 2 to gritty life

© Gearbox

Learn how Gearbox Software wields Modo to craft environments for its blockbuster post-apocalyptic shooter games franchise.

Cool-looking characters, interesting stories, and clever game mechanics are all very important, but even the most innovative video games tend to falter without a stunning world to explore. At Gearbox Software, environment artist Raul Aparicio is one of the people responsible for making sure everything looks sharp. This avid Modo® user found the 3D modeling and animation application a perfect fit for crafting environmental assets for blockbuster first-person shooter hit Borderlands 2.

The studio behind one of the gaming world's hottest newer franchises got its start 14 years ago with the launch of several expansions for Valve Software's Half-Life. Formed by a quintet of veterans from across the game industry, Texas-based Gearbox Software has grown through its work on notable projects like Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3, Brothers in Arms, Samba de Amigo, and many other games. The Borderlands series, however, remains one of the team's most popular offerings to date.

Prior to joining Gearbox two years ago, Aparicio worked at id Software on well-known games like RAGE and DOOM 4. In addition to using Modo on those major projects, he also uses it at home to create art projects in his spare time. His work on Borderlands 2 and its follow-up downloadable expansions made extensive use of Modo in the team's design pipeline.

Borderlands 2 realistic game play

"Borderlands is set in a very robust universe where you could make just about anything...as long as it fits the style," says Aparicio, who notes it's actually harder to make killer-looking assets for the game's cartoonish post-apocalyptic universe than it might seem. All of the textures are hand-painted, and there are lots of rules for how things have to be put together, he adds. Building the diffuse textures from scratch is his favorite part of designing for the game. "The style, if pulled off right, looks really awesome," he says. "So its all about the diffuse. Old-school!"

Modo gets medieval 

Without lots of cool debris, dilapidated architecture, and other remnants of a once normally-functioning society to round out the pockmarked landscape, Borderlands 2's decimated world of mutants and murder might be a completely different place altogether. Aparicio specifically used Modo for creating modular hard surface assets, terrain pieces, and textures throughout the environments. It was also occasionally used to create larger pieces of unique terrain to flesh out gameplay spaces and background elements in maps. 

Working on video games often requires that you spend a lot of time tweaking UVs. It can be a tedious process, but Aparicio appreciates that Modo makes it a breeze to handle. "The fact that its able to be customized to fit your needs makes it even better," he adds. "Learning simple technical things, such as making macros, will take you a long way. Modo's baking tools were also pretty handy, as they allowed me to quickly bake my texture maps all in one program." 

The fact that its able to be customized to fit your needs makes it even better... Learning simple technical things, such as making macros, will take you a long way.

A recent downloadable expansion dubbed Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep offers a great example of how this came in handy. For this medieval fantasy-themed add-on that playfully pokes fun at nerd culture and role-playing games, Aparicio was tasked with creating a set of ancient ruins set pieces. Each of the objects required two separate designs: one that looked clean and intact and another that sported damage and broken pieces. Using Modo's slip UVs the UV editor made it easy to handle a large volume of these assets. 

"I also used Modo for creating patterns for assembling textures inside Photoshop," he says. "Through the use of Modo's recoil I was able to run simulations to set up an initial arrangement of debris pieces. Once that was set, I continued arranging the pieces by hand so that later on I could bake that into a normal map and continue the work in Photoshop."

Help in a time crunch

Three months is not a lot of time to bash out a top-notch expansion like Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep, but that's what the team was working with. Time constraints were a huge challenge given the overwhelming amount of work that needed to be done, says Aparicio, but the hurdle was overcome thanks in-part to Modo.

"Modo allowed me to rethink the way I make things," he says. "I took a few days to create an entire new set of keys and tool presets for handling optimizations, UVs, and baking of textures." 

Finding out how the software behind Borderlands 2 works

Towards the tail end of the project, after all of the "fun stuff" was created, he spent a lot of time optimizing a ton of assets and creating macros to automate a lot of his commonly used routines to make things like importing objects from UNREAL, rotating them, and changing their names a much faster process. He even built a quick script for assigning collision names and making collision hulls. 

"I’m a big believer that every package has its strengths," he says. 

Aparicio adds that the ability to create macros, use retopology, and UVing are the among biggest perks of the package for him personally.

Modo, Mari, and the next generation

With the game industry now entering a whole new console cycle, there's a lot of excitement in the air as eyes are turning towards the next-generation of gaming experiences. Gearbox is already tinkering with fresh ideas and plans for the future, though much of what's to come is still under wraps. "We are always trying to outdo ourselves," notes Aparicio, "so yes, we've got some really sweet projects lined-up that our fans should keep an eye out for."

The team is incorporating Modo into the design pipeline for these secret projects, he adds, so the designers can have more freedom when crafting gameplay space. Gearbox has also started playing around with Mari®, which is currently being used by some of the character artists at the studio. 

"I love the library of software that Foundry is building," says Aparicio, giving props to Modo and Mari. "[They're] both very powerful and easy to use packages that allow [you to] work as an artist rather than a button pusher."

Contact Us