游戏

从艺术家到引擎:彻底颠覆游戏艺术的制作流程

游戏如何提供日益创新的体验

作为一个由创新技术驱动的不断发展的行业,游戏始终致力于向未来提供更加具有创意和视觉冲击力的体验。 而今天的3D游戏艺术家不仅得将多边形推向极致,超越前代的界限, 还需要帮助营造横跨AAA级游戏和独立游戏制作中的沉浸式全新世界。

近年来市场内的游戏数量和种类多到令人咋舌,这主要得益于Unity和Unreal Engine等易于访问的工具降低了入门门槛,并且让更多的开发人员在很短的时间内,就创建出了令人印象深刻的项目。随着各种规模的工作室拥有了更多精简和缩短开发流程的方法,游戏艺术家将新技术和新技法中受益,从而在不牺牲工作质量的情况下,保持效率。

迎接现代游戏制作的挑战

每一代新游戏硬件都会为桌面带来了更多的处理能力,同时也提高了玩家对游戏世界和视觉效果的期望。对开发人员来说,这既创造了令人兴奋的世界,同时又面临了克服新技术障碍的挑战。

工作室不仅面临着在游戏资产和环境中加入更多层次、更加复杂细节的挑战,而且还需要在更紧密的时间表内处理完更多的高分辨率元素。这种对提升游戏视觉效果真实度的追求其实是一把双刃剑。随着游戏规模日益庞大,开发日趋复杂,将这些巨型项目从概念到推出的任务,也将会比以前更快速地消耗预算和资源。

游戏中中3d和数字化的崛起

在过去的十年中,数字发行的兴起对游戏的制作方式也产生了巨大的影响。如今游戏的发布并不再像以前那样是一条终点线,而更像是错误修复,补丁更新。而且DLC也将会在发布后数月甚至数年的时间内都影响着团队。 玩家有期望,团队也需要在游戏推出后的继续进行支持,为此,如果想要在市场中保持挺立潮头,那么工作室能否以更快速度迭代以及完成游戏内容的更新,也就变得至关重要了。

毫不奇怪的是时间压力和无处不在的预算紧缩威胁,在许多现代游戏开发周期中仍然是一个残酷的现实。 我们可以看到,在游戏开发商需求不断攀升的同时,大型项目推向市场的时间却正在缩短。这使艺术家和码农们有责任找到创造性的解决方案,才能跟上当今游戏流程不断变化的挑战了。

在独立和AAA中精巧地制作视觉体验

近年来,随着小型独立工作室开辟了更加广阔的世界,可以看到更加广泛的游戏类型以及新形式的游戏体验是如此的迷人。独立工作室正在以有趣的方式,来助推着创新。特别在涉及到以新颖的视觉方向和不寻常的游戏概念来跳出思想局限时,更加明显。成功的独立开发者和小团队在各种平台上得到了越来越多的高调关注,这也充分体现了与现状截然不同的方法,依然同样可行。

与此同时,超清晰的照片级真实和超大的游戏世界范围方面,AAA级公司依然会占据着至更高地位,因为只有大型部门才具有专注到游戏中的各个方面的强大实力。不过随着游戏艺术家和设计师将最新硬件的应用推向极致,我们将会看到更多由特许开发和更大工作室创作出的更宏大、更华丽也更史诗般的项目。

业界内,各种规模团队里的3D艺术家们,都面临着同行业中许多相同的挑战,虽然要实现的创意方法和实操经验可能会大不相同,但他们却也使用相同的工具来解决这些障碍。或许功能丰富的三维建模和动画工具能为AAA艺术部门的单个团队成员提供激光聚焦般的精准需求服务,但独立艺术家和独立小组中的艺术家通才们,则会倾向于将它们用于生产线的更多领域之中。在那些领域中,3D艺术和建模解决方案能否毫不费力地与Unity和Unreal Engine等流行引擎对接,对于加快生产速度也就变得至关重要了。


在AAA级配置中的个人团队成员与 “多种头衔”的独立艺术家相比,往往是由业界中不同领域里设定的创新性动态分离而造就的。不过在这两种情况下,当资产运行到了引擎中之后,艺术家们都总能从更大的灵活性和易用性中受益。这不仅只是为了方便,这更是有关于必要性。

当代游戏资产设计

从艺术家到引擎

在快节奏的生产环境中寻找更好的方法来弥合艺术家与游戏引擎之间的间隔是必须的。当您在紧张的时间表上努力争取达到下一个里程碑的过程中,每次点击鼠标都很重要。对游戏内的资产进行优化可能是极其繁琐的导出、检查、调整之后再导出过程。此迭代周期是一种仅能针对较少资源,而且极为耗时的过程。假若扩大此流程的规模,当有上千个资产需要这么处理时,那就算只是最现代的独立项目,也会成为艺术流程的的噩梦了。

为了克服这些挑战,3D艺术家们正在转向更强大,更灵活的工具,以提高创造力,以便能让他们快速工作,以尽可能快速和高效地将资产引入游戏引擎之中。

无缝输出到Unity、虚幻和其它自定义的引擎十分有助于加速任何艺术流程,但是要更进一步来确保素材在工作室想要取得成功的各大平台中都能保持创意统一,也就成了当今软件创新者的当务之急。

游戏艺术家也渴望能有解决方案让他们更好地适应不断发展的行业的需求。VR和新兴技术正在改变着我们如何创作游戏,以及如何享受游戏。不过我们距离,在艺术家用来制作令人惊叹的3D资产工具和将游戏带入现实的游戏引擎之间,构建起实时的链接已经并不遥远了。而那将进一步彻底改变团队的制作流程,并且重新塑造现代游戏体验。

在VR中设计探索更深层次的沉浸感,并搭建更强大的桥梁来帮助艺术家无缝地在游戏中工作,进一步提升游戏艺术家和开发人员所依靠的工具,这对于将游戏开发提升到更高水平至关重要。这将是一个大胆的全新世界,如今只是一个开始。

Home

Open

Close

Gaming

From artist to engine: revolutionizing the game art pipeline

How games are delivering increasingly innovative experiences

As an ever-evolving industry driven by creative technologies, games are always aiming to the future to deliver increasingly innovative and visually captivating experiences. Today's 3D game artists aren't just tasked with pushing polygons beyond the boundaries of previous generations; they're helping to shape a whole new world of immersion across the AAA and indie landscape.

The sheer volume and variety of games hitting the market in recent years is staggering, thanks in large part to accessible tools like Unity and Unreal Engine lowering the barrier to entry and allowing more developers to create impressive projects in a fraction of the time. With studios of all sizes now armed with even more ways to streamline and shorten the development process, game artists benefit from new technologies and techniques that help them keep pace without sacrificing the quality of their work.

Rising to the challenges of modern game production

Each generation of new game hardware brings more processing power to the table, all while raising players' expectations of scope and polish. For developers, this creates both a world of exciting possibilities and a gauntlet of fresh technical obstacles to overcome.

Not only are studios faced with the challenge of pouring deeper layers of intricate detail into their game assets and environments, they're also handling a much greater volume of these high-resolution elements on tighter schedules. This constant quest for heightened realism in game visuals is a double-edged sword—as games grow bigger and more complex to develop, that task of bringing these behemoth projects from concept to launch burns budget and resources faster than ever before.

The rise of digital and 3D in gaming

Over the last decade, the rise of digital distribution has also had a tremendous impact on the way games are made. Shipping a game isn't the finish line it used to be, now that unique considerations like bug fixes, patch updates and DLC affect teams months and even years beyond the launch. Players expect—and often demand—support for games post-launch, which makes it all-the-more critical for studios to be able to iterate and update their game content in a fast, seamless way if they want to stay afloat in the competitive marketplace.

It's no surprise that time pressures and the omnipresent threat of crunch remain a brutal reality across many modern game development cycles. We're seeing demands on game developers continue to rise, while the timeframe to turn big projects around to market is shrinking. This puts the onus on artists and coders to find creative solutions to keep up with the ever-evolving challenges of today's games pipelines.

Crafting visual experiences in indie and AAA

With smaller indie studios carving out a bigger piece of the landscape in recent years, it's been fascinating to watch a broadening spectrum of game releases and new types of experience unfold. Indie studios are helping to drive innovation in interesting ways, particularly when it comes to thinking outside-the-box with fresh visual direction and unusual game concepts. Successful solo devs and tiny teams are behind a growing number of high-profile hits across all platforms, proving that a very different approach from the status quo can be equally viable.

At the same time, ultra-crisp photorealism and massive scope still reign supreme in the AAA space, where large departments within a studio often have the luxury to focus exclusively on individual facets of gamecraft. We're seeing bigger, flashier and more epic projects coming from established franchises and larger studios, as game artists and designers push the latest hardware to its limits and beyond.

3D artists on teams of all size face many of the same challenges in the industry—and they often use the same tools to tackle those obstacles—yet their creative approaches and on-the-ground experiences can be vastly different. Where feature-rich 3D modeling and animation tools might serve a laser-focused need for each individual team members in a AAA art department, solo artists and generalists on a small indie team tend to put them to use throughout more areas of the production pipeline. This is where using 3D art and modeling solutions that pair effortlessly with popular engines like Unity and Unreal Engine can be vital for speeding up production.

The specialization of individual team members in a AAA setting vs. the "wearing multiple hats" approach of indie artists is often what sets the creative dynamic apart across different areas of the industry. In both cases, however, artists always benefit from greater flexibility and ease when it comes to getting their assets working in-engine. This isn't just about convenience; It's about necessity.

Modern game asset designing

From artist to engine

Finding better ways to bridge the gap from artist to engine is a must in a fast-paced production landscape. When you're on a tight schedule and pushing hard to hit your next milestone, every click of the mouse counts. Fine-tuning assets in-game can be a tedious process of exporting, checking them, making adjustments and re-exporting. This iterative cycle is time consuming with a small number of assets. Amplifying the process times the thousands of assets needed for even a modest indie project can be an art pipeline nightmare.

To overcome these challenges, 3D artists are turning to more powerful, flexible tools that heighten creativity while also letting them work rapidly to get assets into game engines as fast and efficiently as possible.

Seamless export to Unity, Unreal and custom engines helps speed up any art pipeline, but going the extra distance to ensure creatives are equipped with everything they need to succeed in game studios of all sizes is a high priority among today's software innovators.

Game artists also crave solutions that let them better adapt to the needs of an evolving industry, where VR and new emergent technologies are changing both how we work and how we play. We're not far off from a future where real-time live connectivity between the tools artists use to create stunning 3D assets and the game engines that bring them to life will further revolutionize the production process for the teams shaping the look of modern play experiences.

Between exploring the possibilities of deeper immersion through designing in VR and building a stronger bridge to help artists get their work in-game seamlessly, sharpening the tools artists and developers rely on is vital for taking game development to the next level. It's bold new world out there, and this is only the beginning.

Contact Us