实时制作摘要指南

当下有一门学科在众多行业中都激起了不同的反响,不但出台了严肃的白皮书,而且还成为了YouTube评论中的热门话题,这就是实时制作(real-time production)。

然而在所有的讨论 - 包括我们在Foundry 趋势的讨论里,或许都很难从“实时”中找出构成了生产制作的实质内容,以及目前能够实现的革命性技术。

涅槃式的重生

那么在开始严肃对待之前,首先让我们稍稍后退一步来看待。实时制作带来的所谓“必杀技”究竟像个什么样子?

超越以往的更出色预演,让导演能够在到达片场之前,就提前试拍核心序列。一种经济有效的方式,去完成创建和迭代,而无需再将工作室的预算浪费到多次重拍之中。

导演将因此在非常逼真的虚拟片场中拍摄演员阵容。演员们则是如同置身于实景之中一样进行表演。在拍摄中,导演可以不断的重新构图,来搜索完美的镜头画面。通过快速查看监视器,演员们很快就能看到自己在完美渲染的虚拟世界中的表演,并且还会呈现出完美的角色。于此同时,相应的指导还可以立即进行。

后期制作也有望因此而永远改变。因为在开拍前,大部分的视觉特效工作就将会进行了。由此,从最初创意到最终剪辑的流程连续性也将会有了显著的提高。

假如这便是理想中的实时制作,那我们现在处于哪个阶段了呢?在此刻,是否真的存在实时制作了呢?

电影置景和实时制作

实时的哲学

如果实现了“实时制作”,那么无论技术的复杂程度如何,创造新图像所需的时间都应该为零。然而照这么来说,我们还有很长的一段路要走。

不过,持续的创新已经意味着我们越来越接近这个目标了。而且我们确信实时制作将为生产过程的三个阶段, 即前期制作(预演)、片场制作和后期制作带来显著并切实的效益。

高级的预先可视化(预演)

自二十世纪八十年代后期出现以来,预演“pre-vis”已成为电影制作流程中的重要组成部分。然而,这种采用简单资产来进行预演的历史级轻量方式,如今反而阻止了其自身发展。由于受到计划速度的限制,导演们很乐意使用粗糙的模型和简单的几何动画来完成预演。

不过,随着实时预演的进步,导演们不必再继续对质量妥协了。他们可以借助实时回放和高品质的资产,来高保真地完成拍摄。而这些高质量资产均可以用在片场和后期制作等任意阶段。

在《阿凡达》的拍摄中,便能看到这方面的早期案例。詹姆斯•卡梅隆专门为此制作了软件,以便想象出在10英尺高的外星人面前,演员该如何在空间中互动。此技术已做到了即时完成,而无需再将场景发送出去花一天时间进行渲染。这充分体现了该技术的发展程度。

实时制作实现了不同以往的流程融合,从而能完成更广泛的电影联合制作。稍后,我们将回过来看片场中虚拟制作的概念。实时技术与预演、片场置景相结合的案例,如《星球大战:侠盗一号》。在这个片段中,可以看到导演Gareth Edwards正在运用虚拟摄像机为影片中的太空战序列设置镜头。当然了,此这部分战斗序列已在前期预演过了。

片场,虚拟制作

虚拟制作在片场中的广泛应用,正是实时制作技术俘获了业界想象力的一个方面。那么为何不去运用呢?当在绿幕前或与CGI角色、环境相交互时,就能让导演和演员获得快速准确的反馈,这样的前景当然是非常令人兴奋的。并且这也意味着有望终结那些在后期阶段才发现问题的情况,而避免了再次匆忙安排(更别提高昂的代价)重拍的情况。

如今一些电影制作人已经在运用这项技术了。John Favreau在制作《丛林之书》时,便完全面对绿幕进行了拍摄,只有一个真实人物——森林王子。该人物,由出色的年轻演员Neel Sethi饰演。此项技术被大量的运用。只用跳转到本段视频的8分30秒,便能看到此项技术的使用情景了:当Neel走过绿屏舞台时,监视器中则显示出了他在满是野生动物的景观中漫步的画面。

然而正如视频展示的那样,在虚拟制作中所使用的CGI模型品质仍然相对较低。这也表明了虽然目前可以进行实时制作,但尚且不能生成高质量的电影视觉效果。

摄像机镜头

后期制作将会因此而终结吗?

虽然不太引人注目,但也许实时制作在行业的影响方面,更为重要的是未来有可能颠覆整个电影制作的流程 - 甚至开始宣告后期制作的结束。

为了让实时制作能高效地运作,绝大多数的视觉效果工作必须在开拍之前提前完成。只有这样才能让实时制作的场景具备了足够高的质量,以便包含在最终剪辑中 - 或被视为“最终像素”。

在过去的100年间,我们已经看到了电影业中的人力资源中心从前期制作阶段(置景、木工和其它技术行业形式),转移到了后期制作阶段。然而采用实时技术,有可能再次实现逆转。

来自雪佛兰和虚幻共同创作的《Human Race》项目展示了这个新生想法将如何开始腾飞。本项目在加利福尼亚的街道上对一个特别制造的实体汽车底盘装置进行了拍摄。该装置被称为黑鸟(Blackbird),在其之上,则可以放置大量预先建造的照片级真实的车体。 

之后就可以根据电影制作人天马行空的创意和不同的品位,对剪辑中的汽车模型、颜色、装饰和其它配件等数几秒钟内完成更改。而且这其中还自带了素材的实时渲染选项。

理论上可行,但在实践中...

从纸面上来看,实时制作确实很令人兴奋。然而,正如已故棒球传奇人物Yogi Berra所说:理论上,理论与实际之间并无区别。但实际中,两者之间的差别当然存在。

正如我们所提到的那样,实时制作仍然需要克服诸多的重大障碍,才会被当作传统生产流程的有力竞争者。借助技术的发展,并征服及持怀疑态度的导演们。

Foundry 趋势也将在未来几周内一同探索这些方面,并近距离了解那些推动了技术进步的工作室。

Close

Close

A digested guide to real-time production

There’s a discipline that’s creating an audible buzz across multiple industries at the moment, that’s both the subject of serious whitepapers and excited YouTube comments: real-time production.

Yet with all the discussion – including from us at Foundry Trends – it can be difficult to work out what actually constitutes production in “real-time”, and what techniques being touted as revolutionary are currently achievable.

Reaching nirvana 

Before we get serious, let’s allow ourselves to get carried away a bit. What could the "nirvana" for real-time production look like?

Better pre-visualization than ever before, with directors able to experiment with their centrepiece sequences before getting anywhere near the set - a cost-effective way to create and iterate without having to commit the studio’s budget to several reshoots.

Directors filming their cast against fully realised virtual sets, allowing them to – as they would on a physical set – frame, and re-frame in the search for the perfect shot. Directions can be relayed instantly, via a quick check of a monitor, where actors will see themselves acting within a perfectly rendered world, as a perfectly rendered character.

Post-production could be changed forever, with much of the VFX work having taken place before shooting has even taken place – allowing for a greater level of continuity throughout the pipeline, from initial idea to final cut. 

But if this is the ideal for where we’d like real-time production to get, where are we now? At this moment in time, does real-time production actually exist?

Film set and realtime production

Real-time philosophy

If “real-time production” is achieved when the time it takes to create new images – no matter how technically complex – is virtually nil, arguably you could say that right now we’re still some way off.

However, constant innovation means we’re getting closer. And we can identify tangible ways real-time production will bring significant benefits to three stages of the production process: pre-vis, on-set, and post-production. 

Advanced pre-visualization

From its initial development in the late 1980s, pre-vis has grown into an essential part of the film production pipeline. Yet the historically lightweight nature of the simple assets used as part of pre-vis has arguably held it back. Directors have been happy to use less detailed models, with primitive animations, because of the speed of planning they allow.

But advances in real-time pre-vis mean that directors don’t have to compromise quality for much longer. They can inform their shoots in high fidelity, with real-time playback, and high-quality assets that can be used throughout the entire production process - whether on set or in post. 

An early example of this was seen in the filming of Avatar, for which James Cameron built software so he could visualize what his actors would look like interacting in a space as 10-foot-tall aliens. The ability to do this instantaneously, without needing to send the scene away for a day’s rendering, shows how far the technology has come.

Real-time production enables the convergence of previously disparate processes to allow for more joined-up filmmaking. We’ll come back to the concept of on-set virtual production shortly, but an example of real-time techniques blending pre-vis and on-set can be seen in the making of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. In this clip, we can see how director Gareth Edwards used a virtual camera in order to line up the shots for the film’s climatic space battle, which had already been animated in pre-vis. 

On-set, virtual production

The use of virtual production on-set is the aspect of real-time production technology that is currently capturing the industry’s imagination. And why not? The prospect of giving directors and actors access to quick and accurate feedback when performing against green screens or interacting with CGI characters and environments is certainly exciting, and could mean the end of hastily arranged (not to mention costly) re-shoots that arise from problems encountered in post.

Some filmmakers are already using this technique. John Favreau’s Jungle Book, shot entirely against green screen with only one physical human present – the prodigious young actor Neel Sethi as Mowgli – used it in abundance. Skip to 8:30 in this video and you can see the technology in use: as Neel walks through a green-screen sound stage, the monitor shows him wandering through a landscape abundant with wildlife.

However, as the video also shows, the quality of the CGI models used within virtual production is still relatively crude – showing that while real-time production is currently achievable, it is not yet able to produce high-quality film visuals.

camere lens

The end of post-production?

Less eye-catching, perhaps, yet certainly more significant in its impact to the industry, is the potential real-time production holds to flip the entire film production pipeline on its head – possibly even spelling the end of post-production as we know it. 

For real-time production to work effectively, the vast majority of visual effects work may have to be completed before filming begins. Only that way will scenes shot in real-time be considered of high enough quality for inclusion within the final cut – or treated as ‘final pixels’. 

Over the past 100 years, we’ve seen the focus of manpower on films shift from pre-production – in the form of set building, carpentry and other skilled trades – to post-production. The adoption of real-time technologies could see that reversed once again.

The Human Race project, from Chevrolet and Unreal, shows how this nascent idea is starting to take off. A purpose-built physical car chassis – called Blackbird – onto which a huge range of pre-built photorealistic bodies can be placed, was filmed racing through the streets of California. 

Depending on the whims and tastes of the filmmaker, the car model, colour, trim and other accessories featured in the clip can be changed in seconds – with the footage rendered in real-time to include their options. 

Works in theory, but in practice…

Real-time production, on paper, looks set to do exciting things. Yet, as the late baseball legend Yogi Berra once said: In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice there is.

As we’ve alluded to, there are significant barriers that real-time production needs to overcome before it can be considered a serious contender to the traditional production pipeline; from technical developments, to sceptical directors. 

Foundry Trends will be exploring these, and taking a closer look at the studios propelling the techniques advancement, in the coming weeks.