关闭

关闭

VFX的数据聚合:不可触及的梦想或是未开发的机会?

数据聚合在制药、媒体和娱乐等众多行业中都已经产生了变革。亚马逊曾经只是一家网上书店,但现在几乎触及了每一个您能想象到的领域。此外,亚马逊也是从网络汇集数据(基于其他已购人群来提供客户推荐。),以支持未来交易的企业之一。 

今天,大多数的在线业务都会使用数据来优化客户体验。Expedia会建议假期安排;Netflix会告诉您,您会喜欢什么;而Spotify会给出您可能喜欢的其它歌曲。但是这类数据的使用,却没有对视觉效果(VFX)真正产生了重大的影响。

视觉特效工作室所面临的重大挑战,我们之前也详细介绍过,就是从项目到项目之间,如何进行有效资源规划并决定何时去投资额外的渲染能力。与此同时,还得避免出现机器闲置数周的情况。此外,我们还讨论了如何迁移到云端,才能有所帮助。

那么,在项目规划和执行过程中,数据共享和聚合能发挥什么作用呢?

各工作室通常彼此独立存在,而且也都会使用不同的流程,并根据过往工作的方式,传递或消化掉不同成本。然而却没有任何魔法一样的电子表格能深入到项目细节之中,并得出完美的成本效益汇总。

3D 建模的 脸

但如果工作室能够吸取他人的见解,从别人的失败和成功中学习,来更好地管理自己的工作将会如何呢?如果将之前项目数据的中央存储库用作洞察分析或提供给机器以便学习算法去运用,那将会怎样呢?相信完成工作的方式将发生巨大变化。

显而易见的关键点在于,这些工作室是否真的乐意与他们的竞争对手分享信息,以实现“更大的利益”。这可是一个在过去几年中曾因为严重公开的数据泄漏,而被架在火上烤的烫手行业。因此,等新项目来之后,大家肯定都会保守秘密了。

也许我们不过只是在幻想而已, 这是个难以克服的障碍。然而,还是有 公司愿意通过提供新方法,来更准确地预估项目资源, 并弥合这一缺口。

Gareth Williams是YellowDog的创始人兼首席执行官。YellowDog是英国的一家初创公司,为VFX、动画和CGI工作室提供云渲染。 YellowDog 的 "无限计算力" 使用户能根据需要,访问尽可能多的渲染能力,而不必再为了服务器农场而反复纠结。

YellowDog还能帮助工作室依据可用的计算机,来预测出完成某项渲染的所需时间,并带来分析出要在所有重要客户的截止期限内完成工作所需资源的洞察力。

“最大的挑战之一是视觉特效行业竞争激烈,而且利润率非常之低,” Williams告诉我们。 “因此一个工作室的流程 - 以及服务客户的效率 - 往往是它的竞争优势,不过很难想象在未来,工作室都能靠自身具备这种竞争优势。”

3D中的服务器

Williams继续说到:“这不仅是快速渲染,而是得在截止期前完成渲染。但人们只想知道需要采取什么措施,以便在某个时间点完成。

“我们开发了机器学习算法,由此能够在渲染开始前,首先遍览渲染作业,分析出各种限制,并给客户列出渲染将在何时完成的一份相对准确的列表。”

为此,YellowDog便需要能参与数据聚合的元素。它将会从客户上传的项目中获取信息,访问并评估每个场景中的20多个数据点(如分辨率、布光和纹理等),并转给给机器学习的模型和算法。

Williams认为,只要采取匿名方式,就不会对竞争优势造成影响。人们也都非常乐于分享项目数据,以便改善服务。 “当然,这一切都取决于数据的用途,”他补充说到。

这个行业显然距离数据聚合的乌托邦尚有较长的路要走,还存在着重大挑战需要克服。而且挑战远不止工作室是否愿意和竞争对手分享部分数据。但毫无疑问,工作室之间的信息共享,将有可能改变我们所熟知的生产流程。

想要详细了解云技术对VFX行业的潜在影响吗?欢迎来查看我们的文章,并了解云技术如何帮助工作室在项目成本的规划方面发挥变革性作用。

Close

Close

.

Data aggregation in VFX: Impossible dream or untapped opportunity

Data aggregation has been transformative for industries as broad as pharmaceuticals and media and entertainment. Amazon, once an online bookshop but now with its fingers in almost every pie imaginable, was one of the first businesses to aggregate data from a network of vendors to support future transactions - offering customers recommendations based on what other people had purchased.

Today, most online businesses similarly use data to optimize the customer experience. Expedia recommends holidays, Netflix tells you what shows you’ll enjoy, and Spotify suggests other songs you might like. But such use of data hasn’t really had a significant impact on the world of visual effects (VFX).

One of the big challenges for VFX studios, which we’ve looked at in detail before, is effective resource planning from project to project; deciding when to invest in additional rendering capacity while avoiding a scenario where machines are left idle for weeks on end. We’ve also discussed how migration to the cloud can help.

What role, then, could data sharing and aggregation play in project planning and execution?

Studios usually exist independently from one another. They use different processes, passing on or absorbing different costs based on what’s worked for them in the past. There’s no magic spreadsheet that will suck in project details and spit out the perfect cost-benefit option.

3D Modelled Face

But what if studios could draw insight from others, learning from their failures and successes to better manage their own work? What if a central repository of past project data could be drawn on for insight, or to feed an algorithm fuelled by machine learning? The accepted way of doing things would change dramatically.

The glaringly obvious sticking point, of course, is whether said studios would indeed be happy to share information with their fiercest rivals for the ‘greater good’. This is an industry that has been burned by very public data leaks in years gone by, and one shrouded in secrecy when it comes to new work.

Perhaps we’re being fanciful, and perhaps it’s a hurdle that will prove just too big to ever be overcome. There are, however, companies trying to bridge the gap by offering new ways to more accurately make predictions for project resourcing.

Gareth Williams is founder and chief executive of YellowDog, a British startup offering cloud rendering for VFX, animation, and CGI studios. YellowDog’s ‘limitless compute’ gives users access to as much rendering capacity as they need, without shelling out for on-prem server farms.

YellowDog also helps studios plan resource by predicting the time it will take to render a piece of work, based on available compute - giving them the insight they need to meet all-important client deadlines.

“One of the big challenges is that VFX work is so competitive and there are such low margins,” Williams told us. "So a studio’s pipeline - and its efficiency for clients - is often its competitive edge. It’s hard to imagine a future where studios effectively give that competitive edge away.”

Servers in 3D

Williams continued: “It’s not just about rendering quickly but rendering to a deadline. People just want to know what they need to put in place in order to have something finished by a specific point.

“We’ve developed machine-learning algorithms that allow us to look at render jobs before they’ve started, analyse any restraints and tell customers with a degree of accuracy when the rendering will be finished.”

To do that, YellowDog does need an element of data aggregation. It takes information from projects uploaded by its customers, assessing more than 20 data points from each scene - such as resolution, lighting and texture - to inform its models and algorithms.

And Williams believes people are happy to share project data to improve the service, so long as it’s anonymised and does not give away any competitive advantage. “It all hinges on what the data is used for,” he added.

The industry is clearly some way off data aggregation Utopia. There remain significant challenges to overcome - not least studio’s willingness to share with competitors - but there’s no doubt the sharing of information between studios has the potential to transform production pipelines as we know them.

Want to find out more about the potential impact of cloud tech on the VFX industry? Check out our article that looks at how cloud could play a transformative role in helping studios plan project costs.

Contact Us