关闭

关闭

探索虚拟现实中的无限行走

在追求更逼真,更身临其境的VR体验方面,最大的挑战之一就是复制我们在现实生活中的运动自由。如果我们被束缚到固定点或是作者预先确定的旅程中,或者只能在撞到(非常真实的)墙壁之前,往各个方向走上几步,那么虚拟世界将永远不会让人感到真实。

上周在温哥华举行的SIGGRAPH(世界上最重要的VFX行业盛会)上首次亮相的新论文中便阐述了在VR中引入“无限行走”的概念。

虽然重定向行走的想法并不新鲜。 但此方法利用了在VR体验中的细微变化,可以将人们置于狭窄的真实空间中,以便让人们弧形移动,但做到了欺骗身体,使人觉得是在一条直线上继续行走。

只是此类技术一直受到有限的重定向能力和可察觉场景失真的限制。但是,在一篇题为“《Toward virtual reality infinite walking: dynamic saccadic redirection》(虚拟现实中定义无限行走:动态扫视重定向)”的论文中,来自Stony Brook大学、NVIDIA和Adobe的研究人员声称他们的新方法可以处理如大型开放空间在内的更多样化环境,而不会遇到其它问题。

3D图形中的人体形状

他们通过利用人眼的特性:被称为“‘saccadic suppression(扫视抑制)” 的临时失明时刻来实现了这一点。扫视抑制指的是我们的眼睛在视野中的不同点之间自然且快速的移动时,出现的暂时性失明。例如在扫视房间时,眼睛将会自动进行适应。在“扫视压抑”的这个短暂时刻,从技术上来讲我们是失明了。不过我们的大脑早已经过训练,而忽略了这一点。

扫视在几秒钟内就会出现,但由于太过常规 - 我们都不会注意到。正因为如此,它们便能加以利用。研究人员声称通过在这些时刻非常轻微地旋转虚拟摄像机,便可以实现更逼真的行走场景 - 而且还不会引起头晕或不适。

该技术使用具有头部和眼睛运动追踪功能的标准VR头戴显示,并具备了识别扫视抑制和启动重定向的能力。研究人员甚至还尝试了在体验中添加视觉线索以鼓励更频繁的扫视。

此外,他们还使用“dynamic path planning(动态路径规划)”实时跟踪用户的物理环境,以确保避免任何障碍,从而保持身临其境的体验。当然,这其中包括移动物体等 - 例如同一房间内的其他人。

这是一项令人兴奋的发展,但这并不代表无限行走就不再有局限性了。虽然这无疑具有更大规模VR体验的潜力,特别是在更大物理空间内进行安装设定时,优势更加明显。然而在家庭中的应用依然还不够明朗。

正如我们在另一篇Foundry 趋势文章中探讨过的那样,扫视抑制并不是唯一能被利用的暂时性失明时刻。汉堡大学人机交互小组的博士研究生和研究助理Eike Langbehn,就曾向我们讲述了跟踪眨眼这方面的应用。

Close

Close

.

Exploring infinite walking in virtual reality

In the quest for more realistic, more immersive VR experiences, one of the biggest challenges is replicating the freedom of movement we have in real life. The virtual world will never quite feel true to reality if we are tethered to a fixed point or taken on a journey pre-determined by the creator, or only able to walk a few steps in either direction before hitting a (very real) wall.

But a new paper that debuted at SIGGRAPH - the world’s foremost VFX industry event - in Vancouver last week introduced the concept of ‘infinite walking’ in VR. 

The idea of redirected walking is nothing new. It uses subtle changes in the VR experience to keep people within a confined real space, moving them in an arc but tricking the body into thinking it is continuing in a straight line.

Such techniques have suffered, however, from limited redirection capabilities and visible scene distortions. But, in a paper titled ‘Toward virtual reality infinite walking: dynamic saccadic redirection’, researchers from Stony Brook University, NVIDIA, and Adobe claim their new method can handle more diverse environments, such as large open spaces, without the issues faced by others.

A human shape in 3D graphics

They do this by exploiting a quirk of the human eye: moments of temporary blindness known as ‘saccadic suppression’. Our eyes naturally flit rapidly between different points in our field of vision—for example when scanning a room. During these moments of ‘saccadic suppression’ we’re technically blind, although our brains are trained to ignore it.

Saccades occur within fractions of seconds, but with such regularity - and without us noticing - that they can be harnessed. By rotating the virtual camera very slightly during these moments, the researchers say they can enable more realistic walking scenarios - without dizziness or discomfort.

This technique uses a standard VR headset fitted with the ability to track head and eye movements, identifying saccadic suppression and initiating redirection. The researchers have even experimented with adding visual cues within experiences to encourage more frequent saccades.

They’ve also used ‘dynamic path planning’ to track the user’s physical environment in real-time, ensuring any obstacles are avoided to maintain an immersive experience. And that includes moving objects - such as other people in the same room.

It’s an exciting development, but that’s not to say infinite walking is without its limitations. While it has undoubted potential for large-scale VR experiences, especially experiential installations within far larger physical spaces, its application within the home, for example, is less clear.

As we’ve explored in another Foundry Trends article, saccades are not the only moment of temporary blindness that can be exploited. Eike Langbehn, a doctoral candidate and research associate at the Human-Computer Interaction group at the University of Hamburg, spoke to us about tracking eye blinks.