Upcoming Events

Foundry Siggraph 2020

Explore the latest innovations in your field and connect with a global community of creators and thought-leaders at SIGGRAPH 2020.

Register for SIGGRAPH 2020 with code FOUNDRY20 and get $50 off either basic level registration or any level upgrades. We are thrilled to be back again at SIGGRAPH and are looking forward to connecting with you virtually. We will share resources and deep dive sessions on all Foundry products, plus customer stories and skill-ups. Please note all of our sessions are pre-recorded and you will be able to ask live questions in the Zoom room. Please also remember to register to SIGGRAPH in order to gain full access to our sessions and booth. 

Open Source Days - Academy Software Foundation

Wednesday, August 19 - 11:00 a.m. PDT | 14:00 EDT | 19:00 p.m. BST | 4:00 a.m. AEST

An inside look at Foundry's engagements with Open Source

In this talk, Mathieu Mazerolle & Robert Fanner will cover what open source tools are most significant to Foundry and why, including OpenEXR, OpenColorIO, OpenTimelineIO and USD.

Register

Nuke Family - Tuesday, August 25

Register for Siggraph 2020 with code FOUNDRY20

9:00 a.m PDT I 12:00 p.m EDT I 5:00 p.m BST | 2:00 a.m. AEST

Nuke Studio & Hiero Volume 1 - The basics of Review and VFX editorial

Join Juan Salazar, Senior Creative Product Manager and Anaïs Torreblanca, Associate Product Manager for Nuke, as they share detailed insights into some of the key workflow tips for VFX artists and compositors working with Nuke Studio and Hiero—from project presets to reviewing in context.

Register

3:00 p.m PDT I 6:00 p.m EDT I 11:00 p.m BST | 8:00 a.m. AEST

Introducing Nuke 12.2

Join Director of Product, Christy Anzelmo, and Nuke Associate Product Manager, Chris Andrewartha, as they dive into the next release of Nuke and show how Nuke 12.2 will empower creatives across the globe. Expect updates across the Nuke family from new 2D and 3D format support, to fresh SyncReview functionality in Nuke Studio, Hiero and HieroPlayer—perfect for teams working remotely.

Register

4:00 p.m PDT I 7:00 p.m EDT I 11:00 p.m BST | 9:00 a.m. AEST

Nuke Studio for Small Business in a Remote Working World

Cinegrace Founder Tomas Wall will share how he set up his VFX Studio and how to make remote working a reality. Join the discussion with Foundry’s Senior Creative Product Manager Juan Salazar to learn why Cinegrace counts on Nuke Studio as the central hub for their creative work.

Register

5:00 p.m PDT I 8 p.m EDT I 1:00 a.m BST | 10 a.m. AEST

How to improve your Nuke workflow with Python scripting

Nuke is built with Python at its core, allowing for a robust amount of programmability. This programmability benefits compositors who are conscious of not wasting time on menial tasks, but instead are willing to harness the power of simple customization & automation. Join Ben McEwan, Compositor, VFX mentor and author of “Ben’s Comp Newsletter” and David Nolan, Performance Product Manager for Nuke as they further discuss the importance of learning python and how it can improve your Nuke workflow.

Register

Look Development & Lighting - Wednesday, August 26

Register for Siggraph 2020 with code FOUNDRY20

9:00 a.m PDT I 12:00 p.m EDT I 5:00 p.m BST | 2:00 a.m. AEST

Mari Development Update and AMA

Join Rory Woodford, Mari Product Manager, for a review of the latest Mari releases. Rory will also share a preview of what’s next for Mari and will be available to answer questions related to all things Mari.

Register

9:30 a.m PDT I 12:30 p.m EDT I 5:30 p.m BST | 2:30 a.m. AEST

Katana Development Update

Take a sneak peek at the upcoming Katana 4.0 release and join Foundry’s Jordan Thistlewood, Director of Product, and Gary Jones, Katana Associate Product Manager, as they reveal key product updates. Katana’s upcoming release is tipped to be a game-changer for look development and lighting artists everywhere so this discussion isn’t to be missed.

Register

3:00 p.m PDT I 6:00 p.m EDT I 11:00 p.m BST | 8:00 a.m. AEST

Katana and Pixar’s RenderMan | Rendering Onward and Beyond!

Onward combines the mythic with the mundane, as two brothers try to find magic in the suburbs. During this presentation, Tim Best & Sarah Hutchinson will show how magic was created for Pixar’s latest feature film, Onward, as they describe the challenges of lighting a fantasy world full of elves, centars, and spellcasting with Foundry’s Katana. The session will also cover Pixar’s core rendering technology, RenderMan, talking about the state-of-the-art features used in Onward.

Register

4:00 p.m PDT I 7:00 p.m EDT I 11:00 p.m BST | 8:30 a.m. AEST

Collaborating on an Animatic while Working from Home

Join Brice Banel, Flix Product Manager, Terry Riyasat, and Martin Mayer, Heads of Creative Services AMER & EMEA, to discover how Flix makes pre-production easier and more efficient while they create an animatic from scratch in only 30 minutes! During the webinar, Terry, Brice, and Martin will put their Production Coordinator, Story Artist, Director, and Editor hats on to guide you through the process, from setting up a project to delivering a final animatic.

Register

4:30 p.m PDT I 7:30 p.m EDT I 11:30 p.m BST | 9:30 a.m. AEST

LookDev & Lighting Automation in Katana - Preparing for Success

Lighting Artist Abel Vargas will discuss the power of Katana deployed in look development, how Katana's power can facilitate massively scaled look development across multiple assets, and demonstrate how he uses Katana 3.6's recent updates to its shading system. Where usually Katana is used by artists in an integrated pipeline, Abel will instead discuss how he uses Katana itself to achieve his results.

Register

3D Design - Thursday, August, 27

Register for Siggraph 2020 with code FOUNDRY20

9:00 a.m PDT I 12:00 p.m EDT I 5:00 p.m BST | 2:00 a.m. AEST

Digital Transformation with Modo and Colorway

Digital transformation is critical to staying competitive in footwear and accessories. In this session, watch Colorway and Modo live in action and learn how they can help you seamlessly communicate design intent, rapidly iterate on design, and help improve your design workflows.

Register

10:00 a.m PDT I 1:00 p.m EDT I 6:00 p.m BST | 3:00 a.m. AEST

Modeling for VFX Today with Modo

Roo MacNeill will take a look into how VFX has changed to adapt to modern requirements and technology, focusing on his personal journey to becoming a highly skilled VFX mentor and Modeler at Framestore. In his free time, Roo hosts a Twitch channel, Rooviews, where he shares his passion for VFX by helping teach and mentor students in the hopes of inspiring the next wave of talented artists in the industry.

Register

3:00 p.m PDT I 6:00 p.m EDT I 11:00 p.m BST | 8:00 a.m. AEST

Behind the scenes of Modo 14.1

In this session, we’ll be exploring the evolution of Modo and how it’s shaping design creation in a wide range of industries today. Join the Modo product designers and developers during a series of interviews with industry professionals for a behind the scenes look into the upcoming Modo 14.1 release. During the session, we will discuss the collaborative process of creating some of their favorite features

Register