虚拟现实

《No Borders》之360°VR拍摄

虽然我们都了解了虚拟现实发展之迅速,但虚拟现实的制作过程会有多困难呢?

《No Borders 》预告片

《No Borders》预告片

意大利制作公司Radical Plans则通过创建《No Borders》:一部讲述难民到达意大利之后所面临困境的360°VR纪录片,来试水虚拟现实制作。

我们也跟随他们的旅程,一同见证了旅途中遇到的挑战、障碍,以及取得的胜利。并在这五集幕后制作短片中向您坦诚的展示所面临的状况、障碍等各个方面。

这些短片中,还有来自MPC、Happy Finish、Visualize和Framestore的多位VR专家们所带来的极富洞察力的评论,可帮助您从他们的经验中学习,避免陷阱,并简化您的制作过程。

《No Borders》360°VR拍摄之第1集:动机和准备

第 1 集: 动机和准备

在《No Borders》360°VR拍摄的第1集幕后短片中,来自Radical Plans的纪录片制片人Haider Rashid和Foundry的VFX研究员兼电影制片人Daniele Bernabei一同谈论了究竟是什么促使他们来创作《No Borders》—这部关于难民抵达意大利后困境的VR影片。他们一同讨论了首次进行360°拍摄前的准备工作,并谈到了对可能出错的各方面的担忧。

《No Borders》360°VR拍摄之第2集:麻烦加倍?

第2集:麻烦加倍?

在《No Borders》360°VR拍摄的第2集幕后短片中,Haider和Daniele采用了不同的方法在意大利议会大楼内拍摄了360°的采访镜头。他们使用一对能四处移动的立体摄像机,分别从地板和天花板位置拍摄了参与者,并计划将所有内容缝合在一起。最终发布的影片中单视图和立视图之间的切换是否会成功呢?

《No Borders》360°VR拍摄之第3集:没有画框,没有边界

第3集:没有画框,亦无边界

《No Borders》360°VR拍摄的第3集幕后短片中,Haider和Daniele走上街头,面对着源源不断的风、运动,以及羞于上镜的难民等诸多新挑战。在无法控制进出视野的对象时,如何有效的把控叙事?他们还闯入了已经解散的难民中心,去查看了如今的样子。当然,压力之外,也带来一些令人兴奋的消息。

《No Borders》360°VR拍摄之第4集:威尼斯或失败

第4集:威尼斯或失败

在《No Borders》360°VR拍摄的第4集幕后短片中,Haider和Daniele很高兴被邀请到著名的威尼斯电影节上展示作品。但是这也带来了两个问题:首先,要参加电影节,就意味着得在截止日期前三个月内完成工作; 第二,影片需要采用传统的电影银幕放映,然而在这方面,团队还并没有提前计划过。那么他们能在不失去360°VR体验的情况下,脱颖而出吗?

《No Borders》拍摄之第5集:反应与思考

第5集:反应和思考

在《No Borders》360°VR拍摄的最后一集幕后短片中,将跟随Haider和Daniele走进威尼斯电影节,在那里他们辛勤努力的成果将经受最终的考验。当第一次公开放映时,团队欣喜地看到他们的作品激发了观众们的兴趣,深深吸引了观众,而且还使观众们流下了眼泪。要做到这些一直很具挑战性,但这一切都值得吗?能获得新闻界、潜在的新客户甚至是评奖委员会的垂青,答案当然是肯定的:值得!

Close

Close

Virtual reality

Filming with No Borders: 360° VR truth

We’re all aware of how rapidly virtual reality is gaining ground, but just how difficult is the VR production process?

Trailer for No Borders

No Borders: trailer

Italian production company Radical Plans set out to test the waters with the creation of No Borders, a 360° VR documentary about the plight of refugees arriving in Italy.

We followed their journey to witness the challenges, obstacles and triumphs they encountered along their journey. Our candid five-part ‘making of’ series shows you the true picture of what it takes, warts and all.

The episodes are full of insightful comments from celebrity VR experts at MPC, Happy Finish, Visualise and Framestore that will help you learn from their experiences to avoid pitfalls and streamline your production.

No Borders Episode 1: motivations and preparations

Episode 1: motivations and preparations

In the first episode of Filming with No Borders: 360° VR truth, documentary filmmaker Haider Rashid of Radical Plans and Daniele Bernabei, VFX researcher and filmmaker at The Foundry, talk about what motivated them to create No Borders, a VR film about the plight of refugees arriving in Italy. They discuss their preparations for their first 360° shoots, and voice their trepidation about everything that can possibly go wrong.

No Borders Episode 2: double the trouble?

Episode 2: double the trouble?

In episode two of Filming with No Borders: 360° VR truth, Haider and Daniele take a different approach to creating 360° footage for the shoot of an interview inside the Italian parliament building. Using a pair of stereo cameras that they can move around, they shoot the participants separately from the floor and ceiling, planning to stitch everything together in post. But will switching between mono and stereo for the final delivery be successful?

No Borders Episode 3: no frames, no borders

Episode 3: no frames, no borders

Episode three of Filming with No Borders: 360° VR truth sees Haider and Daniele heading to the streets and facing new challenges from constant movement, wind and camera-shy subjects. How do they control the narrative when they can’t control what moves in and out of their view? Then, they take the title of their film literally, breaking into a defunct refugee center to see what it looks like today. Plus, the pressure piles on with some exciting news.

No Borders Episode 4: Venice or bust

Episode 4: Venice or bust

In episode four of Filming with No Borders: 360° VR truth, Haider and Daniele are thrilled to have been asked to show their work at the prestigious Venice Film Festival. But that presents two problems: first, getting there means shaving three months off their deadline; second, the festival requires a traditional theatrical screening, something the team had made no plans for. Will they be able to pull it off without losing the immediacy of the 360° VR experience?

No Borders Episode 5: reactions and reflections

Episode 5: reactions and reflections

The final episode of Filming with No Borders: 360° VR truth follows Haider and Daniele to the Venice Film Festival, where the fruits of their labors are put to the test. As the first public screenings take place, the pair are gratified to see their work excite, engage and—ultimately—move viewers to tears. It’s been challenging, but was it all worth it? With major interest from press, potential new clients and even the award committee, the answer is an emphatic “yes”.

Contact Us