关闭

关闭

电影与电视

Nuke强力支持Sony Pictures Imageworks 的《爱丽丝梦游仙境》

© 2010 Walt Disney Pictures. 图像由 Cafe FX 提供。

在Imageworks使用Nuke的首个项目中,艺术家们都非常倚重此项技术

要缩放和掌控好片拍摄镜头中元素,特别是红皇后超大比例的头部、爱丽丝变化的的尺寸以及疯帽子的大眼睛,Nuke才是关键。

Sony Pictures Imageworks的VFX总监Carey Villegas对Nuke有如下看法:

“即使Imageworks以优秀的内部合成软件而闻名,然而运用Nuke等商业软件也有很多优势。运营上的可扩充性是一项真正的奖励 - 您可以轻松获得拥有成熟技能的艺术家。这减少了在开始工作之前的人员培训需求,并允许我们为特定的工作类型雇佣称心称职的艺术家。”

走近来,详细了解

Foundry很幸运能够在NAB 2010的展位上邀请到了Carey。您可以在这里观看由他带来的演示,该演示由fxguidetv为我们录制。

Sony Pictures Imageworks的 VFX 总监:Carey Villegas

尽管 Imageworks 一直以内部专有合成软件而出名,但采用像Nuke这样的商业化软件依然有着众多的好处。

高效的工作流程

在技术方面,Nuke的开放式基础架构和可定制特性使其能够与其它应用程序轻松整合,以便创建高效的工作流程。在爱丽丝这部影片中,由于是利用Maya完成制作的,因此这一点尤为重要:“Gzimos和其它多种定制选项所提供的灵活性,意味着您不必成为程序员,就能“拥有”很好的程序员了。如果您是程序员,那还可以把它提升到到更高的层次。

“Nuke很快速。我是扫描线渲染的忠实粉丝。即使在处理4K文件时,Nuke的速度和交互性也令人印象非常深刻。Nuke完全无缝的集成到了我们的流程之中。”

Nuke跨平台的可用性对于制作也非常有用。 Sony Pictures Imageworks的合成团队工作标准是Linux平台,但同时也有Windows和Mac工作站上的Nuke。此外,Carey 还在他Macbook Pro和30英寸显示器的基础上,搭建了一个工作站:

“我在现场就能完成红皇后的头部、爱丽丝的大小和疯帽子的眼睛测试,并能与Tim Burton、DOP、Dariusz Wolski当场进行磋商了。有了Nuke以后,这一切都很容易了。”

对于Villegas而言,第三方插件的可用性在项目期间也证明了其重要性:“Nuke架构的开放性使我们能够在疯帽子的眼睛创作中选用了标准化的工作流程。我们想要使用Sapphire 插件中的(Distort)。为此,GenArts也能很顺利的写出适合我们Nuke工作流程的工具。”

在Nuke VFX软件中创建的《爱丽丝梦游仙境》的神奇CGI效果

关于比例的问题

根据Villegas的说法,《爱丽丝梦游仙境》中最具挑战性的特效是那些涉及红皇后和爱丽丝的特效,因为这涉及了比例问题。红皇后的头部和腰部与她的身体不成比例,爱丽丝在整部影片中则会以各种不同的尺寸出现:

“比例问题处理起来非常棘手。我们运用两部摄像机进行了拍摄:一部是高清的Panavision Genesis,另一部是为了避免红皇后在放大后画质降低,而在拍摄时选用了一款4K分辨率的Dalsa Evolution的原型机。

首先,我们会在她脖子下方的衣服上做一个追踪点,然后围绕她的头上勾画出一个非常粗糙的垃圾蒙板。之后将4K素材缩小为一个伪高清尺寸,然后将她的头从4K重新粘贴到她低矮的身体上。

为此,我在Nuke中创建了一个Gizmo来减轻这个过程的难度。我们首先跟踪她的头部,创建出垃圾蒙版,然后与Tim一起来观看不同尺寸的头部。如果要查看变化,我们可以在Nuke中直接更改百分比,软件会自动降低4K 素材的分辨率,并将红皇后的头部重新对准到缩小的身体上。虽然这只是一个粗略的迭代,但它确实很有帮助。这可以让我们在确定红皇后的头部应该多大之前,尽早的尝试数百次实验。"

对于爱丽丝,虽然采用了类似的原则,但并不只是键入一个百分比。而是对Nuke做了装配设置,以便能方便的调整为任意高度:

“比如说选择'八英尺六',软件就会自动获取4K素材,减小并在幕后进行缩放。当所有的相关比例都被锁定以后,就可以开始疯狂操作了。”

《爱丽丝梦游仙境》中的CGI柴郡猫
Matt Lucas如何变成了《爱丽丝梦游仙境》中的Tweedle Dum和Tweedle Dee

一场视觉盛宴

Carey团队努力工作的最终结果,给大家带来了一场真正的视觉盛宴,而且该盛宴还是年度最畅销的电影之一。

Sony Pictures Imageworks 与Foundry签有技术共享协议。因此,Carey对于未来满怀期待:

“很高兴看到我们的合作关系正在向前发展,我满心期待着未来还将有哪些伟大的新兴行业工具出现。”

Home

Open

Close

Film and TV

Nuke powers Sony Pictures Imageworks on Alice in Wonderland

© 2010 Walt Disney Pictures. Images courtesy of Cafe FX.

On Imageworks' first project using NUKE, artists relied heavily on the technology

To scale and master shots with a particular focus on The Red Queen’s brilliantly over-proportioned head, Alice’s changing size, and the Hatter’s large eyes Nuke was the key.

Carey Villegas, VFX Supervisor at Sony Pictures Imageworks, had this to say about Nuke:

“Even though Imageworks is well known for our great in-house compositing software, running on commercially available software such as Nuke has many advantages. Scalability of operations is a real bonus – you can easily get a hold of artists with an existing skill set. This reduces the need to train staff before starting a job and allows us to hire exactly the right artists for a particular style of work.” 

A closer look

Foundry was lucky enough to have Carey on our booth at NAB 2010. You can watch his demo here that was kindly recorded for us by fxguidetv.

Carey Villegas, VFX Supervisor at Sony Pictures Imageworks

Even though Imageworks is well known for our great in-house compositing software, running on commercially available software such as Nuke has many advantages.

An efficient workflow

On the technical side, Nuke's open infrastructure and customizable nature enable easy integration with other applications to create an efficient workflow. On Alice this was particularly crucial with the work that was done in Maya: “The flexibility provided by gizmos and all of the other customization options mean you don’t have to be a programer to get good results, but if you are, you can take it to another level.

“Nuke is FAST. I’m a big fan of scan-line rendering. Even when you’re working with 4K files, Nuke's speed and interactivity are really impressive.

Nuke completely and seamlessly integrated into our pipeline.”

Nuke's availability across platforms was also useful on the production. Sony Pictures Imageworks compositing team work on Linux as standard, but there are Windows and Mac stations around as well. Carey also set up a work station on set with his Macbook Pro and a 30” monitor:

“I was able to do the Red Queen’s head, Alice scale, and Hatter eye tests on-location where I could consult with Tim Burton and DOP, Dariusz Wolski. It was very easy with Nuke.”

The availability of 3rd party plug-ins also proved crucial for Villegas during the project: “The open nature of Nuke's architecture enabled us to standardize the workflow on the Hatter’s eyes. We wanted to use a Sapphire plug-in (Distort) and GenArts was able to write something that fit right into our Nuke workflow.”

Magical CGI effects used on Alice in Wonderland created in Nuke VFX software

A question of scale

According to Villegas, the most challenging VFX on Alice in Wonderland were those involving the Red Queen and Alice due to the play on scale involved. The Red Queen’s head and waist are disproportionate to her body and Alice exists in various different sizes throughout the film:

“The scaling issues were very tricky to deal with. We were filming with two cameras – a Panavision Genesis at HD, and to avoid a reduction in quality when blowing up photography for The Red Queen, a prototype Dalsa Evolution at 4K.

To start with, we would do a one-point track just below the neck on a bit of her clothing, then a really rough garbage matte around her head. We down-res’d the 4K material to a pseudo HD size and then re-attached her head from the 4K to her down-res’d body.

I created a gizmo in Nuke to ease this process. We would track her head, create the garbage matte and then look at her head with Tim at different sizes. To see a variation, we could just change the percentage in Nuke and it would automatically down-res the 4K and re-align the Red Queen’s head to her scaled down body. It was a crude iteration, but it really helped. We probably tried hundreds of experiments early on before we settled on how big the head should be.”

For Alice, a similar principle was employed, but instead of typing a percentage, Nuke was set up so that you could program in specific heights:

“We'd put in say 'eight foot six' and it would automatically take the 4K, reduce it and scale it behind the scenes. When all the size decisions had been locked down the finessing began.”

The CGI Cheshire Cat from Alice in Wonderland
How Matt Lucas became Tweedle Dum and Tweedle Dee from Alice in Wonderland

A visual feast

The end result of Carey’s team’s hard work was a true visual feast that was one of the biggest grossing films of that year.

Sony Pictures Imageworks has a technology sharing agreement with Foundry and Carey is anticipating great things:

“We’re excited to see what great new industry tools come from our relationship moving forward.”

Contact Us