电影与电视

准备好迎接电影制作新纪元了吗?

过去十年来的发展对于视觉特效(VFX)而言,预示了怎样的未来?

过去十年来,我们制作电影的方式发生了巨大的变化,随着数字电影技术对百年历史传统电影技术的不断冲击,并逐渐成为了摄影技术的标准媒介。那么过去这十年的发展变革是否预示了VFX未来将会去向何方?

视觉效果早已超出后期制作

曾经视觉特效的制作总是在后期完成,待拍摄工作完成以后才能进行。然而过去十年间,视效产业已经发展了众多新工具,让特效的制作不再局限于后期阶段,而早已参与到了电影制作的任意阶段之中。在荣获2009年奥斯卡最佳视觉特效的史诗级电影《阿凡达》中就有了出彩的表现,导演詹姆斯卡梅隆就做到了在片场将演员的表演与计算机生成素材的实时融合。

这一趋势又将如何发展?

如果我们能将预演阶段的优势提升到更高层次,那我们甚至可以预见到,在未来只用将演员实时的放入由全数字制作的片场之中,而不再需要后期制作了。以2012年的影片《少年派的奇幻漂流》中那个“老虎在船上”的桥段为例,将来不再需要首先在水池里让演员呆在船中完成拍摄,之后的后期制作中再加入数字化的老虎。我们可以先创建好场景,然后让演员实时地在这个数字化场景里进行表演。

而除了片场和工作室(影棚)之外,这同样会进一步提升剧场-电影复合型的体验的流行性,例如Secret Cinema,视觉效果工具在未来是否能也能应用到剧院之中呢? 实际上,我们已经见证了这一猜测的开始。英国皇家莎士比亚剧团的著名戏剧—《暴风雨》(The Tempest)最近就将戏剧表演与数字技术相结合,完成了一场突破性地演出。剧中的Ariel就以实时格式来数字化的渲染呈现,而不再是提前创作好图像,之后再投影到舞台之上。

而且这也引出了另一个有趣的可能性:我们或许会看到真正的戏剧演员在全数字化场景中表演,而不再是数字演员在实景片场中演出了。

Simon Robinson 谈论未来的电影制作

表演捕捉技术有着无限可能

表演捕捉技术在过去十年间取得了重大的进展。如同开拓性的预演技术一般,《阿凡达》同样也是这一技术的引领者。最近在2017年的奥斯卡赢家《丛林之书》中的精彩CGI桥段中展现出了令人赞叹的最新进步。这两部电影都充分展现了在面部表情和肢体动作捕捉技术方面所取得的突破性成就:即可以通过数字化记录演员的表情以及三维动作,之后再创造出CGI角色。


未来将会如何呢?

显而易见,届时我们将会创造出最逼真的CGI人物,最终创作出真实到无法区分是真实演员或是由数字副本所创作的出色表演。

除此之外,我们不妨来一个有趣的设想。有朝一日,我们不再需要演员这个职业。说不定我们能够创造出属于我们自己的最真实的,全数字化的演员。要达到这一点很大程度取决于我们如何复制人类的情感,而人类的情感又是否能被极其真实地数字化呢?答案不得而知。目前我们在电影和游戏中所见的每一个CGI角色,之所以能拥有和现实情景一样的情绪表达,是因为其背后有着真实的演员在为其表演。

尽管如此,我们常常被带进了“恐怖谷”,这也引领着我们……

征服恐怖谷

所谓的“恐怖谷”(Uncanny Valley)理论指的是虚拟世界中的复制人几乎像真人一样(但又是不完全像)的出现,从而引起了各种怪诞和反感。这方面一直是CGI艺术家多年来的挑战。 当然反面的案例并不鲜见,比如在2000年的电视剧《黑道家族》(The Sopranos)的某一集中,演员Nancy Marchand的头部居然被摇摇晃晃地叠加在了另一个人的身体之上。


不过鼓舞人心的是,过去三年来,这一领域已经取得了巨大的进步。电影《星球大战外传:侠盗一号》大受欢迎,尤其是受到年轻观众的喜爱,表明了视觉特效技术已经达到了我们可以精确地创造出让观众信服的人类形象地阶段。

未来,想要真正地征服“恐怖谷”意味着需要完全理解掌握了人类的情感,这是我们创造出全数字化演员的关键所在。数字化演员不仅要能带给观众具有感染力的表演,还需要真实到让人无法区分真假。

关键之处在于渲染。

VFX行业在曲面渲染和照明方面已经取得了长足的进步,因此数字化创建的人人物看起来越来越逼真。随着未来渲染技术的不断发展,让形象看起来“真实”将会变得越来越简单。反过来说,要区分数字创造的人脸和真实的人脸则将会越来越难了。

VFX 如何改变了电影制作的面貌

荧幕的大小不再阻挡VFX的进程

过去十年来,视觉效果已经成为了电影中的常态。值得注意的是,即便不以视觉效果为噱头的电影也都离开不视觉效果的应用。一个典型的例子就是《爱乐之城》(La La Land),这个广为称赞的五分钟开幕桥段实际上是通过“隐形”视觉效果整合制作而成的。

当然VFX的激增不仅局限于电影。随着观众们越来越习惯在小屏幕上看到如同《权力的游戏》中史诗般壮阔的战斗场景,那样壮观、电影风格的视觉效果。那么,接下来VFX将何去何从呢?

相比其它技术,视觉特效的发展最有可能改变整个电影行业。想象一下,电影在过去还只是一种局限于银幕,线性的叙事方式,如今却在慢慢成为一种让观众可以沉浸式甚至互动式走进故事的一种新体验。

而下一代的电影将会利用VR(虚拟现实)和AR(增强现实)的优势,让观众实实在在地走进电影。观众可以享受到360度的全方位感官体验,还可以与他们所喜爱的角色一起参与情节的发展。这样的未来并非是天方夜谭,甚至已经离我们并不遥远了。

效率如何决定成败

从经济学上来说,视觉效果产业是一项风险系数极高的行业。说明这一点的最好例子是2013年奥斯卡视觉效果奖得主——电影《少年派的奇幻漂流》(Life of Pi),在电影取得极高成就的同时,其VFX主创公司(Rhythm & Hues Studios)却面临破产。

VFX产业是一个全球化产业,也是一个全数字化的进程。由于其分布式的工作流程和高度流动的劳动力的影响,这一产业也受到政府决策和市场经济的影响,使其发展在当今市场环境下起起伏伏。在这些压力之下,提升效率便成了当务之急,具体措施如提高分析理论运用、改进工作流程以及动态地使用云计算功能等。

在未来,为了让视觉效果继续改变我们的观影体验。视觉效果公司需要找到新的方法使原本复杂的VFX过程更加简单化。从而能在未来几十年中为我们创造出各种非凡的视觉体验的同时,但也不会走向破产。

有兴趣了解VFX在过去十年间的进展吗?来看看奥斯卡金像奖最佳视觉效果类别中,那些引人注目的提名和获奖影片的互动时间线吧。

Home

Open

Close

Film and TV

Are you ready for the new era in filmmaking?

What can the developments of the past decade tell us about where VFX is headed for the future?

There’s been a seismic shift in filmmaking over the past ten years, with digital technology disrupting 100 years’ of film history to become the standard medium for cinematography. What can the developments of the past decade tell us about where VFX is headed for the future?

Visual effects beyond post-production

Previously, visual effects were always added post-production, after the action had taken place on set. Over the past decade, the visual effects industry has developed tools now used in other film-making phases - not just post. This was highlighted in the 2009 Oscar-winning visual effects epic, Avatar, where director James Cameron mixed on-set actor performances with computer generated material.

So how could this trend develop?

If we were to take the advances in previsualization to the next level, we might envision a future in which an entire set is digitally created, with actors dropped into it live without further post-production. Take the ‘tiger in boat’ sequences from 2012’s Life of Pi, for example. Rather than shooting the actor on a boat in a pool, then adding a digital tiger in post production, you could create the scene first and then have the actor perform in the digital set, in real time.

Beyond the set and studio, could the rise in popularity of immersive theatre-cinema hybrids - such as Secret Cinema - see visual effects tools used live in theatre in the future? Tellingly, we may already be seeing the beginnings of this. The Royal Shakespeare Company’s recent production of The Tempest has been given a groundbreaking digital twist, with Ariel digitally rendered in a real time format - no need to produce the image in advance and project it on stage.

And there is the intriguing possibility of the flip-side of this: rather than digital actors performing in a real set, might we see real theatre actors performing in a wholly digital set?

Simon Robinson talks about the future of digital filmmaking

Performance capture bounds ahead

The past decade has seen significant advances being made in ‘performance capture’. Like those pioneering pre-visualization techniques, this is an area in which Avatar led the way, and where advances were most recently showcased by the stunning CGI work on 2017 Oscar winner, The Jungle Book. Both films illustrate the ground being made in the performance capture of faces and bodies; that is, using the digitally recorded expressions and three-dimensional movements of actors, to create CGI characters later.

The future?

The obvious and most immediate scenario is that we manage to create CG characters so realistic we can’t tell which performances are given by a real life human, and which by their digital replica.

Beyond this, there lies the intriguing question of whether one day we might be able to forgo human actors all together. Might we create our own believable, fully digital actors? In large part, this will come down to how well we can replicate human emotion: whether emotion can be realistically digitized. Currently, we’re not quite there yet. Every CGI character you see in a film or a game that gives a truly realistic emotional performance does so because there was a real actor who gave that performance .

And even then, we’re often lead into the ‘Uncanny Valley’ - which brings us to….

Conquering the Uncanny Valley

The so-called ‘Uncanny Valley’ - where human replicas which appear almost (but not exactly) like real human beings elicit feelings of eeriness and revulsion - has been a challenge for CGI artists for many years.   There have been some notorious examples of studios not getting it quite right - such as the wobbly superimposing of the late Nancy Marchand’s head onto someone else’s body in an episode of The Sopranos from 2000.

Encouragingly, the past three years have seen huge progress in this field. The reception - particularly by younger viewers - of a digital Peter Cushing’s in Rogue One: A Star Wars Story indicates visual effects technology has reached a stage where we can create a human likeness to a compelling degree of accuracy.

For the future, truly conquering the Uncanny Valley will mean mastering human emotion to the point where we can create fully digital actors, that can give convincing pathos-laden performances, indistinguishable from the real thing.

Key to this will be rendering.

The VFX industry has made huge strides in rendering surfaces and lighting, which is why digitally-created humans are looking more and more realistic.  As rendering improves in the future, it will become even easier to make things ‘look right’ - which in turn will make it even more difficult for us to distinguish between digitally-created human faces and the real thing.

How VFX has changed the face of filmmaking

The march of VFX across screens large and small

The past ten years have seen visual effects become the norm in film.  Tellingly, even beyond the visual effects category, almost every film nominated at this year’s Academy Awards was touched by visual effects technology in some way. A case in point is La La Land, the lauded opening five minutes of which were crafted using the careful integration of ‘invisible’ visual effects.

The proliferation of VFX doesn’t stop at film, with audiences becoming used to seeing spectacular, cinematic-style visual on the small screen, such as those epic battle scenes from Game of Thrones. So where to next?

There is every chance that visual effects will change films beyond anything we recognise today. Imagine a world in which film has evolved way past linear storytelling, confined to the cinema screen, to become a fully immersive - even interactive - experience.

The next generation of films may harness the power of VR and AR to become something that plunges viewers into the film, giving them 360-degree views of the action and allowing them to stand next to the characters as the plot plays out.   Such a future isn’t inconceivable - and perhaps not so far off.

How efficiency is now make-or-break

Financially, visual effects production can be a risky business.  This was no better illustrated than in 2013 when the Academy Award for the visual effects category was won by Life of Pi - and at the same time, the main creator of VFX for the movie (Rhythm & Hues Studios) filed for bankruptcy.

The VFX industry is globalised, and now an entirely digital process.  Dependent on distributed workflows and a highly mobile workforce, it’s also subject to the ebb and flow of government initiatives, from which it alternately suffers and benefits.  Because of these pressures, there’s an increasing need for technology that helps drive efficiency - through the increased use of analytics, through improved workflows and through the dynamic use of cloud computing.

In the future, in order for visual effects to continue transforming our experience of film, visual effects companies will have to find new ways of streamlining the complex VFX process.  Those that do stand the best chance of thrilling us with extraordinary visual experiences over the coming decades - without going bust.

Interested to see how far VFX has come over the past decade? Check out our interactive timeline of the most spectacular nominees and winners in the Best Visual Effects category of the Academy Awards.

Contact Us