电影与电视

Mari锻造了《雷神》

《雷神》 ©2011 Marvel Studios。保留所有权利。图片由数字王国(Digital Domain)提供。

数字王国的Miguel Ortega和Minoru Sasaki在为超级大片《雷神》创作视觉效果时转向了Mari。

曾荣获奥斯卡奖的数字制作工作室数字王国一直以来都以充分利用视觉效果技术的最新发展,创新式的内容创作方法而远近闻名。

对于大片《雷神》,漫威影业转而让数字王国,以令人震撼的视觉效果和爆炸性的动作场面来打动观众。团队面临的挑战之一是创建了霜巨人之国(Jotunheim),这是一个,这是冰霜巨人的家园,是一个非常复杂的星球。其中的环境和角色的复杂性意味着Mari是该项目唯一可行的绘画解决方案。

《雷神》是数字王国公司第一个广泛使用Mari的项目,在此项目中Kelly Port担任视觉效果总监,Eric Fernandes担任计算机图形总监,此外还有来自温哥华和洛杉矶的艺术家团队。

来探索将《雷神》中怪物变得鲜活的软件

在数字王国的温哥华工作室,模特和纹理组长Miguel Ortega和蒙板画家Minoru Sasaki描述了他们在《雷神》上使用Mari的经历。

在传统中,在这种规模的项目上的,团队采取的第一步将是将资产分成多个部分:

Ortega说到:“但是分割资产,之后各部分分别进行绘制,将会导致了很多表面上的不相匹配和不相一致。因为在绘制时,我们无法将整个模型整体来观察,所以事情会变得很棘手了。幸运的是Mari带来的海量几何体模型和成千上万张贴图的处理能力解决了这些问题。我们能够在情境中,将模型的各部分结合在一起进行绘画,这为我们节省了大量的时间和精力。”

与此同时,数字绘景团队也从不同的角度发现了Mari的好处。

“尽管我在《雷神》期间主要进行了数字绘景工作,但同样帮助提升了项目的纹理品质。我原来的计划没有涉及到使用Mari,但是我遇到了UV布局有着轻微扭曲的困难纹理问题。这通常需要很长时间,才能解决,但是有了Mari之后,我们只用做很少的改变就可以了”Sasaki说到。 “我只需在Mari加载集合模型,然后开始绘画,之后可以分Pass进行导出,再就是这么简单。如果我们不使用Mari,那就要浪费很多时间来修复UV了。”

“作为数字绘景艺术家,我主要使用Photoshop进行绘画。不过,为了处理CubeCart,我使用了Nuke。我在Maya或Nuke将绘画好的数字绘景图像进行投影,不过,现在我也在Mari中绘制纹理了。Mari中,我个人最喜欢的功能是能用于3D绘画上的,十分灵活的遮罩工具,它能有效的帮助我解决以前那些诸如快速覆盖模型上大面积区域等棘手的3D绘画挑战。”Sasaki补充说。

Ortega 说到:“我一直认为可用的纹理工具从来没有像建模和雕刻应用程序那样受到同等的关注。作为一名Nuke用户,看到Nuke不断的更新和进展,让我感到很兴奋。当然,我相信Mari将成为一个长远发展应用程序。在如此短的时间内,又发布了1.3版,而且还包含了这么出色的新特性也证实了这一信念。” 

来了解Mari和Nuke如何帮助创建漫威的《雷神》的视觉特效,
帮助数字王国为《雷神》注入活力的Vfx ,3d绘画技术

Mari已经走进了世界各地的许多领先的工作室和机构,包括 FramestoreDouble NegativeAnimal Logic ,当然还有数字王国.

“我认为行业选择Nuke是有原因的,而这也是我认为Mari将会巩固自己作为每个想要长远发展的机构的必选纹理工具的地位。“Ortega总结道。

Sasaki补充说:“Mari和Nuke所拥有的独特功能,全都是出自真实行业实际需求,这正是艺术家对Foundry赞赏之处。”

如今已经新出了Nuke <> Mari bridge 桥接,该工具可以帮助艺术家解决在投影工作遇到的问缝合、拉伸以及遮挡等问题,并且更加强了两种产品之间快速、直观的工作流程。

Film and TV

Mari hammers out Thor

Thor. © 2011 MArvel Studios. All right reserved. Image courtesy of Digital Domain.

Digital Domain's Miguel Ortega and Minoru Sasaki turn to Mari when creating the visual effects for blockbuster Thor.

Academy Award® winning digital production studio Digital Domain is known for its innovative approach to content creation taking advantage of the latest developments in visual effects technology.

For the blockbuster Thor, Marvel Studios turned to Digital Domain to wow audiences with mind blowing visual effects and explosive action. Among the challenges faced by the team was the creation of Jotunheim, an intricate planet that is home to the Frost Giants. The complexity of the environments and characters meant that Mari was the only viable paint solution for the project.

Thor was the first project at Digital Domain to use Mari extensively, with Kelly Port serving as visual effects supervisor, Eric Fernandes as computer graphics supervisor and a fantastic team of artists in both Vancouver and Los Angeles.

Discover the software that brought the monsters in Thor to life

At Digital Domain’s Vancouver studio, model and texture lead Miguel Ortega and matte painter Minoru Sasaki describe their experiences using Mari on Thor.

Traditionally the team’s first step on a project of this size would be to break the assets into many parts:

“Segmenting the assets to paint them piece by piece caused a lot of mismatching and inconsistency across surfaces and, as we were unable to see the model as a whole when painting it, things could get tricky,” said Ortega. “Mari's ability to bring in heavy geometry and thousands of maps solved these problems. We were able to paint the model all together in context, saving us time and effort.”

Simultaneously, the matte painting team were discovering the benefits of Mari from a different perspective.

“I was helping texture on the project, even though I was predominantly matte painting for the duration of Thor. My original plans didn’t involve the use of Mari at all, however I ran into difficult textures that had slightly distorted UV layouts. This is usually quite time consuming to fix, but with Mari we had so few changes,” said Sasaki. “I simply had to load geo in Mari and paint over, and export each pass by pass. It was that simple. If we didn’t use Mari, we would have wasted far too much time fixing UVs.”

“As a digital matte painter I mainly use Photoshop for all painting; for handling CubeCart, I use Nuke. I’m mapping matte paint in Maya or Nuke, but now I also paint textures in Mari. My personal favorite feature in Mari is the flexible mask tools for 3D paint which help me work around previously tricky 3D paint challenges such as quickly covering large areas on models,” added Sasaki.

“I have always felt that the texturing tools available were never given the same sort of attention that modeling and sculpting applications received. Being a Nuke user myself and seeing the constant updates and progress Nuke receives has me excited – I know Mari is going to be treated as a serious application. The release of 1.3 with such great new features in such a short time confirms this belief,” said Ortega.

Find out how Mari and Nuke helped create Marvel's Thor
VFX and 3d painting techniques helped Digital Domain to breathe life into Thor

Mari has been put through its paces by a number of leading studios and facilities around the world including FramestoreDouble NegativeAnimal Logic and, of course, Digital Domain.

“I think the industry has chosen Nuke for a reason. That same reason is why I think Mari will solidify itself as the texture tool of every serious facility.” concluded Ortega.

Sasaki added, “Mari and Nuke have unique features that come from real industry experiences – that’s what artists appreciate about Foundry.”

A Nuke <> Mari bridge is also now available to help artists fix problems encountered with projection work including seaming, stretching and occlusion. It’s a quick, intuitive workflow between the two products.