关闭

关闭

数据分析将如何改善运动匹配?

在电影制作中,复杂的技术一直都是由完成复杂处理的雄心壮志而驱动的。 运动匹配“matchmoving”尤其如此,正是此技术真正实现了让计算机生成的图像(CGI)在插入到实拍镜头画面中的同时,依然保持了比例和运动的正确性。

运动匹配技术诞生于电影制作人希望动画人物在真人实拍环境中自由交互的想法。 自从《彼得的龙》(Peter's Dragon)和《谁陷害了兔子罗杰》(Who Framed Roger Rabbit)备受喜爱之后,此技术就在一直不断发展。与二十世纪70、80年代相比,在如今,电影中的CGI对于早已司空见惯,几乎都不再会引起观众的注意了。

然而,任何一位电影制片人都会告诉您这个过程其实不仅耗时,而且还充满了挫败感。那如果能有什么办法通过新技术,来改进这方面该有多好啊?


此刻已经有一位人士开始了这方面的尝试,他叫Alastair Barber。他正与DNEG、巴斯大学(University of Bath)一道合作,致力于借助数据分析和算法来改进运动匹配的过程。

Alaistair Barber

改进的空间

运动匹配之所以令人沮丧的一个原因在于,向场景中放置追踪摄像机通常是一个手动的过程。Barber的研究表明,运动匹配在整个视觉效果(VFX)生产线的总时间中占据了5%以上。即使已经专门采用了能承担大部分工作的软件,艺术家仍然还需要手动进行扩展。

“而我想要找到一种更好的方法,来追踪出摄像机的实际移动方式。”Barber告诉Foundry 趋势。“我最初想到的是在片场利用硬件来读取正在发生的情况,但电影片场是非常恶劣的环境。各种器材随时都在移动,而且剧组成员也没时间去尝试那些从没测试过的技术。”

很显然,他需要去寻求另一种替代性的方法。于是他转到了DNEG——这家拥有二十年历史的伦敦VFX和计算机动画工作室,这些年来,DNEG工作室创作了曾荣获奥斯卡奖项的《星际穿越》、《机器姬》、《银翼杀手2049》等众多作品。

“DNEG已经运作了一段时间了,”Barber说。“我非常确信这些年来的摄像机追踪方面估算是相当准确的。但是当我开始深入研究之后,才意识到我们真正需要处理的数据有多庞大。”

流程中的数据集和算法

借助算法完成加速

借助庞大的数据集来创建算法,让运动匹配的过程取得了显著的改进。但首先Barber必须弄清楚要提供什么(数据)。“我们不得不在片场中寻找东西,”他解释说。“例如摄像机的镜头类型、摄像机的移动速度、场景中发生的状况等。基本上,我们可以测量的任何东西。”

此外,他还考虑了视觉特效艺术家的自身需求。 即“流水线化” - 让不同类型的软件互相交流。“而且我们希望一切都能准备就绪,好让艺术家立即就能开始工作,”Barber说。当艺术家可以轻松访问这些详细的片场相关数据后,整个过程的速度就有了20%的提高。

其它方面的应用

运用数据集来提高工作室效率的思路,并不止于适用于运动匹配。Barber认为,转描(Rotoscoping)也将是流程中的下一个可改进部分。“该工作与运动匹配类似”他解释说,“而且从某种意义来讲,您必须在所有场景中重复同一项任务。只是根据影片中内容的不同,难度会有所变化。但在基于已有数据,来进一步提升应用效率这方面,依然有着巨大的潜力。”


但是,为了更广泛地采用,工作室必须说服客户,提供数据以进行研究。Barber认为这不应该太难。“当然具体而言,这将归结到客户与工作室之间的关系如何了。而且如果工作室能很好地了解片场的情况,那么就能更容易地阐释需要什么数据,以及为什么需要了。”

随着镜头元数据的存储逐渐变得轻松,我们再也没有理由不利用这些数据去配合算法和能从数据获益的工作流程了。而数据也将为各种规模的工作室带来令人兴奋的可能性,从而最终提高效率,并节省宝贵的时间。

Close

Close

.

How data analysis is improving matchmoving

In filmmaking, complex techniques are driven by complex ambitions. This is particularly true of matchmoving, which allows computer generated imagery (CGI) to be inserted into live-action footage while keeping scale and motion correct.     

Matchmoving has been born from a natural progression of filmmakers wanting animated characters to interact in live-action setting. From the likes of Pete’s Dragon and Who Framed Roger Rabbit? in the 1970s and ‘80s, the CGI matchmoving of today’s movies is now so commonplace that it almost goes unnoticed by audiences. 

However, as any filmmaker will tell you, the process can be time consuming and fraught with frustration. What if there was a way to improve this through technology?

One man who has tried to do just that is Alastair Barber, whose work with DNEG and the University of Bath focused on improving the matchmoving process using data analysis and algorithms.

Alaistair Barber

Room for improvement

One reason that matchmoving is so frustrating is because tracking camera placement within a scene is typically a manual process. Barber’s research suggests that matchmoving can take more than 5% of the total time spent on the entire visual effects (VFX) production pipeline. Even when using software designed to take up most of the grunt work, artists will be required to scale manually. 

“I wanted to find a better way to track how the camera actually moves,” Barber told Foundry Trends. “I thought initially about getting hardware on set that could read what was happening, but a film set is a pretty hostile environment. You’ve got equipment moving at all times, and crews who don’t have time to faff about with tech they’ve never tested before.”

Clearly, an alternative method was required. Step forward DNEG, the 20-year-old London VFX and computer animation studio, responsible for Academy Award-winning work on Inception, Interstellar, Ex Machina and Blade Runner 2049

“DNEG has been around for some time,” said Barber. “I was pretty sure the estimates on camera tracking it had collected over those years were fairly accurate, but when I started to dig deeper into it I realised how much data we really had to work with.”

Data sets and algorithms in the pipeline

Accelerating through algorithms 

Creating algorithms using this vast data set has lead to drastic improvements in the matchmoving process, but first Barber had to work out what to feed in. “We had to pick apart things on set,” he explained. “What type of lens is on the camera, how fast the camera is moving, what’s going on in the scene - basically, anything we could measure.”

He also considered the needs of the VFX artists themselves. ‘Streamlining’ - the process of getting different types of software to talk to each other - was found to be in demand. “We wanted everything to be ready to go so that the artist could start working straight away,” said Barber.  When an artist has easy access to detailed and relevant on-set data, Barber says the process takes place 20% faster.

Alternative applications

The idea of using data sets to improve studio efficiency does not stop at matchmoving. Barber believes rotoscoping is the next part of the pipeline where improvements can be made. “It’s very similar to matchmoving,” he explained, “in the sense that you have a task that has to be repeated across all footage but will vary in terms of difficulty based on what’s in the picture. There’s a lot of potential for further applications based on data we already have.”

However, for wider adoption to take place, studios will have to convince clients to let them delve into their data. Barber is optimistic that this shouldn’t be too difficult. “A lot of this comes down to the relationship between client and studio. If a studio has good access to what is happening on set, it’s easier to explain what they need and why without causing alarm.”

With metadata on shots able to be stored with relative ease, there’s no reason why the VFX pipeline can’t be continuously improved using algorithms and workflows that can take advantage of this data. Data holds exciting possibilities for studios of all sizes to boost efficiency and save valuable time. 

Contact Us