关闭

关闭

您会买由一台电脑设计的鞋子吗?

作者:Brendon Marczan

 

德赖斯•范诺顿(Dries van Noten)作为时尚界家喻户晓的大品牌,多年来一直是巴黎成衣系列展里的中流砥柱。其高端属性意味着您只能在像Bergdorf's、Liberty和Selfridges等奢侈品店或高端百货商店中才能找到其作品。早在我在时装学校的时代,便曾经有那么一段微妙的经历,一直让我吃惊了好长一段时间。他们的设计师采取了混搭印花、机器和手工刺绣的精致组合,并将双面的飞行员夹克配上了真丝的衬里。每一件作品都是那么的细致独特,从材料设计师到图案切割机、缝纫机械师的全体团队都在高度协作地定义着出色视觉。

当我走进德赖斯•范诺顿(Dries van Noten)的店面时,感受到了一种独特的感官体验。这不仅是精心挑选的木质镶板或独家面料所营造出的优雅,更是其背后的一段段故事,以及完美创意之后一双双巧手留下的感觉。当我把每件物品的面料贴在脸上(并被要求'请离开')时,我想知道机器自动化是否也会增强、改变或是消除这种情绪感受呢。

 

德赖斯•范诺顿

德赖斯•范诺顿 2019 春夏 (年度最开心的季节)

 

历史学家和社会评论家Yuval Harari将我对德赖斯品牌最新系列的情感反应归结为生物算法。假设该技术若能发展到了足够精通的程度,那么该算法应该能够被品牌加以处理,以便他们一遍又一遍地再现我的感觉。

在深入了解了Harari的论点之后,我对设计师终身都在学习各种图案的建议深感兴趣。图案是由一系列的经验所组成的模式,直到最近,我们都认为这些经历无法以数字化方式加以复制。一台机器怎么能够理解在最后一分钟改变了我想法的那个独特影响,并将拉丝铜金属孔眼换成激光切割孔呢?一个算法又怎么能知道现在'老爸鞋'(复古风)了应该流行了?或者甚至是否知道什么应该被称为'老爸鞋'呢? 互联网是否又会知道,每当我看到巴黎世家(Balenciaga)的最新款时,我会满屋子想到的都是它呢?

 

在金字塔前的女人和两个孩子

1980年时候的假期(那时,“老爸鞋”正处于鼎盛时期)

 

2017年,我听到了Yuval Noah Harari在伦敦发表的演讲。如果您还没有看过他的书,那您绝对得看一看了。 我上周还拜读了《金钱》(Money),我觉得那本书很好地总结了他在演讲中的看法。那是一本很薄的小书,当您在一个下午读完后,相信您肯定会感觉真的变聪明了。

Harari对于人工智能将会如何重塑我们未来创意的各种创新影响和评论总结让我感到喘不过气来。就在阅读该书的时候,让我想到了作为一名艺术家、设计师在一个日益自动化的世界中的价值所在。我们已经有了众多的算法,可以计算很多的东西,比如提示我们摄入的卡路里,找到从A点到B点的最快方式。那么计算机应该也可以了解我们如何设计,并根据我们的“独特”设计风格创建出一整个合理的系列吧。

在时尚界,计算机算法多年来一直在塑造着我们的设计和制造流程。数字化创建的服装版型已经通过算法组织成了“标记”,用以自动计算出所需的最少面料和自动切割器的最有效行程。而设计师们也从铅笔在纸上的游走,转为了对Adobe Illustrator 等2D CAD应用程序的操控。尽管这一路走来有着不少阻碍和反对(有人说,当灯光熄灭时,许多时尚品牌的走廊中便会听到疯狂的阻碍尖叫)。 然而早在专供线上销售的品牌存在之前,产品开发人员在设计中所用到的数字化辅助,早已经远比他们所意识到的要多了。

 

数字化的鞋子

Sergio Madeira + Brendon Marczan, 2018  (Modo + Colorway)

 

亚马逊在利用深度学习算法,去实现其在时尚领域的雄心壮志早已是公开的秘密。该公司一直在和业内人士合作,去尝试各种解决方案。例如通过扫描衣柜来向客户推荐喜好的服装,为客户建立身材档案,来让产品更加合身,从而降低退货率,并提高客户满意度。与此同时,这些解决方案还能让时装设计师控制其初始输出:打造趋势,运用色彩去构建造型以及决定面料等。

就在去年,《时代》杂志曾报道说,美发师和时装设计师将成为人工智能最后触及的行业(抱歉,美发师们,我从18岁就开始秃顶了,所以我不会为你们哭泣了)。随着自动驾驶汽车和语音识别辅助的普及,卡车司机和收银人员将感到前所未有的压力。

但如果是相反的状况呢?其实可能性是似乎更与设计师有关:他们已经拥有了一个令人难以置信的数字化数据集。大多数插图都是在基于坐标的系统(如Adobe Illustrator)中绘制的;设计师们几乎完全通过电子邮件和PLM进行沟通;他们还通过经整理的网站(如WGSN)来接收趋势信息,以便对视觉趋势信息进行排序、过滤和展示。而且他们与消费者的直接互动很少,一般都是借助分析繁重的在线体验来进行管理。

那么算法会是什么样的呢?将趋势中的图案提取出来,并将其应用于设计师以矢量形式创建的点和曲线的分析之中,再将其与颜色和材料的销售数据相结合,最后再将结果输出与来自世界各地和名人新闻相关的关键词进行交叉引用。最终,您就会得到这款采用厚实外底,其上面是针织和类白色风格的系带的柔美桃色的绒面革Puma鞋了。好吧,看来这个算法还需要一段时间的发展,以便做一个反讽刺的修正检测。不过,我想您也看到了如今所能取得的成就了。

在我担任设计师和技术专家期间,有一件看起来如此人性化和如此亲密的事情是......穿着测试。在某些时候,您所设计的产品,比如您认为是夏季最紧身的紧身衣(未来两年内),您确信不应该生产除了矢车菊蓝之外的任何颜色(这一点可以参考我过去史诗般的失败案例),产品需要紧贴身体,但身体还需要能够做一些物理扭曲和转身。因此,还需要有一定程度的交互,以确认产品是否舒适。这样的间隙是必要的。否则便成为了奇怪且不舒适的面板。而您需要的是将其打造为不仅人们想购买,而且还要想穿着的产品。


在本周刚刚发布了一篇精彩的白皮书,其中讨论了基于布料的模拟。这可以在穿着测试阶段之前,为设计师提供一些有价值的信息。也许将来会有一个算法,能够正确识别什么对象刚好非常适合了。

要放手让算法问您去做决定,还需要什么呢?

Netflix目前正在网站上播放一部关于德赖斯•范诺顿的纪录片,叫做《Dries》。有空就看看吧,如果只是为了他的花园(哦,好吧,谁会像他们那样从自己的花园采摘花呢)。 此外,Yuval Noah Harari的书《金钱》(Money)在所有好书店都有销售。

Close

Close

Would you buy shoes designed by a computer?

By Brendon Marczan

 

Dries van Noten is a household name in fashion circles and has been a mainstay on the Paris ready-to-wear circuit for many years. His high-end collections mean you’ll only find pieces in luxury boutiques or department stores like Bergdorf’s, Liberty and Selfridges but there is a subtle drama which has awed me for the longest time, back to my fashion school days; the unexpected way his designers blend prints, the delicate combination of machine and hand embroidery; reversible bomber jackets with silk linings. Each piece meticulously unique from the next that it seems only the collective characters from the material designer through to the pattern cutter and sewing machinist could have collaboratively defined the vision. 

When I walk into a Dries van Noten store, it’s a sensory experience, not only from the elegance of the carefully chosen wood panelling or the exclusive fabrics but instead by the story and knowing how many hands had touched each perfect idea. As I rub the cloth of every item against my face (and am asked to ‘please leave’), I do wonder if machine automation would enhance, change or remove this emotional sensation.

 

Dries Van Noten

Dries van Noten, Spring Summer 2019 (the happiest season of the year)

 

Historian and social commentator, Yuval Harari, is one voice that attributes my emotional response for Dries’ latest collection to a biological algorithm and if we assume that the technology will become proficient enough, that algorithm should be able to be processed by brands so that they can recreate the sensation for me over and over again.

Diving into Harari’s arguments, I’m intrigued by the suggestion that designers have learned patterns throughout their life. Patterns that are made up of a series of experiences that, until recently, we believed were unable to be replicated digitally. How could a machine be able to understand the unique influences that changed my mind at the very last minute and swapped out the brushed copper metal eyelets for a laser-cut holes? How could an algorithm know that it was the right time bring back 'dad-shoes’? Or that they should even be called 'dad shoes’? Does the interweb know that I think of Full House every time I look at Balenciaga’s latest kicks?

 

Woman and two children and a pyramid

1980’s holidays (when ‘Dad Shoes’ were last at their peak)

 

In 2017, I heard Yuval Noah Harari speak in London - if you haven’t read any of his books, do yourself a favour. I read ‘Money’ last week and I think it sums up his thoughts from the talk quite well - it’s also a physically small book so it makes you feel real smart when you get through it in one afternoon.

The way Harari consolidates a wide array of innovation influences and comments on the idea of artificial intelligence reshaping our futures continues to leave me breathless. It was reading this book that got me thinking about the value of an artist or designer in a world that is increasingly becoming automated. We have algorithms calculating patterns for so many things, prompting us with our calories intake and finding the fastest way from A to B. It makes sense that a computer could learn how we design and potentially create a whole collection based on our ‘unique’ design style.

In the fashion world, computer algorithms have been shaping our design and manufacturing processes for years. The garment patterns that we digitally create are already organised by an algorithm into a ‘marker’, calculating the least amount of fabric required and the most efficient journey for the automatic cutter. Designers moved from pencil on paper to 2D CAD applications like Adobe Illustrator albeit with some kicking and screaming along the way (some say the screams of resistance are still heard in the hallways of many fashion brands when the lights are out). Before online-only brands existed, product developers were designing with more digital assistance than they most likely realised. 

 

Digital shoe

Sergio Madeira + Brendon Marczan, 2018  (Modo + Colorway)

 

Amazon has been not-so-secretly developing deep-learning algorithms for their fashion ambitions for some time with industry insiders speculating about solutions including scanning your closet to suggest what you like, creating a shape profile and improving the fit of products to reduce returns and increase customer satisfaction. These solutions still keep the fashion designer in control of the initial output: formulating trends, building shapes with color and deciding on materials. 

Even as recent as last year, Time magazine was reporting that Hair Dressers and Fashion Designers would be the very last type of employment to be touched by artificial intelligence (sorry hairdressers, I've been balding since 18 years old so I'm not shedding tears for you yet). With the prevalence of self-driving cars and voice-recognition assistance, truck drivers and check-out staff had never felt so much pressure. 

But what if it were the other way around. The odds do seem to be against the designer: they have an already incredibly digitised dataset with most illustrations drafted in a coordinate based system like Adobe Illustrator; they communicate almost entirely via email and PLM; and they receive trend data through websites already taught to sort, filter and display visual trend information like from WGSN. Their interaction directly with the consumer is minimal, often managed through an analytic-heavy online experience. 

What would the algorithm look like? Take patterns in the trend, apply them to analytics from how designers have always created points and curves in vector form, combine that with sales data on color and material, cross-reference the output with keywords from world and celebrity news and voila, you have a pastel peach Puma suede with a chunky outsole, knitted upper and five Off-White style cable-ties. Ok, so maybe it will take a little while for the algorithm to detect irony but you see what I'm getting at.

During my time as a designer and technologist, one thing that seemed so human and so intimate was… the wear-test. At some point, the product that you've designed, that you believe is the tightest silhouette for Summer (two years from now), that you are convinced should never be produced in any color other than cornflower blue (reference to an epic fail from my past), needs to be stuck on a body and that body needs to do some physical twisting and turning. An amount of interaction needs to confirm that a product is comfortable. That the padding is right. That the weird panel doesn't cut into the skin. That it's a product that someone would not only want to buy, but also to wear. 

A fantastic white paper was released this week addressing friction in cloth-based simulations which could provide some valuable  input to a designer prior to the wear-testing stages. Maybe an algorithm could correctly identify when something fit just right. 

What would it take for you to let the algorithm decide?

Netflix is currently showing a documentary about Dries van Noten on Netflix called ‘Dries’. Watch it, if only for his garden (oh, come on, who actually picks flowers like that from their own garden). Yuval Noah Harari’s book ‘Money’ is available in all good bookstores.