关闭

关闭

企业是解锁VR潜力的关键吗?

实话说,虚拟现实(VR)有着混杂的历史。最近几个月里,Foundry 趋势充分考虑了其具备的潜力以及最大化潜力时所需要面对的挑战。

VR主要与娱乐 - 如游戏、电影以及沉浸式体验相关。不过很明显,由于设备一般都体积庞大且价格昂贵,因此导致主流采用速度很慢。

计算机媒介体验(如VR)的真相是,此项技术其实有着更加广泛的应用方式。来自创意工作室Nice Shoes的创意指导Tom Westerlin,以及执行制片 Angela Bowen在开车回家时,与我们谈到了这一点。

“VR正在开辟各种企业机会。目前,我们正在为卡塔尔国家博物馆进行大规模的建筑工程,我们正在使用VR帮助我们的内部团队以及客户,来更好地理解在实际空间中的视觉化效果。”Bowen说道。

“企业正在将大量资金投入到物理空间方面,以期望实际了解在建造物体时会有怎样的体验,而且这方面的兴趣正越来越浓厚。”

这个案例清晰地展现了VR在企业中的应用,很明显的一点是随着技术的发展,商业应用将会进一步的继续扩展。

Nice Shoes

 

“人们将越来越多地看到,在目前占据的空间中创造出一个新世界会是多么的有用,”Westerlin说到。 “即使当一方在伦敦,而另一方在纽约,能够与“同一”地点的人们闲逛,甚至举行会议将会有着巨大的价值。”

目前,这类工作仍处于起步阶段。虽然像Nice Shoes这样的公司已经能够展示其在大型项目中的应用 - 例如向眼镜商销售眼镜架的沉浸式体验,但还需要完成更多的工作,才能使其成为在商业世界中司空见惯的买卖。

“此外,一个反复出现的挑战是需要能充分阐明其所能带来的投资回报率,并进行此项工作背后的深度研究。是否该关注人们在体验中所花费的时间?是否已达到了参与和互动的水平?这些方面仍需要进一步的商定。”Westerlin 说到。

当然,制定投资回报率及其可衡量的精确方法对创意产业来说一直都是长期的挑战,VR并非特例。但是,正如Bowen 解释过的那样,这并不会阻止了VR的进步,因为其价值最终将会体现在所创造的体验质量之上。

“我们甚至没有想过(VR)会变得无处不在,但这仍将取决于提供的内容的质量。我们想要的是让人们进入VR世界,并在其中多待一段时间,同时还受到了娱乐和教育。”她说, “我们已经将创意标杆设置得非常高了。而且我们相信,最终将会进一步推动对沉浸式体验的投资。”

Close

Close

.

Is enterprise the key to unlocking VR’s potential?

It’s fair to say that virtual reality (VR) has had a mixed history. In recent months Foundry Trends has contemplated both the potential it carries and the challenges in maximising that potential.

VR is primarily associated with entertainment – gaming, film, immersive experiences – and it’s clear that mainstream adoption on these fronts has been slow—not least because the equipment is often bulky and expensive.

The truth about computer-mediated experiences such as VR is that they can be applied in much broader ways. This is a point Tom Westerlin, Creative Director, and Angela Bowen, Executive Producer, at creative studio Nice Shoes, drove home when we spoke to them recently.

“VR is opening up all kinds of enterprise opportunities. We’re working on a massive architectural undertaking for the National Museum of Qatar, and we’re using VR to help our internal team as well as our client understand what the visuals will look like at scale in the space,” Bowen said.

“There’s growing appetite among businesses investing large sums into physical spaces to actually get a sense of what they’re going to experience when those are built.”

This example clearly points to how VR is already being applied in enterprise but it’s clear that, as the technology develops, its use in business can extend much further.

Nice Shoes

 

“People will increasingly see how useful it is to create a new world in the space they currently occupy,” said Westerlin. “There’s enormous value in being able to hang out, or even conduct meetings, with people in the ‘same’ location, even when one party is in London and the other is in New York.”

At present, this type of work is still in its infancy. While companies such as Nice Shoes have already been able to demonstrate its use in large scale projects – such as an immersive experience selling glasses frames to opticians – more work is required to generate the kind of buy-in that will make it commonplace in the business world.

“A recurring challenge has been in fully articulating ROI and working out how to put analytics behind this work. Is it simply the amount of time people spend in the experience? Is it in levels of engagement and interaction? These are aspects that still need to be agreed upon,” Westerlin said.

Of course, working out return on investment and the precise ways in which it can be measured has been a perennial challenge for the creative industries—and not just with VR. But, as Bowen explained, this doesn’t halt VR’s progress because the value is ultimately seen in the quality of experiences created.

“We’re not even scratching surface of how ubiquitous this is going to become, but this will rely on the quality of content on offer. What we want is for people to enter the VR world and stay there for a while, being entertained and educated at the same time,” she said. “We’re setting the creative bar incredibly high—and in the end, this is what will drive up investment in immersive experiences.”