关闭

关闭

为什么众多品牌都在运用3D更快地进入市场?

作者  Brendon Marczan

快,加快, 继续加快!

如果您曾在任何一个社交媒体渠道上关注了我一段时间,那您就会知道我从不会呆在家中。我会从衰败的花园中发帖,也会在北美各地访问期间的星巴克机场中发帖。凭借着可信赖的North Face帆布背包和Smythson笔记本环游世界两年后(是的,我的笔记本很花哨,你也可以搞一台),我对几乎所有大品牌的关注点作了深入的探究,相信我的得出结论肯定能让您在深夜中依然毫无睡意。

3D设计

重点在于速度。

设计师总在担心他们没能及时跟上趋势。因为没有时间去开发新的东西,所以开发人员不得不选择“在市场上可用”的面料 。而经销商存在的问题是,工厂无法以满意的速度将产品送到门店中来。营销团队则害怕没能在某些名人和事件正处于风头时成功借势,从而错过了营销的热点。

随着我们即时满足型的文化越来越需要快速充分的剖析想法,并立即分发到消费者渠道之中,设计越来越接近发布时间,速度正变得比以往任何时候都更加重要了。我们现在也看到了这种病毒式的设计风格正在给时尚和运动服装品牌带来了巨大压力。

一周内从设计到网络

在我们合作的许多品牌中,一个新概念悄然而生:一周内从设计到网络。

想象一下,周二点击了您的Insta feed(注:照片墙),在Kanye上看到那个柠檬绿的fluoro面料毛衣,然后您便可以在仍然超级兴奋,但不太确定Jackson Hole究竟是谁时,在几天内就预订好那件荧光绿色的毛衣。这不再是一个空想了,部分品牌已经采取跨越式的方法做到了这一点。借助超及真实的3D模型在线替换了样品的照片。而消费者们则可以在看到这些模型后,立即下单预定。这样生成的画面轻松的模糊了真实与虚拟的界限。我曾看到了一些令人难以置信的案例,连我都无法区分它们。

Jackson Hole, Wyoming: Kanye territory

Jackson Hole, Wyoming: Kanye territory

准确得到厚实的外底轮廓,并按时进入门店到底有多重要? 将我们熟知的传统的18个月的样品和生产时间表,与竞争对手在4天内完成设计、商品化,并交付给客户对比一下看看?

是的,当然会瑟瑟发抖....

停下, 协作并聆听

组建一个能在几天内提供闪电般快速渲染的团队,对于更广泛的产品设计世界而言并非新鲜事物。工业设计师拥有着瑞士军刀般繁多的软件程序,而且他们的整个教育经历都是专注于创作精密的模型和图表。但对于时尚和运动服装行业来说,这还是一个全新的概念。设计师们同样缺少设计时间,例如,设计一台新的烤面包机(我曾经购买过烤面包机,就可以将Hello Kitty的图案烧到面包上,我希望这么说我没有冒犯到无处不在的烤面包机设计师)。
设计师。

鞋类设计师需要草图的流动性,颜色和材料开发人员需要能灵活地进行迭代,商家们则需要有机会参与分析。我们非常幸运地拥有专家合作伙伴来帮助我们改进和调整3D应用程序Modo和Colorway,为用户增添动力。 Shoe-samurai正在使用Modo的MeshFusion创建超级真实的工具,而Colorway则可以很方便的发布数百套营销就绪的图像,无需再等待计算机赶上变化。这种让软件去完成艺术家艰难工作的方式,也得到了回报,现在品牌中的其它部门也都注意到了。

MeshFusion

Ellery Connell创作的MeshFusion魔法作品《Modo Whisperer》

实时协作正变得越来越重要,而我们使用的系统和软件也更需要智能连接,以便我们能够a)协同工作,b)减少工作中的错误。试想一下,让你的整个机构以及团队成员为加速从设计到销售的过程做出贡献 - 找到阻碍点,并权衡团队的价值与抓住消费者机会的重要性。这在促进组织变革方面,将是一项非常具有启发性的工作。

别再裹足不前了,试一下吧

我总是告诉别人 - 3D不简单,你也会犯错。虽然有些人会发现(3D)给他们的日常生活带来的变化十分具有挑战性,但很多人则会像海绵一样吸收这种新的数字语言(他们可能是才22岁,在周一从来不会宿醉- 不,我确实很痛苦)。如果您创建了一个敏捷的工作环境,能够在出错时提供灵活性,您就可以开始在时间线上看到切实的变化了。

更重要的是您需要从某个地方开始上手,不过,凭借着不断增长的3D社区所带来的强大支持,如今正是上手的最佳时机了。

我本周将参加米兰的PI Apparel,此外我将在10月参加FDRA鞋类设计峰会,并在11月参加深圳举办的FMNII鞋类创新峰会。

不过,您随时都可以通过电子邮件或在当地的星巴克机场与我取得联系。

Close

Close

Why are brands using 3D to get to market faster?

By Brendon Marczan

Fast, faster, fastest

If you've been connected to me on any social media channel for a while, you'll know that I'm never at home, not just from posts of my dying garden but also from my various visits to airport Starbucks across North America. After two years of travelling around the world with my trusty North Face rucksack and Smythson notebook (yeah, my notebooks are fancy, get over it), I've got a pretty good idea of what concerns almost every brand and keeps you up at night.

3D Design

That concern is speed.

Designers are worried that they won't pick up a trend on time. Developers are sick of having to choose fabrics 'available in the market' because they've run out of time to develop something new. Merchandisers have the issue that factories won't be able to deliver to store fast enough. Marketing teams are fearful of missing the mark and not reacting to a celebrity influencer while something is still fresh.

Designing closer and closer to launch has become more important than ever before as our instant gratification culture demands adequate dissection of an idea and immediate distribution to consumer channels. We're now seeing this style of viral-meme-designing which is putting extraordinary pressure on fashion and sportswear brands to deliver.

Design to web within a week

In quiet corners at many of the brands we work with, a new phrase has been born: design to web within a week.

Imagine flicking through your Insta feed on Tuesday and seeing that fluoro, lime green sweater on Kanye and then being able to pre-order fluoro green kicks within a few days while you're still super-excited and also relatively unsure about what a Jackson Hole actually is. It's not a dream anymore and some brands have taken the leap to covertly start doing just that, replacing photographs of samples online with hyper-realistic 3D models that consumers will see for pre-sale. The imagery easily blurs the lines of reality and I've seen some incredible examples where I was unable to tell the difference.

Jackson Hole, Wyoming: Kanye territory

Jackson Hole, Wyoming: Kanye territory

How important has it been for you to get the chunky outsole silhouette right and into store on time? Now take a traditional 18 month sample and production timeline that we all know so well and put it up against your competitor who designed, merchandised and delivered their idea directly to their customer in 4 days.

Yes, you should be scared.

Stop, collaborate and listen

Creating a team that can deliver lightning-fast renders in a few days isn't all that new to the wider product design world. Industrial designers have a Swiss-army knife of software programs and their entire education history is focused on producing precision models and diagrams. But it is a new concept for the fashion and sportswear industries who don't have the same luxury of time of someone designing, say, a new toaster (I once purchased a toaster that burnt Hello Kitty's face onto bread so I hope I haven't just horribly offended toaster designers everywhere).

Footwear designers need the fluidity of sketching, color & material developers need the flexibility to iterate, merchandisers need the chance to analyse. We've been incredibly lucky to have expert partners to help us improve and adapt our 3D applications Modo and Colorway, supercharging their users along the way. Shoe-samurai's are using Modo's MeshFusion to create the most surreal tooling while Colorway can fire out hundreds of marketing-ready images without having to wait for your computer to catch up. This focus on making software work harder for the artist is paying off and we're now seeing other departments in a brand take notice.

MeshFusion

MeshFusion magic made by the 'Modo Whisperer' himself, Ellery Connell

Live collaboration has become more and more relevant and the systems and software we use needs to connect intelligently so that we can a) work in unison and b) work with less and less error. Think about your whole organisation and the ways that they can contribute to accelerating the process from design to sale - find the blockers and weigh their value against the importance of missing an opportunity with a consumer. It can be a really enlightening exercise in facilitating organisational change.

Stop being such a baby and just try it

I always tell people - 3D is hard and you're going to get things wrong. Some people are going to find a change to their daily routine really challenging and others will suck up this new digital language like a sponge (they'll probably be 22 and never seem to have a hangover on Monday - not that I'm bitter). If you create an agile working environment that allows flexibility when mistakes are made, you can start to see tangible changes to your timeline.

The important takeaway is, you need to start somewhere and, with the ever-growing 3D community providing so much support, it's the perfect time to dive right in.

I'm at PI Apparel in Milan this week, FDRA's Footwear Design Summit in October, and FMNII’s Footwear Innovation Summit Shenzhen in November but you can always catch me on email... or at your local airport Starbucks.