Nuke和Ocula 出色应对《创:战纪》的挑战

© Disney Enterprises, Inc. 保留所有权利

来自数字王国(Digital Domain)的Paul Lambert和Shervin Shoghian一同谈论了他们在《 创:战纪》中的工作。

作为数字制作技术的演示作品,《创:战纪》从最初阶段就被设定为了3D立体电影。而且影片的设定是在黑暗且带有反射的CG环境中。为此,数字王国克服了生产中的巨大挑战,最终将网络世界以一种既反映出真实世界的感觉,又仍然忠于计算机模拟的现实方式立体化的呈现了出来。


数字王国完成了电影中的许多典型桥段,这其中包括Disc Game、Light Cycle Battle、Light Jet Battle和Portal Climax序列,这些序列的镜头数达到了该片1,565个总镜头数中的800多个以上。此外,工作室还与世界各地的一些外包伙伴进行合作,其中包括Prime Focus、Prana Studios以及Mr.X等。

Nuke

要将众多元素、资产和效果融合在一起,创造出充满高对比荧光效果和反射的黑暗数字世界是一项复杂的工作,出于对Nuke及其3D功能的精通,数字王国对实现这一目标有着充分的自信。

Nuke是数字王国的合成流程基础,所有参与《创:战纪》制作的工作室也都转而使用Nuke进行合成。由此,他们可以轻松进行交互,并确保在整部影片中具有一致的视觉效果。

探寻《创:战纪》中视觉特效的幕后软件

数字王国的合成组长Paul Lambert评论道:“我已经使用Nuke7年了,所有的2D类工作全都是由它处理的。而且在Nuke内创作立体影片,也可以无缝转换。因此,这种项目Nuke肯定是最理想的软件包了。

Shervin Shoghian是数字王国的温哥华工作室的合成负责人,他们完成了160个镜头的工作。他补充道,“运用Nuke来操控立体画面非常直观,而且其先进程度一定如您所愿。这对于从事本项目的每个人来说,都非常宝贵。各种常用节点,如Nuke中的调光节点,也能很轻松地分割为左眼和右眼视图,并相应地分别调整。这对于转描(roto)和绘画部门尤其有用。因为他们只用对一个视图进行转描,然后将图板分开,再将之前的转描粘贴到另一个视图并微调一下就可以了。”

在工作流程确立以后,数字王国设置了一些Nuke工具、视觉预设(Look preset)以及Gizmos,以便帮助在整个影片中保持一致的视觉效果。由于是黑暗的环境,所以摄影师Claudio Miranda和导演Joseph Kosinski将《创:战纪》以非常浅的景深和广阔视角的方式来拍摄。为此,数字王国设计了一个跟焦工具,以便在整个项目中很好的匹配CG作品。此外,他们还专门设置了一些工具来纠正服装和道具设置中的发光线条。对此,Shoghian解释道,这些光线通常都需要加强。“有时候我们可以直接把光线抠出来,但如果服装上的灯光熄灭等情况出现了,那就得通过转描来分离出来了。”

《创:战纪》中CGI图像的之前和之后对比
Nuke和Ocula给《创:战纪》带来眼花缭乱的立体视觉效果

Ocula

影片采用了具有镜像装置的Sony F35摄像机进行拍摄,《创:战纪》是数字王国的首个以3D立体方式拍摄的大型项目。在现代立体摄像机装配的多个类型中,通过附加光学器件得到的视图,通常其中一个视图相比于另一个视图会缺失或明显的减少了反射。此外,依据镜头的性质不同,这还有可能会降低立体3D体验的舒适度。

“虽然这只不过是物理现象,” Paul Lambert解释说,“但远不是在调光处理中就能直接纠正的,补偿修复这种效果所需的校正过程非常复杂 - 场景中的所有对象都需要进行不同的校正,而且效果还需要随镜头的变化而变化。”

“因为片场中的所有对象都有着明显光泽和反光,因此每个图板画面都需要进行垂直对准和偏振修复。”面临了开发立体3D工作流程以简化这些程序,以及处理项目中其它立体问题等巨大挑战的Lambert补充道。

Lambert深入研究了解决色差问题的工具和技术。但由于光泽和反射对《创:战纪》的视觉效果非常关键,因此,问题也变得特别棘手。在使用Ocula的原有ColorMatcher取得了有限的成果之后,Lambert开始咨询Foundry的研发团队,双方一起合作改进了ColorMatcher,从而更精确地处理好了这些问题。Foundry的研究团队喜欢接受挑战,并且乐于与Lambert团队紧密合作寻找解决方案。双方合作努力的成果便是让Ocula的色彩匹配能力得到了显著改善,并最终作为Ocula 2.1的一部分进入了商业产品之中。

Lambert评论说:“我们与Foundry的研发部门紧密合作,一同优化了Ocula的ColorMatcher,最终而更精确地处理好了这些问题。尽管Ocula还从来没有在3d立体影片中运用到这个程度,但事实证明,这对于我们的团队来说,真是一笔不菲的资产。以后要是没有Ocula,我可不会再做立体项目了。

数字王国花费了大量的时间来完善立体3D流程,并取得了成功。他们的整体性方法在整个项目中产生了巨大的生产力。之后,艺术家们只是花了几天的时间,就完成最终的立体3D版的镜头。

Nuke and Ocula tackle the challenges of TRON: Legacy

© Disney Enterprises, Inc. All rights Reserved

Digital Domain's Paul Lambert and Shervin Shoghian talk about their work on TRON: Legacy.

A showcase for digital production technology, TRON: Legacy was conceived as a stereoscopic 3D movie from its earliest stage. Set in a dark and reflective CG environment, Digital Domain overcame significant production challenges to realise a stereoscopic cyber universe that achieved a real-world feeling yet remained true to the realities of computer simulation.

Digital Domain completed many of the film’s signature sequences including the Disc Game, Light Cycle Battle, Light Jet Battle and Portal Climax sequences, which amounted to over 800 of the film’s 1,565 shots. The studio also collaborated with a number of outsource partners around the world, including Prime Focus, Prana Studios and Mr. X, on the remaining share.

Nuke

Pulling together the numerous elements, assets and effects to create a dark and reflective digital realm filled with contrasting fluorescence was a complex job, but Digital Domain’s knowledge of Nuke and its 3D capabilities provided confidence that they could make it happen.

Nuke is the foundation of Digital Domain’s compositing pipeline, and all the studios that worked on TRON: Legacy switched to Nuke for compositing so they could interact easily and ensure a continuous look throughout the film.

Discover the software behind the VFX on TRON: Legacy

Paul Lambert, compositing supervisor at Digital Domain, comments “I’ve been using Nuke for 7 years and wouldn’t do any 2D work without it. Dealing with stereo inside of Nuke is seamless, which makes it an ideal package for a project like this.

Shervin Shoghian was a compositing lead at Digital Domain’s Vancouver studio, where they completed work on 160 shots, and he adds, “Nuke's ability to work with stereo footage is straightforward, but it can be as advanced as you need it to be. This proved invaluable for everyone working on this project. The frequently used nodes, such as the grade nodes in Nuke, make it easy to split the left and right eyes and adjust each one accordingly. This was especially useful for the roto and paint departments as they could roto one eye, split the plate, paste the roto and adjust for the other eye.”

Once their workflow was established, Digital Domain set up several Nuke tools, look presets and gizmos to help maintain a consistent look throughout the film. Because of the dark environments, cinematographer Claudio Miranda and director Joseph Kosinski shot wide open footage for TRON: Legacy with a very shallow depth of field, and Digital Domain set up a follow focus tool for matching CG work throughout the project. They also set up tools to correct the glow lines on the costumes and practical sets. These lights and glows would normally need to be enhanced, explains Shoghian. “Sometimes we could just key the glow, but in other instances the lights on the costumes went out and had to be rotoscoped back in.

Before and after imagery of the CGI on TRON: Legacy
Dazzling stereoscopic VFX created for TRON with Nuke and Ocula

Ocula

Shot using a mirrored camera setup with Sony F35 cameras, TRON: Legacy was the first large-scale project for Digital Domain that was shot in stereo-3D. On most modern stereoscopic camera rigs, the additional optics result in one of the views having missing or significantly diminished reflections, compared to the other view. Depending on the nature of the shot, this can degrade the comfort of the stereo-3D experience.

“It’s just physics,” explains Paul Lambert, “but far from being something that can be corrected in a straightforward fashion in the grade, the corrections needed to compensate for this effect are very intricate - all objects in the scene need different corrections and the effects vary as a shot plays through.”

“Every plate needed a vertical alignment and polarization fix because everything on the set was so shiny and reflective.” adds Lambert, who faced the huge challenge of developing a stereo-3D workflow to simplify these procedures and the other stereoscopic challenges on the project.

As part of his research, Lambert investigated tools and techniques to fix the issues with color disparity, which were particularly difficult because of the sheen and reflections that are so key to the look of TRON. After using Ocula's ColorMatcher with limited results, he began consulting with Foundry’s R&D Team and they collaborated to improve ColorMatcher to deal with these issues more accurately. Foundry’s research team loves a challenge and relished the opportunity to work closely with Lambert’s team to find a solution. The resulting development effort made a significant improvement to Ocula's color-matching abilities, and was rolled into the commercial product as part of Ocula 2.1.

Lambert comments, “I was able to work closely with Foundry’s R&D department to refine Ocula's ColorMatcher to deal with these issues more accurately and, even though it had never been used to this extent on a stereo-3D film, it proved to be a tremendous asset to our team. I wouldn’t do another stereo project without Ocula.”

Digital Domain invested a huge amount of time perfecting a stereo 3D pipeline, and it paid off. Their overall approach resulted in great productivity throughout the project with artists taking a few days to complete final stereo-3D versions of their shots.