实现真正的VR沉浸感:尽在眨眼之间

长期以来,密切关注VFX行业的人们一直在等待着真正意义上的沉浸式VR体验的出现。近年来,大众普遍认为增强现实(AR)已经取得了最有意义的收益,并在游戏、社交媒体等各方面已经变得越来越普遍。

然而,即使屡次受到一系列关键限制的困扰,人们对VR的兴趣却一直并未减弱。这些限制因素中的首要挑战之一便是开发人员需要能让人们在虚拟环境中自由的进行移动。

汉堡大学的人机交互小组博士候选和研究助理Eike Langbehn,告诉Foundry 趋势: “许多目前流行的位移技术,例如(虚拟世界中的)远程传送,根本不能提供出创造完美虚拟幻觉所需的质量水平,很难让人们感到是在探索虚拟景观,” 

Langbehn是上周在温哥华举办的SIGGRAPH(世界上最重要的VFX行业盛会)上发表的一篇新论文的作者。他解释说,真正有助于将体验变为现实的方法,是让人们能够通过步行在虚拟世界中去自由的发现和体验。

“行走是最自然的运动形式,能带来很多好处。不仅能让用户在环境中体验到更真实的存在感和更好的空间感,并且至关重要的一点是不太可能造成体验中的眩晕。而眩晕一直是在使用游戏手柄和操纵杆等设备时的常见问题。

VR体验图

克服现有障碍

现如今的另一个主要障碍是,除非人们能将整个仓库用于VR体验,否则能行走的真实世界空间往往受到极大的限制。不过,我们在SIGGRAPH上发布的另一篇技术论文中已探讨过,现有技术,如重定向行走(redirectect wallking RDW)则确实可以延长行走时间。

Langbehn及其同事的灵感来自之前对RDW的研究。该研究建议利用人们在功能失明期间的短暂时刻,例如在扫视期间(当我们的眼睛自然地在视觉点之间快速移动时)旋转VR景观,由此避免让用户感知到旋转。从而给用户造成一直在保持直线行走的错觉。但实际上则是引导并弯曲了行走的实际路径,从而使观众保持在了现实世界的特定范围之内。

“我们从一些同事的研究测量中,发现了可以在扫视期间引入(但不会被察觉)的旋转量”他补充说。 “之后,我们发现眨眼可能是一个完成旋转的更合适时机。毕竟眨眼将会更容易侦测,并且也会持续更长的时间。”

而这也将是高级硬件的用武之地。眼动仪(眼睛追踪器)可以集成在头戴显示之中,用以追踪用户的眼球运动。当跟踪器未能观察到眼睛的时间达到了300毫秒时,即“检测到了”眨眼,便可以进行虚拟相机的旋转或移位了。此外,Langbehn还研究发现,用户并不会注意到大约五度的旋转和高达八厘米的平移,只要充分利用这一点就能创建出更加无缝的体验了。

VR 处理
VR头戴显示

用户的重定向一小步,VR的一大步

显然, VR要成为一种深度沉浸式体验仍有大量工作要做,但此技术已经朝着这个方向迈出了重要一步。 Langbehn告诉我们,虽然单独利用眨眼功能并不足以在小型追踪空间内实现无限制地行走,但它肯定将会是解决方案中的一部分。

“我们已经展示了在眨眼期间进行重定向,此技术已经能将重定向步行量提高50%。再与其他几种技术,例如在扫视期间引入重定向、智能路径预测和压缩算法结合使用后,将会提供很棒的体验。总体来说,虽然由于眨眼和扫视,我们整个视觉输入中的大约10%被抑制了。然而这方面却反而有着巨大的潜力。”

接下来的步骤是至少必须从某个方面,例如首先从硬件方面着手发展。毕竟目前的头戴显示通常都没有内置眼动仪。除此之外,在硬件方面的其它挑战依然存在。例如大多数可供购买的眼动追踪器往往价格昂贵、体积庞大且容易出现故障。

下一代的头戴显示将有望在某种程度上解决这些问题。对于用户而言,同样也需要更多的耐心。 如果这个突破是关键所在,那么一切当然值得等待了。

想更多地了解科学家们如何在努力创造更加身临其境的VR体验吗?来看看在今年SIGGRAPH上发表的另一篇精彩论文的解读文章吧。

Close

Close

Reaching true VR immersion: one blink at a time

The emergence of a truly immersive VR experience has long been awaited by those who keep close tabs on the VFX industry. In recent years, it could be argued that augmented reality (AR) has made the most meaningful gains, becoming ever more prevalent in everything from gaming to social media.

Yet interest in VR has not waned. It has simply been frustrated time and again by a set of key limitations. One of these is the challenge developers face in allowing people to move in a virtual environment.

“Many popular locomotion techniques used to date, such as teleportation, simply don’t provide the level of quality required to create the illusion in users that they are really exploring a virtual landscape,” Eike Langbehn, a doctoral candidate and research associate at the Human-Computer Interaction group at the University of Hamburg, told Foundry Trends

Langbehn is author of a new paper introduced at SIGGRAPH - the world’s foremost VFX industry event - in Vancouver last week. What would really help bring the experience to life, he explains, is enabling people to simply find their way in the virtual world by walking.

“Walking is really the most natural form of locomotion, and it offers a lot of benefits. Users experience a higher sense of presence and better spatial knowledge within that environment, and - crucially - they are less likely to experience motion sickness - a common problem when devices such as gamepads and joysticks are used.” 

VR experience diagram

Overcoming existing barriers

One major stumbling block here is that, barring those who can dedicate entire warehouses to VR, the real-world space in which users can walk tends to be highly constrained. As we explore in another article looking at the technical papers released at SIGGRAPH, existing techniques such as redirected walking (RDW) do allow for extended periods of walking. 

Langbehn and his colleagues were inspired by previous research on RDW that suggested exploiting brief moments when people are functionally blind, such as during saccades (when our eyes naturally make rapid movements between visual points), to rotate the VR landscape without that being detected by the user - maintaining the illusion of walking in a straight line but curving their actual path to keep them within the confines of the real world. 

“We saw research from some colleagues that measured the amount of unnoticeable rotation it is possible to introduce during a saccade,” he added. “It then occurred to us that blinks might provide an even more opportune moment to make the rotations - they are easier to detect and last much longer.”

This is where advanced hardware comes in. An eye-tracker is integrated within a headset to follow the eye of the user. When the tracker fails to observe the presence of an eye for at least 300 milliseconds, a blink is ‘detected’, and the virtual camera is rotated or shifted. Langbehn found that rotations of approximately five degrees and translations of up to eight centimetres are not noticed by users, and can create a more seamless experience.

VR process
VR head set

 One small redirected step for the user, one giant leap for VR

It’s clear that there is still plenty of work to be done to make VR a deeply immersive experience, but this could be a significant move in that direction. Langbehn tells us that, while exploiting blinks alone will not be enough to enable unlimited walking in small tracking spaces, it certainly forms part of the solution.

“We showed that redirection during blinks can improve redirected walking by fifty percent. When combined with several other techniques, such as introducing redirection during saccades, smart path prediction and compression algorithms, it offers some wonderful experiences. In total, due to blinks and saccades, approximately 10 per cent of our whole visual input is suppressed. This has huge potential.”

The next steps will now have to take place, at least in part, on the hardware front. Current headsets generally don’t have built-in eye trackers. Other challenges on the hardware front also persist: most eye-trackers available for purchase tend to be highly expensive, bulky and prone to glitches. 

The next generation of headsets, it is hoped, will go some way in resolving these issues. For the user, in the meanwhile, a little more patience will be required - but, if this breakthrough is anything to go by, it’ll be worth the wait.

Want to read more about how scientists are striving to create more immersive VR experiences? Check out our article on another paper showcased at this year's SIGGRAPH here.