关闭

关闭

与Inversion的问答:工作室将转向云技术

未来几年,云技术将对视觉效果(VFX)行业产生革命性的影响。工作室不再需要设置空间来容纳渲染农场,就能够利用到渲染农场的强大力量。不需要员工再拖家带口,就能汇聚起最优秀的人才了。

行业中的部分人士已经在接受这些变化,并开始从中获益。FoundryTrendInversion的联合创始人Arvind Sond就此进行了深入对话。Inversion是一家数字化作品的创作工作室。目前,该工作室已经开始将整个生产流程转移到云端上了。

Foundry Trends (FT): Inversion工作室是怎样以不同于其它工作室的方式来运作的?

Arvind Sond (AS): 我们已经在VFX行业中耕耘多年。我们很幸运,能在世界上最大的电影公司和后期制作公司工作。在过去的十年间,创作了不少著名的电影和商业广告。但我们始终看到在前期、制作以及后期制作过程中,工作仍然有不同运作方式的潜力。

无论公司规模如何,现在技术发展已经到了每个人都可以拥有相同工具的地步。云技术将是其中的重要组成部分,我们相信这将彻底改变熟知的生产流程。现在我们采用的是将令人兴奋的云技术与可靠的离线功能相结合的混合型模式。我们最终目标是将所有内容都移到线上,真正成为第一个采用云计算的工作室。

 

inversion vfx

FT: 云技术能让您做什么?

AS: 我们当然不是使用云技术的唯一工作室。 云渲染在一段时间之前就已经出现了,那时你就可以发送文件到云端去渲染。但是云技术的变革将不止于此。 不止是过往那样简单地用来帮助减轻负担,现在云技术将作为生产的中心。云技术所赋予我们的灵活性,将使我们在竞争中脱颖而出。 我们只用在(工作室)内保留小部分人员,不用庞大的办公室,也不用渲染农场,并且管理费用也大幅度的降低了。 我们希望能在独特领域挺立潮头,而不是被淹没于潮流之中。

我们很灵活,但最重要的是:我们是协作型的工作室。我们现在能接触到世界各地的艺术家,而再不受于限附近人才。 我可以是一名现场视觉特效人员,但是我的同事们则可以在其它地方,正在进行编剧、剪辑等各方面的工作。得益于云的应用,他们随时都能立即检查我正在进行的项目。

FT: 相比我们一直以来的方式,采取这种方法时,还有什么其它好处呢?

AS: 对我而言,正是我在之前提到的:协作。 不管你住在哪里,都能与业界最优秀的人才合作。 之前,我不得不当了多年的“游牧民族”,根据项目的需要将我的生活连根拔起,四处漂泊。但我认为这将成为过去了。

在过去,许多才华横溢的艺术家不得不搬走他们的全部生活。他们的孩子也得不停的更换学校,所有的朋友也不得不都抛在后面。但有了云技术,再也没有这么做的理由了。现在很多卓越的人才不再需要作出那样巨大的牺牲,就能和我们一起工作了。从此,不再影响到他们的个人生活。 因为无论我们身在何处,云技术都能让我们获得所需的一切。

FT: 你们是立刻投身这个(模式)中,还是一个较缓慢的过程?

AS: 我们首先采用了混合型的方式,也就是不把所有的鸡蛋放在一个篮子里。 我们将SIGGRAPH(年度计算机图形会议)作为全部工作通过云端来完成的契机进行测试,并且获得了巨大的成功。当时我们只有几个星期时间来证明这个工作流程行之有效,最终我们也确实做到了。 现在我们正在制作第一部专题电影,届时将完全通过这个流程来完成。通过云技术来完成前期制作、制作和后期制作,云技术将涵盖到电影制作流程的各个方面。

我们目前,也正在以同样的方式去完成一些广告类工作。 就像我之前所说的那样,我们想要维持一个微小而敏捷的团队,因此重要的一点是,我们要把事情相对放慢一点,找到最佳的平衡点。

办公室 VFX

FT: 您是否认为所有的生产流程将会最终移植到云端上?

AS: 对于小型或中型企业,这将成为工作的完成方式。 我想大多数大型机构(比如ILM、Weta和MPC)最终会采用混合模式,也就是可以在保持现有方式的基础上,运行云端应用程序。

让我们感到兴奋的是,云技术在低成本电影制作中为视觉特效带来的新机遇。 借助云技术所提供高效率,就算没有惊人预算,也可以实现各种疯狂的想法。尤其是如果您从一开始就与我们合作,那更是如此了。 我相信在以后,那些令人惊叹的VFX序列,不止会出现在好莱坞大片之中了。

FT: 最后,我们不禁要问:工作室名称‘Inversion’的创意是怎么来的?

AS: 每个人都在谈论“thinking outside the box”跳出思维的定势,这也是我们坚持的东西, 但我们还想要更进一步,当你可以彻底(inverse)反转思维定势的时候,为什么还只是跳出思维定势呢?

想要了解Foundry针对后期制作即将推出的云服务— Athera的更多信息吗?  那请不要错过我们12月份的网络研讨会! 在这里注册您的意向, 我们不久就会向您发送相关的具体细节。

Home

Open
Close

.

Q&A with Inversion: the studio going cloud native

Cloud technology will revolutionize visual effects (VFX) in the coming years. Studios will be able to harness the power of huge render farms without needing the space to house them, or pull in the best talent around without uprooting their families.

But some are already embracing these changes and reaping the benefits. Foundry Trends spoke to Arvind Sond, co-founder of Inversion, a digital content creation studio that has begun shifting its entire production pipeline to the cloud.

Foundry Trends (FT): How is Inversion Studio running things differently to other studios?

Arvind Sond (AS): We have been in the VFX industry for many years. We’ve been lucky enough to work at the biggest studios and post houses in the world, bringing some of the most famous movies and commercials of the past decade or so to life. But we’ve always seen the potential for things to be run differently across pre, prod and post production.

Technology has advanced to the point where everyone can have the same tools today, regardless of company size. Cloud is an important part of that, and is something we believe will completely change the production pipeline as we know it. We’re working with a hybrid model right now—coupling some really exciting cloud initiatives with a solid offline function—but the goal is to see if we can move everything online and effectively become the first studio in the cloud.

 

inversion vfx

FT: What is cloud technology enabling you to do?

AS: We’re by no means the only studio using the cloud. Cloud rendering caught on a while ago, meaning you could send files to be rendered on the cloud—but it’s becoming so much more than that. Rather than simply using it to help ease the load, it’s going to be central to giving us the flexibility that will set us apart from the competition. We want to keep a small core of people in-house, with no huge office, no render farm and overheads as low as possible. We hope we’re on the cusp of something really special and will ride the wave rather than getting drowned.

We’re flexible but, most of all, we’re collaborative—we’re able to reach out to artists all over the world without being limited to the pool of talent close by. I could be the on-set VFX guy but my colleagues could be somewhere else entirely working on other aspects of the project from writing to editing, whilst checking in immediately on the project I’m working on thanks to cloud apps. 

FT: What other benefits are you finding when taking this approach versus doing things the same way we always have?

AS: For me it’s that point around collaboration that I raised earlier—working with the best talent the industry has to offer, regardless of where they happen to live. I had to be a ‘nomad’ for too many years, uprooting my life to work here or there depending on the project, but I think that will become a thing of the past.

So many brilliant artists have to move their entire lives, their kids have to move school, they have to leave all their friends behind—but with the technology available today there’s no reason that has to happen. There are great people we can work with now, without asking them to make such huge changes affecting their personal lives—because the cloud gives us all access to everything we need, wherever we are.

FT: Are you throwing yourselves into this or is it a slower process?

AS: Taking a hybrid approach, to begin with, means we’re not putting all our eggs in one basket. We used SIGGRAPH (the annual computer graphics conference) as a test run for putting everything through the cloud—and it was a huge success. We had a few weeks to prove this workflow can work, and we did. Now we’re working on the first feature film to ever be done solely through this pipeline. That’s pre-production, production and post-production all through the cloud, covering all aspects of the filmmaking approach.

We’re also pitching for some commercial work at the moment that we’d do in that same way. Like I said, we want to maintain a small, agile team, so it’s important we take things relatively slowly and find a balance.

Office VFX

FT: Do you think all production pipelines will migrate to the cloud eventually?

AS: For smaller or mid-size companies it will become the way things are done. I imagine the majority of the bigger players—the likes of ILM, Weta and MPC—will end up with a hybrid model, meaning they can run cloud apps alongside what they’re already doing. 

Something we’re excited about is the opportunities it opens up for great VFX in lower budget films. Cloud offers such efficiencies that we can get your ideas realised without a crazy budget, especially if you work with us right from the start. Hopefully it will mean stunning VFX sequences are no longer reserved only for Hollywood blockbusters.

FT: Lastly, we have to ask: Where does the name ‘Inversion’ come from?

AS: Everyone talks about ‘thinking outside the box’, and that’s very much something we adhere to. But we wanted to take it a step further—we say why think outside the box, when you can inverse it? 

Want to find out more about Foundry’s upcoming cloud-based service for post production, Elara?  Don’t miss our upcoming webinar in December! Register your interest here, and we’ll send you details of how to tune in nearer the time.

Contact Us