关闭

关闭

图像由工业光魔公司提供

2019年度重大趋势探索

现在又到了每一年Foundry透过智慧的水晶球,来预测未来12个月有望影响VFX(以及其它技术领域)的一些关键趋势的时候了。

1. VR找到真正的出路

在过去的一年中,我们探索了各公司去努力运用VR的各种不同思路,涵盖了从创建沉浸式品牌体验企业级应用程序等不同的形式。

截止目前, VR的进步与否仍然依据销售给个人,用以在家中进行次世代游戏和娱乐的VR 头戴显示的数量来加以衡量。

然而,我们所看到的一切都表明VR最重要的影响其实在于消费领域之外(至少在短期内将会如此)。

在2018年,VR培训方面的应用取得了显著的提升,这方面,连沃尔玛和空客在内的各大公司都全力以赴。与此同时,该技术在医疗保健领域的应用也在稳步增长。

而对于身处VFX行业的我们来说,一个特别感兴趣的领域是基于位置的娱乐,例如The Void创造的体验作品。他们是一家VR娱乐公司,一直在与Lucasfilm的沉浸式娱乐部门ILMxLAB合作。该公司在去年创造了以星球大战为主题的体验。

在2019年,基于位置的娱乐性VR将有望与越来越多的电影发行挂钩,从而让电影公司借助着让粉丝与影片所创造的世界相互动,来进一步拓展电影的营销活动。

目前,The Void正在以沃尔特迪斯尼动画工作室、漫威工作室的素材创作五个新体验作品,其中的第一部是为迪士尼动画电影《无敌破坏王2:大闹互联网》( Ralph Breaks the Internet.)主题进行创作,如今已经完成并发布了。

图像 1

2.深度学习将变得更加普遍

深度学习的工作原理是通过分析庞大的数据集,让计算机能够学习总结出解决问题的有用模式。

虽然VR频频占据新闻头条,但其实深度学习可能会对我们的日常生活产生更重大且更直接的影响。在目前,深度学习已帮助我们完成了一些最常见的任务,例如提供更准确的网络搜索结果,或让Siri了解你在问她什么等等。

据消息人士估计,到2024年,深度学习市场将超过180亿美元,复合年增长率为42%。因此,我们预计在2019年深度学习的应用范围会急剧扩展。
一些需要特别关注的领域包括自动驾驶汽车、医疗保健和疾病诊断、石油和天然气钻探设备维护、针对病毒和恶意软件的改进防护,以及VFX行业内的应用程序进一步发展等...

3.数字人角色将变得更加逼真

无论你是否对工业光魔在《侠盗一号》中颇具争议的数字人物留下了深刻印象,或者被已故的威尔赫夫•塔金角色所折服,不可否认的是近年来,照片级的面部动画已经取得了突飞猛进的发展。

在2019年,深度学习(以及通用的人工智能技术)将使我们更加接近,并避免陷入“恐怖谷”之中。

数字王国(Digital Domain)拥有了一个致力于创建逼真虚拟人的全职部门 -Digital Human Group(数字人小组)。他们不再是先创建一堆面部表情,将其放入装配之中,之后设置装配动画,以查看可以做出怎样的效果。现在他们是从单个摄像机中捕捉演员的脸部动画,并训练计算机系统自动加以识别和理解,然后再以极高的分辨率重新创建出一张脸庞。在这其中并不会进行任何可能丢失演员表演真实性的分解或压缩。而且这一切可以即时完成,不用再耗费几个月的时间。

与此类似,像Synthesia Technologies这样的公司正在提供“专业面部替换”服务:无缝地改变演讲者或演员的表情和对话。他们采用了机器学习来对视频内容进行翻译,从而将演员的嘴唇动作与新对话音频轨道相同步。这由此便避免了配音和唇形不相匹配的问题。最终结果输出对于观看者来说,几乎已经是毫无破绽了。

展望2019年,我们期待着数字人角色能更加鲜活,并能达到与真实角色无法区分的程度。

图像 2

4. 实拍影片置景将变得越来越复杂

之前我们探索了如何使用新兴的虚拟和实时生成技术来创建虚拟置景。不过目前这些技术仍然仅供少数先锋创作者运用 - 绝大多数电影仍使用传统的实际置景。

但这并不代表着此类片场技术一直没有发展。在来自工业光魔的Rob Bredow的监督下,《索罗:星球大战》中的许多桥段都使用了现代化的“百年传统”背投技术来完成拍摄,该技术在运用中充分利用了多台高分辨率的4K激光投影仪的强大功能。

与此相似的是连运用微缩模型做置景的古老技术,也被赋予了现代风格。例如《马戏之王 》(The Greatest Showman)中就运用了布鲁克林的等比例模型。这个迷你的布鲁克林地区的模型建在一个大型照明桌之上,进一步提升了建筑物之间的城市灯光效果,在影片中被用于创作复杂的飞越桥段。

在2017年《攻壳机动队》(Ghost in the Shell)的制作中,展现电影里反乌托邦式城市景观和外部环境的8英尺模型,其实都是利用3D打印完成的。这样的流程也使得VFX团队能够在进行CGI渲染之前,提前规划电影的片场设置,并在即将完成的数字化片场中走动。

我们预计在2019年将有更多更复杂的技术被用于电影的制作。

5. 从现在开始,所有电影都将成为“丛林之书”。

在2016年,我们有Jon Favreau 所创作的视觉壮观的《丛林之书》(The Jungle Book)。

在2018年,Andy Serkis的《森林之子毛克利》(Mowgli)重新演绎了同样的故事。

而在2019年,每一部发行电影,都将会基于印度丛林中而演绎,并配上一条会说话的蛇。

Close

Close

Image courtesy of Industrial Light & Magic

The big trends that will define 2019

It’s that time of year where Foundry gazes into our crystal ball and tries to predict some key trends that could shape VFX (and other areas of tech) over the next 12 months.

1. VR finds its home (out of home)

Throughout last year, we explored the various different ways companies are testing out VR for everything from creating immersive brand experiences to enterprise applications.

The progress of VR to date has generally been measured by the number of VR headsets sold to individuals for next-generation gaming and entertainment at home.

However everything we have seen indicates that VRs most significant impact will be outside the consumer sector (at least in the short term). 

Adoption of VR training saw significant uplift in 2018, with everyone from Walmart to Airbus going all in. Similarly, the technology’s use in healthcare has steadily increased. 

For those of us in VFX, one area of particular interest that’s on an upward trajectory is location-based entertainment, such as the experiences created by The Void. They’re the VR entertainment company that partnered with ILMxLAB, Lucasfilm’s immersive entertainment division, to create a Star Wars-themed experience last year.  

For 2019, location-based entertainment VR is likely to be increasingly tied to film releases, giving studios a way to extend their event movies by allowing fans to engage with the universes they create. 

The Void are developing a slate of five new experiences based on material from Walt Disney Animation Studios and Marvel Studios - the first of which has already been released for the Disney animated movie Ralph Breaks the Internet.

Image 1

2. Deep learning becomes more pervasive

Deep learning works by analysing huge datasets to allow computers to learn useful patterns for problem-solving.

While VR tends to get the headlines, it’s deep learning that is likely to have the bigger and more immediate impact on our day-to-day lives. It already helps us behind the scenes with some of our most common tasks - for things like serving up more accurate web search results, or enabling Siri to understand what you’re asking her. 

One source estimates the deep learning market will exceed $18 billion by 2024, growing at a CAGR of 42%. In 2019 therefore, we expect to see a sharp rise in the breadth of application of deep learning.

Some of the areas to watch out for include further advances in self-driving cars, healthcare treatment and illness diagnosis, oil and gas drilling equipment maintenance, and improved protection against viruses and malware -  as well as applications within the VFX industry. Speaking of which...

3. Digital humans become even more lifelike

Whether you were impressed or creeped out by ILM’s controversial digital humans in Rogue One featuring the late Peter Cushing’s Grand Moff Tarkin, there’s no denying that photoreal facial animation has come on leaps and bounds in recent years.

In 2019, deep learning (and AI techniques in general) are set to take us even further towards bridging the uncanny valley. 

Digital Domain has a whole department dedicated to creating realistic virtual humans - the Digital Human Group. Instead of creating a bunch of facial expressions, putting them into a rig, then animating the rig and seeing what it can do, now they can capture the way the faces moves from an actor from a single camera and train a computer system to automatically recognise, understand and recreate a face in very high resolution, without doing any of the decomposition or compression which can lose the realism of the actor’s performance. And it can be done instantly, rather than in months.

Similarly, companies like Synthesia Technologies are offering ‘professional face replacement’ services: allowing for the seamlessly changing of a presenter or actor's expressions and dialogue. They employ a new method of translating video content that utilises Machine Learning to synchronise the lip movements of an actor to a new dialogue track. This enables translation without the problems of dubbing and mismatching lip sync. The resulting output is ideally completely seamless to the viewer.

Going forward in 2019, we expect digital humans to become ever more life-like -  to the point where they're indistinguishable from the real thing.

Image 2

4. Practical film sets become increasingly sophisticated  

Previously we’ve explored how burgeoning virtual and real-time production techniques are being used to create virtual sets. At the moment these techniques are only used by a few pioneering creators - the vast majority of films still use traditional, physical sets.

That’s not to say these sets have not evolved. Under the supervision of ILM’s Rob Bredow, many of the sequences in Solo: A Star Wars Story were filmed using a modern version of the century-old rear projection technique, which harnessed the power of multiple high res 4K laser projectors.

Similarly, the age-old technique of using miniatures to create sets has been given a modern twist, with a period scale model of Brooklyn made for The Greatest Showman. The mini Brooklyn was used for a complex fly-over and built on a large illuminated table, to accentuate the city lights rising up between the buildings. 

For 2017’s Ghost in the Shell, eight-foot-models of the film’s dystopian cityscape and exterior environment were 3D printed, enabling the VFX team to plan out the film’s setting before rendering it in CGI and physically walk around the soon-to-be digital setting.

We expect more and more sophisticated techniques like these to be used in the production of films in 2019. 

5. All films to be The Jungle Book from now on

In 2016, we had Jon Favreau’s visually spectacular The Jungle Book.

In 2018, the exact same story was re-told in Andy Serkis’ Mowgli.

In 2019, every single film released will be based in the Indian jungle and feature a talking snake.