VR的可访问性问题探索

去年12月,鉴于虚拟现实(VR)行业一直努力证明炒作之下依然具有实质性。因此,我们着重关注了其在2018年将会面临的巨大挑战

在系列文章的第一部分中,我们深入研究了阻碍其发展的各个方面。那现在我们来谈谈可访问性。即最终用户(普通大众)在接触虚拟现实方面的容易性。

普通消费者所面临的最大障碍大概就是成本了 - 在花费数百美元来购买一款实在的头戴显示之前,还得考虑额外所需的昂贵硬件。当然,谷歌的Cardboard也为每个人都提供了低至25美元的尝试机会,不过要称之为“身临其境”的体验还是略有牵强。’.

处于梯队中更高一级的是由三星的Gear VR等众多更强大设备,当然其提供的体验仍然逊色于当今的市场领导者。市场中最突出的是HTC Vive(599美元)和Oculus Rift(399美元),然而,目前VR硬件的真正市场领导者则是PlayStation。

在2017年第三季度,索尼在全球范围内共出售了近50万台与主机兼容的VR头戴显示。相比之下,Oculus仅售出21万台,而HTC只是售出 16万台。

PlayStation的最大优势可能在于其头戴显示所依赖的硬件方面,“普通”大众可能已经为满足娱乐需求而完成了前期的资金投入。但Rift和Vive都仍然还需要功能强大的PC作为伴侣。此外,您还得考虑到NVIDIA的观点,目前只有不到1%的PC能够轻松运行最复杂的VR软件。这样一来,也就能很容易理解为什么这些设备尚未进入大众的客厅了。不过除了成本之外,它们仍然是唯一能提供真正沉浸感的设备。其主要吸引力是支持房间尺度追踪踪‘room-scale tracking’  - 这意味着您可以戴着头戴显示在物理空间的一小片区域(Vive的距离不到5米x 5米)中走动,而不必再使用单独的控制器来完成移动。

不过,正如我们之前所探讨过的一样,在带入感方面仍然存在一些缺失。当然,在某一瞬间确实会有真正存在于其间的感觉。

虚拟现实套件

随着立体3D影像的重生,媒介所固有的一大堆问题也重新显现 – 这并不是对人类视觉系统的很优秀模拟。遗憾的是,目前VR中的所有内容都依赖于立体3D头戴显示,并且一直以来的各种限制仍然存在。不过,从积极的方面,例如对Magic Leap的混合现实眼镜的了解来看,其中一些方面在不久的将来即可得到改进。这首先从解决眼睛焦点开始。而且,我们在Starbreeze的朋友们,依然在继续更新他们令人难以置信的Star VR头戴显示。虽然该设备目前还没有商业化,但其所具备的210度大视野,大大消除了运用其它多款设备观看时的隧道感。

今年,HTC也将推出Vive Pro – 设备将对重量、舒适方面进行迭代,并提供10米x 10米追踪功能,以及迄今为止在消费类头戴显示上的最高分辨率屏幕(将其原有版本的分辨率提高了78%)。当然了,最具革命性的还是对全无线功能的承诺。

对于Vive、Rift等头戴显示而言,在解决其线缆扭曲打结或因长度不足把你重新拉回现实方面,目前能做的也只有这一点。无线解决方案将提供前所未有的自由度。

那换句话说,有多少(普通人!)人可以免费使用10米x 10米的空间,或者1000美元的备用金来购买套件呢?从纯粹的成本和便利角度来看,阅读这篇文章的人中又有多少能证明这种投资相比于已拥有的电视和游戏设备而言更加合理呢?

头戴显示 - 以及对应的额外硬件 - 仍然是奢侈品。而且即便撇开成本,由于其内容的缺乏,仍然不太像是一种奢侈的体验。

虚拟现实的装配

如果我们大多数人距离高端主流、价格合理的硬件依然还有几年时间,那么现在可以给出的答案应该是:户外体验。最近,伦敦Westfield购物中心就举办了一场名为The VOID的星球大战体验,即《帝国的秘密》“Secrets of the Empire”。 VOID在美国和中国都有流行的永久性体验地点,而且已不止是为远东技术爱好者提供的户外体验了。

为了提升VR在家庭中普及的机会,Oculus开源了其最新的开发套件“DK2”。 Oculus希望“维护并分享我们在早期学到的VR知识,让所有人在他们自己的项目中采用这个设计”。

除了Oculus和Vive之外,还有着许多令人兴奋的硬件开发。例如,Avegant的Glyph头戴显示取代了现在的屏幕护目镜模型,在其中有数百万个镜面,可将LED图像直接投射到视网膜上。

虽然我们今天所看到的投资和技术进步远远超过了九十年代的内部产品和1993年世嘉foray的虚张声势。然而我们今天所面对的将虚拟现实体验带入主流的战斗远未结束。

让我们在下次一起来了解正在创建的VR内容,以及那些在努力推动行业发展的公司们吧。

Close

Close

Exploring VR’s accessibility problem

In December we looked at the huge challenge facing virtual reality (VR) in 2018, as the industry attempts to prove there’s substance to the hype.

Now, in the first of our series delving deeper into what’s holding us back, we want to talk about accessibility. That is, how easy it is for the end user (you know, normal people) to pick up VR.

Possibly the biggest barrier faced by the average consumer is cost - you’re looking at several hundred dollars for a solid headset, before you factor in the need for expensive additional hardware to actually run the thing. Of course, Google Cardboard offers anyone a taste for around $25, but it’s a stretch to call it ‘immersive’.

The next rung of the ladder is occupied by more robust devices like Samsung’s Gear VR, but the experience on offer is still somewhat behind today’s market leaders. The obvious ones are the HTC Vive ($599) and the Oculus Rift ($399),  but the true market leader in VR hardware today is PlayStation. 

In Q3 2017, Sony shipped close to half a million units of its console-compatible VR headset worldwide - by comparison, Oculus sold 210,000 and HTC 160,000.

PlayStation’s biggest advantage may be its dependence on hardware that ‘normal’ people may have already invested in for their entertainment needs. Both the Rift and the Vive, on the other hand, need a powerful PC companion - and that’s before you take into consideration NVIDIA’s belief that less than 1% of PCs available today can comfortably run the most sophisticated VR software. You can see why they’re not yet in many living rooms. Cost aside, they are still the only devices publicly available that offer anything close to true immersion right now. Their main draw is support for ‘room-scale tracking’ - meaning you can physically walk around a small space (just under 5m x 5m for the Vive) while wearing the headset, rather than using a separate controller for movement.

But, as we’ve explored before, there are still a few things missing when it comes to a feeling of agency; of believing for a split second that you’re truly there, in the moment. 

Virtual Reality Kit

With the rebirth of stereo 3D, we rediscovered a whole bunch of problems innate to the medium - it’s not a very good approximation of the human vision system. Unfortunately, right now, everything in VR is predicated on stereo 3D headsets, and all the limitations historically associated are still there. On a positive note, with what we know so far about Magic Leap’s mixed-reality glasses, some aspects of this look like improving in the relatively near future - beginning with addressing eye focus. And our friends at Starbreeze continue to update their incredible Star VR headset - while it’s not yet commercially available, its massive 210-degree field of view removes the feeling of looking down a tunnel that you get with many other devices.

This year, HTC is also likely to release the Vive Pro - a lighter, more comfortable iteration that offers significant 10m x 10m tracking capabilities and the highest-resolution screen seen on a consumer headset to date (a 78% resolution increase on its current version). Perhaps most revolutionary, however, is the promise of full wireless functionality. 

There’s only so much you can do with Vive’s current headset, or the Rift for that matter, before you get yourself tangled in knots or feel the limit of the wire’s length yank you back to reality. But a wireless solution will provide a level of freedom never experienced before. 

That said, how many (normal!) people do you know with free access to a 10m x 10m space, or $1,000 spare to buy the kit? From a purely cost and convenience point of view, how many people reading this article could justify that sort of investment versus, say, sticking with the TV and gaming devices they already own?

Headsets - and the additional hardware needed to feed them - remain a luxury item. And despite the cost, with the content often lacking somewhat, it’s one that still doesn’t quite feel like a luxury experience.

Set for Virtual Reality

If most of us are still a few years off top notch, affordable hardware, the answer for now might be out-of-home experiences. Most recently, London’s Westfield shopping centre has played host to The VOID’s Star Wars experience, ‘Secrets of the Empire’. The VOID has popular, permanent locations in the US and, more recently, China - not the only out-of-home experience on offer for Far Eastern technophiles.

In a bid to boost VR’s opportunities in homes, Oculus has open-sourced its latest development kit, ‘DK2’. Oculus hopes to “preserve and share what we learned about VR in the early days, and to let anyone use the design in their own projects”.

And there are plenty of other hardware developments to get excited about, beyond Oculus and Vive. Avegant’s Glyph headset, for example, replaces the now-traditional screen-in-goggles model with millions of microscopic mirrors that project LED images directly into your retina. 

Far beyond the in-arcade offerings of the Nineties and Sega’s fateful VR foray of ’93, the investment and technological advancement we’re seeing today suggests the battle to bring such experiences to the mainstream is far from lost. 

Next time, we’ll look at the VR content being created and the companies trying to propel the industry forward.