设计

产品设计从此将大不一样.

图像由 Andrew Serkin提供

一百年前,如果您想设计一些东西,那您会用笔在纸上画出来。

时至今日,变化依然不大。

虽然格式可能有所进步 - 从铅笔变为了数字化草图、制图和绘画软件,但设计师通常仍然首先从二维平面开始其创作过程。然而,这其中有着一个很大的问题。

断 链

断链是所有产品设计问题的根源,它会影响成本、效率和准确性。以最简单的术语来说,将设计师强制在一个维度上工作,不会很真实。 2D工作流程将永远无法完全传达出设计师头脑中的内容。由此,这也意味着即使是世界上最优秀的设计师也要通过艰苦的努力,才能准确地将他们的想法传达给管理、营销和制造部门。而且这实际上并不是向别人展示,更多的是让别人去想象。这样就会导致大家对最初想法的诠释产生了开放性。

产品和包装设计的设计可视化软件

图像由Tim Cooper提供

模棱两可是效率的天敌

当制造商开始制造产品原型时,虽然他们已经努力对设计进行最好的诠释。然而,如果设计师的意图还没有准确的被理解,那就需要回到画板上重新解释了。

这样一来,除了要面对许多令人沮丧的设计师以外,还留下了一个紧迫问题的清单:

  • 继续进行物理原型的迭代需要花费大量的资金。
  • 需要花费大量的时间来等待每个迭代完成,并送回审查。

以鞋业为例。一款鞋子的标准开发周期为18个月。而一家领先的鞋类制造商每年需要制作260万个样品(差不多是立陶宛整个国家每人一双鞋了)。很显然,这既不是一种具有成本效益,也不是具有时间效率的产品设计方式。

图像由Rob Rodriguez 与 Tim Cooper 提供

产品设计中的3d 可视化
借助3d建模软件在产品设计中创造高效率

设计新纪元

如果设计师能够准确地向制造商展示其设计点子在现实生活中应该是什么样子,那将会如何呢?如果他们可以展示出纹理,光线如何反射,以及从任意角度观看的效果,那又将如何呢?相信如果是这样的话,意图的传达都将是基于细节,而不再只是针对草图的对话了。

这正是3D内容创作软件的作用:拓展了设计师的世界。运用3D工具,能更轻松地探索造型和材质。得到了反馈意见认为该产品应该更偏向有机造形?更薄?更流畅?深色?柔软?这些没问题。只需进行更改并重新渲染即可。运用3D工具可以让设计人员轻松进行迭代,而且在任何时候,都是在进行非破坏性更改。从此,再也无需去创建数千个物理样品,或者浪费数月进行来回往返的迭代过程了。

而且,为什么不在产品目录中向您的供应商展示出更加广泛的设计选择,之后就简单地制造他们选中的设计呢?借助照片级真实的3D设计,产品看起来,就如同现实生活中一样。或者在生产之前,就先展现出产品在零售货架上或消费者家中的效果如何?而随着VR和AR技术的进步,其潜力可谓是无限的。

明天将会是个不同的故事了。

想要了解Brooks 跑鞋公司如何运用3D建模软件来推动设计的界限吗? 来看看我们的文章吧。 .

Home

Open

Close

Design

Designing products will never be the same again

Image courtesy of Andrew Serkin

A hundred years ago, if you wanted to design something, you’d take pen to paper and draw it.

Today, little has changed.

While the format may have progressed a little - from pencil to digital sketching, drawing and painting software - designers generally still start their creative process in two dimensions. There’s one big problem with this.

The disconnect

The disconnect is the root of all product design problems. It affects cost, efficiency, and accuracy. In the simplest terms, it’s the fact that designers are forced to work one dimension short of reality. A 2D workflow will never be able to fully convey what was in the designer’s head originally. That means that even the best designers in the world face an uphill struggle trying to communicate their ideas accurately to management, marketing, and manufacturing. It become less a question of showing them, and more a question of asking them to imagine. And that leaves the original idea open to interpretation.

Design visualisation software for product and package design

Image courtesy of Tim Cooper

Ambiguity is the enemy of efficiency

When the manufacturer goes off to create a product prototype, they’re really just making their best interpretation of the design. If a designer’s vision isn’t understood exactly, first time round, it’s back to the drawing board to re-explain.

Aside from a lot of frustrated designers, this begins to leave you with a catalogue of pressing problems:

Take the footwear industry, for example. The standard development time for a shoe is 18 months. One leading manufacturer of footwear produces 2.6 million samples each year (that’s one pair of shoes for every person in Lithuania). Clearly, this is neither a cost efficient nor time efficient way of designing products.

Images courtesy of Rob Rodriguez & Tim Cooper

3D visualisation for product design
Creating efficiency in product design with 3d modeling software

The new design era

What if designers could show manufacturers exactly what their idea should look like in real life? What if they could show texture, how the light bounces off it, how it looks from any angle? Communicating their intention would become a conversation based on details not sketches.

This is exactly what 3D content creation software does: it expands the designer’s universe. Working in 3D makes it easier to explore shapes and materials. Got feedback that the product should be more organic? Skinnier? Smoother? Darker? Fluffier? No problem. Simply make your change and re-render. Working in 3D allows the designer to iterate, to make changes at any point, nondestructively. No need for thousands of physical samples to be created, or months wasted as the iteration process goes back and forth.

Why not show your vendors a wide selection of designs in your product catalogue, and simply manufacture the ones they select? With photo-realistic 3D designs, they’ll look just like they would in real life. How about showing what your product looks like on the retail shelf, or in the consumer’s home, before it’s even been manufactured? Advances in VR and AR mean the potential is virtually limitless. Today in the design industry, little has changed.
 

Tomorrow is a different story.

Want to find out how Brooks Running Company are using 3D modeling software to push the boundaries of design? Check out our article here.

Contact Us