虚拟现实

MedidaMonks 借助Cara VR 扭曲了现实

全部图片 ©阿提哈德航空 / The Barbarian Group / MediaMonks

该如何让观众不必踏入机舱,就身临其境的感受到双层空客A380的全球飞行体验?

这可是一项高科技难题,为此,MediaMonks将创意思维带来与The Barbarian Group、阿提哈德航空一同合作,转而运用虚拟现实来解决问题。虽然关于虚拟现实潜力的各种声音在科技界中不绝于耳,但仍然只有在您亲身体验过后,才能想象出其真正的可能性。眼见为实,正因为如此,阿提哈德航空为您带来了《Reimagine》:一段非常独特的虚拟旅程。

《Reimagine》是大胆的新生代品牌活动之一,也是首次使用虚拟现实技术在更深入、更个性化的层面上来吸引客户。这部短片将跟随女演员Nicole Kidman和她的制作团队,一同体验从纽约到阿布扎比的航班旅程。在这期间,她排练了线路,与其他乘客互动,还探索了庞大空客中的多个不同领域。这是一部镜头优雅的作品,不过这个项目的更加特别之处在于它让您真正体验到了进入机舱之中的身临其境感觉。

无论您是运用三星的GearVR眼镜或是在浏览器中观看Youtbue的360度视频,在《Reimagne》影片中,您随时都可以360度的自由转动观看视角。在目前,鲜有其它媒介可以提供如此深度,几乎催眠的沉浸感,这对创意者和消费者都十分诱人。虽然影片看起来如同魔法一般,不过这种增强视觉体验的制作过程本身就已经极具魔力了。

VR指导Ola Björling表示,对创新以及能给观众带来难忘冲击力的新制作方式的持续追求是MediaMonks进入VR世界的重要推动力。这家创立于2001年的创意数码制作公司在六个国家都设有了办事处,并为IBM、阿迪达斯、Old Spice和Johnnie Walker等多元化的客户提供有服务。而将业务扩展到VR领域,不仅为公司带来了兴奋的机遇,而且将会进一步超越了传统,拓展其在电影、游戏和移动媒体内容方面的业务。

Ola 说到:“一切都是新事物,工具也是新的”。Ola也是 Cara VR内测期的最早一批参与者。 “在这个项目中,我们比过往更加依赖先进技术。好在Cara VR绝对满足需求,能适用于物理摄像机、CG渲染软件,而且还新发布了具备立体转换功能的版本, 实现了我们的整体方法,更不用说还能输出6K输出分辨率了。能够在这个领域中实现新颖的想法,并让质量达到全新的水平,这绝对是非常令人兴奋的。”

Cara VR给我们带来的是极大提升了的工作流程速度,真是完美的搭档。如今,其它的VR工具已经再无上场的机会了。

MediaMonks VFX总监和艺术组长:Arvid Björn

借助NUKE和CARA VR 飞上云端

《Reimagine》的拍摄对制作团队来说也是一项巨大的工程,其中有四名Nuke合成师、多名CG艺术家,还有多位关键团队成员一起工作。在经过了一个月的前期准备工作后,剧组成员首先对停机坪上的A380内部进行了两天的密集拍摄,之后另一天在有声影棚中拍摄了剩余的最终序列。接下来就转入了三个月的后期制作,将各片段组合起来,最终创作出了VR电影的幻想世界。

精心的策划和控制,对项目成功至关重要。正如MediaMonks视觉特效总监和艺术组长Arvid Björn所讲,在面对这种大型的6K分辨率和海量数据的项目时,需要为此准备一套正确、快速且可靠的工具,因为这对于加速项目制作有着巨大的影响。

NUKE是MediaMonks的标准合成解决方案。团队在阿提哈德航空项目的启动早期阶段,就确定运用Nuke和Cara VR了。工作室在实际拍摄不久前,获得了Cara VR的首个封闭测试版本,从那时起,他们就开始试验该如何将插件融入制作了。

“从项目伊始,我们就知道由于所采用方法的独特缘故,项目不可能采取常规的缝合软件。为此,Cara VR为我们做的第一件事便是极大的加快了敲定的工作流程,”Arvid解释说。“这是完美的配对,其它的VR工具连上场机会都没有了。我们完全依靠Nuke所提供的灵活性,并且将整个解决方案保持在了Nuke之中,这真是太强大了。”

将Cara VR添加到制作流程中,为团队提供了更新、更快速的镜头畸变和解算的处理方式。而流水化的工作流程也使得团队能更有效地处理和分配艺术家之间的清理任务。Arvid说到,CARA VR能让您直接在球形素材上使用Nuke的Rectilinear工具,这一点对于项目而言非常重要。“这非常符合我们视觉特效的工作方式,现在并没有因为是一幅球形图像,就试图去寻求解决问题的全新方法”Arvid说。 “这样的方式,不仅保持了非常合理的学习曲线,并且已经让我们能够完成很多事情了。”

空客A380 虚拟现实游览的360度拍摄
MdiaMonks畅谈如何运用Cara VR完成虚拟现实的后期制作

与VR一同构建未来

随着VR产业的崛起,MediaMonks也正在构建其工具集,以便在未来更好的处理VR制作。 Nuke和Cara VR也将在工作室不久的项目生产线中发挥重要作用。Ola介绍,该团队还将不断寻求通过定制镜头和3D打印来整体性的改进其硬件装配。与此同时,软件开发也同样重要。"

“Cara VR为此类探索奠定了非常出色的基础。”Arvid说到。“相比于我们为阿提哈德项目进行的自定义设置而言,需要Cara VR提供缝合工作流程的项目将会很常见了。为此,我认为这对于我们处理这类型的项目来说是一件大事.....相对于常规的缝合应用程序,这已经给我们带来了非常大的优势。”

如果这个故事引起了您的兴趣, 您可以到YouTube上的观看制作花絮视频

Home

Open

Close

Virtual reality

MediaMonks bends reality with Cara VR

All images © Etihad Aiways / The Barbarian Group / MediaMonks

How do you deliver the authentic experience of flying across the globe on a double-deck A380 Airbus without having someone step foot on the actual plane itself?

It's a high-tech puzzle the creative minds at MediaMonks, working in conjunction with The Barbarian Group and Etihad Airways, turned to VR to solve. Growing buzz around virtual reality's potential is tangible across the tech world, but it's often tough to envision what's truly possible with VR until you experience it for yourself. Seeing is believing, which is why Etihad's Reimagine offers such a unique virtual journey through the clouds.

Reimagine is among a bold new generation of brand campaigns, and it's one of the first of its kind to use virtual reality to engage customers on a deeper, more personal level. The short film follows actress Nicole Kidman and her production team on a flight from New York City to Abu Dhabi as she rehearses lines, interacts with other passengers and explores the many different areas of the sprawling Airbus. It's an elegantly shot piece, but what makes this project extra special is the way it makes you truly feel like you're right there inside the plane.

At any point in Reimagine, you're free to pan the view around in a full 360 degrees—whether you're watching it while strapped into a Samsung GearVR headset or browsing on YouTube 360 (try it for yourself). Few other mediums afford such a deep, almost hypnotic level of immersion, which is alluring to creatives and consumers alike. It looks and feels like magic, though the process of crafting that kind of enhanced viewing experience offers its own kind of magic, too.

The ongoing quest for innovation and finding new ways to have a memorable impact on viewers are big drivers behind MediaMonks' pivot into the world of VR, according to Ola Björling, global director of VR. Founded in 2001, the creative digital production company has offices in a half-dozen countries and serves an equally diverse client list that ranges from IBM and Adidas to Old Spice and Johnnie Walker. Branching out into VR presents exciting opportunities for the company to expand beyond its more traditional work in film, games and mobile media content.

"Everything is new about this, and so are the tools," says Ola, who was an early adopter of Cara VR during its initial closed beta period. "We've depended more than usual on bleeding-edge technology for this project. Cara VR definitely fits that bill, but it also goes for the physical camera rig, the CG rendering software, the newly released stereo-converted version, and our overall approach, not to mention the 6K output resolution. It's definitely exciting to be able to create novel ideas in this field to bring the quality up to a new level."

The first thing Cara VR did for us was greatly speed up the workflow … it was a perfect match where other VR tools never really stood a chance. We definitely counted on the flexibility that Nuke offers in general, and it's very powerful to be able to keep the entire solution within Nuke.

Arvid Björn, VFX Supervisor and Lead Artist, MediaMonks

In the clouds with NUKE and CARA VR

The Reimagine shoot was a massive undertaking for the production crew, which included four Nuke compositors and several CG artists working alongside many other key team members. After a month of pre-production prep work, the crew spent two intensive days shooting inside the grounded A380 and another day filming the final sequence on a soundstage. This was followed by three months of post-production to bring it all together and achieve the masterful illusion found in the finished VR film.

Meticulous planning and control were vital to the project's success. The nature of working with such heavy-duty 6K resolutions and large volumes of data also meant that having the right set of fast, reliable tools specifically for this purpose made a huge impact on speeding things up, as Arvid Björn, VFX supervisor and lead artist at MediaMonks told us.

NUKE is MediaMonks' standard go-to compositing solution, and the team committed to using Nuke and Cara VR early on in the Etihad Airlines project. The studio got access to the first closed beta version of Cara VR very close to the actual shoot, and they immediately began experimenting with it to see how it could fit into the production.

"We already knew this project was never intended for typical stitching applications because of our approach, so the first thing Cara VR did for us was greatly speed up the workflow that we had already decided on," explains Arvid. "It was a perfect match, where other VR tools never really stood a chance. We definitely counted on the flexibility that Nuke offers in general, and it's very powerful to be able to keep the entire solution within Nuke."

Adding Cara VR to the production pipeline gave the team newer, faster ways of working with lens distortion and unwrapping, and the streamlined workflow let them tackle and distribute clean-up tasks between artists in an effective manner. The fact that CARA VR lets you use Nuke's rectilinear tools directly on spherical footage was also essential on this project, he says. "It fits well into our VFX way of working as opposed to trying to find completely new ways of solving these problems simply because it's a spherical image," says Arvid. "It kept the learning curve reasonable and allowed us to get a lot of things done."

360 filming for virtual reality tour of A380 Airbus
Mediamonks talk about how they used Cara VR for their virtual reality post-production

Building the future with VR

As the industry ramps up alongside the rise of VR, MediaMonks is building up its toolset to be able to handle VR production well into the future. Nuke and Cara VR are going to play an important role in the studio’s production pipeline for upcoming projects. According to Ola, the team is also constantly looking to improve its hardware rigs through custom lenses and 3D printing, so the software-side is equally important to develop in tandem with this.

"Cara VR provides a very good base for that exploration," Arvid says. "It's more common for projects to require a stitch workflow which Cara VR offers as opposed to the very customized setup we invented for Etihad, so I think that'll be a big thing for us for those kinds of projects … we feel like it gives us a very big edge over typical stitching applications."

If this story interested you, you can watch the making of video on YouTube.

Contact Us